We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely night's stay in an ideal location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #158 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely night's stay in an ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My partner and I took my parents for a night in London. We booked two rooms well in advance and got a very reasonable price. The hotel is ideally located in the centre of London. A short walk from theatres, restaurants and nightlife, it really is very convenient.
The hotel itself is very aesthetically pleasing. The lobby is beautiful and we enjoyed several drinks in the well-designed bar.
The staff were attentive and polite from the doorman to the receptionist to the waiters and bar staff. The rooms were attractive and simple.
Breakfast was most enjoyable and there is certainly plenty of it!
For an ideal city break hotel you can't do much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to learn you an enjoyable stay with us. I must agree Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley’s location is unbeatable. Great to know the food, location, room, service overall Thistle Holborn met your expectation. Thank you for recommending us.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    724
    146
    46
    20
See reviews for
357
999
91
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I admit it: I was a bit prejudiced about this hotel as it was a Thistle, and having stayed in a few (albeit a few years back) I had steeled myself for a good location but a slightly down at heel room.

I could NOT have been more wrong. The location was indeed great - brilliant for shopping and nightlife, although in my case the trip was centred around work - but the hotel was also lovely. A very handsome (Victorian?) building has been sensitively modernised to give it a contemporary twist. My spotlessly-clean room on the 6th floor looked out over the rooftops towards the British Library's glass dome and the BT Tower, and was very quiet. True, it wasn't big, but it was fine for one, and would have been nice and cosy for two. Plenty of hanging space and shelving meant I could unpack properly (something that makes constant travelling a little easier) and iron my crushed clothes. It's the little things...A good air-con system kept me cool on one of the stickiest days this year, and the wifi was free, with no log-in required.

I didn't eat or drink in the hotel, but the bar looked nice and was quietly busy whenever I passed through. Staff were very friendly indeed. It wasn't the cheapest of hotels, but the location is so central that you can't quibble.

Loads of bars and restaurants nearby, with a biggish Waitrose within a 10-minute walk in the Brunswick Centre. Given I travel so much, eating carb-loaded restaurant food often doesn't appeal, so grabbing a supermarket salad is manna from heaven!

Room Tip: For quiet, go as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TartanHornplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for a ‘classy’ review. Thank you for staying at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley; named after Victorian novelist Charles Kingsley, Built 1898, Opened as a hotel in 1900 This Edwardian building was graciously refurbished with £10m investment in 2009.
I am glad your recent stay at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley could turn your pre-notion of Thistles towards a well deserved ‘positive’ direction.
May I recommend joining much generous Loyalty programme ‘Signature’ of Thistle, Guoman, Amba, Every, Cumberland and Clermont Hotels.
Although the hotel is quite popular our prices are quite competitive compare to similar level hotels in the area. Rates do vary based on lots of factors. You get the best rates on our website, or feel free to contact us directly and shall ensure you receive the best rates.
I look forward to welcome you soon.
Sincerely
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Recently booked and stayed at the Thistle Holborn for a couple of nights and although this is rated as a four star hotel everything about it screams five star. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive, probably one of the quickest and smoothest transfer between arrival through reception to being in our room. The room was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable double bed, large on suite facilities and ample storage for all our possessions. Although going out in the evening we did visit the bar for a few drinks, this was quite busy and after a few minutes it was obvious why, once again the staff were very friendly and were available for every need, drinks ordered at the bar would be delivered to your table and I don't think I saw an empty glass on a table for more than a minute before it was collected and taken away. The breakfast was in itself a sight to behold with a variety of serials, fruit juices, fresh fruit, hams, cheeses, a selection of fresh breads and a continuous supply and re-supply of the traditional English breakfast. The hotel is also central for a number of attractions and most are within walking distance, The British Museum, The National Gallery, Covent Garden, Oxford Street, Buckingham Palace and Hyde Park to name a few.
A lovely hotel with fantastic staff and a central location giving five star service at four star prices.
Will certainly book again for future visits.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the busy street would be the best view apart from this any room would suit as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your lovely review following your recent visit.

I am thrilled that you had a fantastic stay at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsely.
Your comments regarding the staff are most appreciated. One of our company’s value is to create best guest-centred hospitality experience in the industry, and I am glad your experience just backed up the team’s hard work and genuine interest to ensure our guest have a delightful experience at The Kingsley. When these efforts are recognised it makes all our hard work worthwhile. So thank you once again. Your kind feedback shall be shared with the team and I am sure they all would appreciate it too.
Indeed the breakfast spread has been revised across Thistles' and its one of the bests. I am glad you enjoyed the refreshing extensive breakfast selection.

Thank you for your kind recommendation. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Warn regards
S Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Be it for a holiday or business you are nicely looked after and eveything is clean in this hotel. And though close enough to all London attractions, be it shopping, museums, restaurants or evening programs, you can sleep almost without any street noises.

Room Tip: Rooms towards south west 6th floor are quiet but with a little bit of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback, I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and that the team looked after you.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Warm regards
S Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is practically on Oxford St and within a few minutes walk of shops, theatres and central London for tourist sites. The hotel is clean, comfortable and one we would certainly use again without hesitation. The staff were very welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. I would use this hotel and recommend it to others without reservation (no pun intended). Of course, you pay a little more for the central London location but the convenience is worth it.

Room Tip: Simply specify your requirement when booking the room and you will nearly always find your requireme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vincent1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for such a positive feedback of your recent stay at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley.
I am truly happy to hear that the team's service and the hotel’s location were to your liking. Your kind appreciation shall be shared with the team who in turn will be very pleased to know their dedication towards genuine hospitality is recognised.
Thank you for recommending us and I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon.
I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely

Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed for one night on business. The check in process was swift and efficient. My room was large and spacious, with great air conditioning and a reasonable bathroom (large walk in shower but no bath). The bed was very comfortable and the room had all the bits you'd expect (iron and ironing board, flat screen TV, TCMF, etc)

I didn't eat in the restaurant at night so can't comment however breakfast was very good with everything you'd expect and very attentive staff.

Next time I'm in London and need a hotel in Holborn I'll look to stay again

Hope this helps

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Have recently stayed in thistle 2nd time this time was for my birthday with my friends room we stayed in was superb to my opinion greatest hotel in central London for me, amazing helpful staff great looking hotel amazing tasting food and awesome location everything is close by cant go wrong. will definitely be back again and again
Thank you

Room Tip: All exceptionally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zenfira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#240 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#404 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing