We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, food and room. Made up for by fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #204 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK hotel, food and room. Made up for by fantastic staff!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The hotel is a lovely and very central building; perfect for easy commute to areas of interest and to/from Heathrow.

The hotel itself is very nice however my room (621) had noisy air con and when turned off still made a racket causing for a sleepless night. On the second night, I gave up and asked for a change of room. Every credit to the staff that I was in another room in 5 minutes with no fuss at all! The customer service was great.

The restaurant serves lovely food and staff are very polite and attentive. A little surprised to find a £10 service charge on the wine though!

Bar staff, reception and concierge are wonderful; very polite and helpful. A real credit to the hotel.

Sadly though, given the problems with the room which others have mentioned and the steep service charges, I am a little disappointed that these problems have not been looked at. Would i go back? yeah, i would do - knowing that staff really do have your best interests at hear - and i would recommend the hotel to a friend. Though i would try my luck in asking for specific rooms to avoid the noisy air con

Room Tip: Avoid 621. Not sure if noisy air con is common for all the 6th floor or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for a balanced review of your recent stay at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. I am sorry to learn the inconveniences you had during your stay. I am pleased to share we’ve already installed new Air Conditioning units in to almost half of the hotel and the remaining should be soon. Please accept my sincere apologies for the same.
£10.30 was the discretionary service charge added at 12.5% standard rate on top of the consumption. This is a standard practice by most of the hotels and restaurants in London.
I am delighted to read the team took care of you. Your compliments about the team is highly appreciated and I am sure they‘ll all be happy to know the hard work is noticed and appreciated. Thank you for recommending Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley.
I look forward to welcome you back in near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    782
    160
    52
    22
See reviews for
386
1,060
94
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a two night theatre break at the kingsley. We too had problems with air conditioning making our room cold. We received an upgrade to a junior suite which was more than satisfactory. Very helpful friendly staff who went the extra mile to ensure we were ok. The only dislike was the amount of service charge on our bar bill. They did seem excessive and a bit off putting. Next time we may choose to drink in the pub round the corner

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthYorkshireElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for a balanced review of your recent stay at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you had due to the air conditioning unit. I am pleased to share we’ve already installed new Air Conditioning units in to almost half of the hotel and the remaining should be soon. The service charge of 12.5% is a discretionary standard charge on top of the consumption. This is a standard practice by most of the hotels and restaurants in London; you are most welcome to advice the serve to take it off the bill.
I am glad overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. I look forward to welcome you back in near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tukwila, WA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I passed through London on a layover and stayed in the hotel only one night. They gave me an upgrade from the tiny bed that my company had reserved, so that was very nice of the staff. This is an interesting, older hotel that has recently been remodeled. It seemed to be well located (although a taxi ride from the airport is very expensive by US standards - not the fault of the hotel). It seems like location is everything in London, so if this is a convenient location for you, then I would recommend it. The bar and restaurant looked very nice and modern, but I went around the corner to a pub.

Room Tip: The rooms are small by US standards, so I would be sure to go for as large a room as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todbookless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and taking out your time to review us. Indeed the hotel has a rich literal history of over a centaury, Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley is named after the Victorian novelist Charles Kingsley (1819-1875), built 1898, Opened as a hotel in 1900. Its undergone a £10m refurbishment in 2009.
I am glad the team took care of you and you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have Executive rooms measuring approx 30sqm and luxurious Junior Suite of approx 40sqm area.
The location of the hotel is one of its many USPs as located in central of London next to British Museum; walking distance from Holborn and Tottenham tube stations, Covent Garden, Oxford Circus all within waking distance makes our hotel a popular choice for both leisure and corporate guests.
I hope you to visit next time for a longer period and also try our fresh, good honest food including in-house bakery delicious products.
Feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance.
Sincerely
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed with my family (husband, 3 children aged 12, 10 and 4) this weekend at the Kingsley for the first time. We had an excellent stay, not least because we were all welcomed and treated as valued guests, not just the adults! On checking in, the children were all offered a chocolate bar and activity pack, very welcome to fill the gap between sightseeing and going out again for dinner and the theatre.
The room (Junior Suite) was a great size for all of us and our rate also included breakfast, which offered so much choice there was plenty for everyone to find what suited them. We were also made really welcome at breakfast, again with the children being spoken to as well, not just the adults.
The location is fantastic for easy walks to the British Museum, Covent Garden, many theatres, Chinatown and so many restaurants and attractions. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, not only families.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieASmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. Glad to learn you had a great family holiday. Genuine pleasure to read that the unbeatable location of Thistle Holborn, scrumptious fresh breakfast spread and a spacious Junior suite topped with the wonderful service focus by the hard working team made the stay more pleasurable, welcomed, valued and overall an excellent stay.
I look forward to welcome you and family soon for yet another fabulous holiday.
Warm regards
S Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have stayed at the Kingsley twice in the past few weeks and on both occasions we found the hotel to be really welcoming, spotlessly clean, with decent sized rooms. The location is excellent as it is a simple 10 minute walk to the theatre district and Oxford Street. On each occasion we stayed in 2 rooms being party of 3 adults on the first trip and 2 adults and 2 teenagers on the second one. All four rooms were clean and tidy and reasonably spacious for central London hotels. The breakfast is excellent, really well laid out and with faultlessly welcoming and attentive staff. We are so pleased that, at last, we have found a decent value central London hotel with such good staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in Executive Rooms to get the additional space and facilites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster south yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here for two nights to see a show . From checking in the staff and service are excellent all the staff are pleasant and friendly always smiling and ready to help . We had a room on the fifth floor very quiet but a little small . The bed was very comfy with a choice of pillows .The bathroom was also very good plenty of hot water . Breakfast was excellent so was the restaurant we dined there both nights the salmon with noodles perfect . The added bonus to this hotel is the easy walk to places the theatre , Coventry garden , and for shopping it's at the end of Oxford Street . We visit London often and will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It was the location that made us choose this hotel, and it was even better than we had imagined, since a number of busses stopped just in front of the main door. The room was fine until we noticed the new air conditioner/heater was running amok. The hotel staff was really professional in trying to handle the problem, and gave us a reasonable (and clever) compensation for our nuisance. We would certainly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#67 of 1,069 in London
1,568 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,252 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#438 of 1,069 in London
1,046 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#362 of 1,069 in London
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#155 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing