We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #209 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Lovely room and very friendly staff, the service was brilliant - including kindly helping me get some balloons delivered and put in our room for my husbands birthday. Very convenient location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

great location ,buses cabs and tube not far from the hotel ,great breakfast ,rooms spotless very large for London,even bumped in to David Essex as he lives across the road,ten out of ten,very close to Covent Garden and all its attractions

Room Tip: king size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chance1433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here recently on 18th March.
Great service throughout , very friendly staff and an ideal location just a few minutes walk to covent garden.
Rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay, very clean too.
Couldn't fault our stay.
Thanks , we will definitely stay again on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Battershalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful one night stay at the Thistle Holborn. From the moment we walked in the staff were exceptionally friendly, service was great and very efficient. We were even given a complimentary upgrade to a wonderful room. Breakfast was really excellent. Plenty of choice, in a lovely breakfast room/restaurant.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us to get to the ballet at the Colosseum.

I wish we could have stayed another night! Thanks very much for a lovely stay. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road, its a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nisha619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Staff kindly
The location is very good.5 mm walk to Holborn station, 15mm to cover garden. You can easely go everywhere in the city.
The room was cleaned, the free wifi was very appreciated, simple to use
Breakfast ok

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacou92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for staying at Thistle Holborn and reviewing us. I see you’ve mentioned the staff, location cleanliness and the wireless all was to your liking however the ratings given are average.
Do feel free to contact me if there was any area of improvement so that we can work on it to meet your expectations on your next visit.
I look forward to welcome you soon.
Sincerely,
Sudhanshu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very comfortable one night stay. Staff lovely and room service very good, especially the beef sandwiches. Instant free wifi access. Good choice at breakfast. Lovely mix of old and new buildings. Had to arrange a late check out at no extra charge, staff very willing to arrange this for me

Room Tip: Luxury single rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeissweetbrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I booked to stay at the Kingsley back in November to celebrate my husband's birthday. When we arrived we had been upgraded to a suite and there were chocolates in our room. The room was very good, clean and comfortable. We really like this hotel mainly due to the location. It is short walking distance to Shaftesbury Avenue, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Covent Garden, Tottenham Court Road, Oxford Street and China Town. On our final night on this visit we decided to have a meal at the hotel. The food was very good with the particular highlight being the cauliflower volute with smoke haddock.
A good hotel that we will stay at again when we next visit London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMrsHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,077 in London
1,679 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#62 of 1,077 in London
3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#161 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $153 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Splitty, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing