We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #168 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting London. The hotel was reasonably priced, as we advance purchased, and all staff were extremely friendly!

The hotel is in a great location, close to Covent Garden, Soho, Oxford Street etc. It was recently refurbished and was nice and clean throughout. Our room was smallish but aren't most in London. The breakfast was very good. Basically a great hotel and we'd definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Really appreciate your generous feedback about the best features of our lovely hotel. I am sorry the room size was not to your expectation, we do have various categories from Deluxe to Executive and Jr. Suites which are up to 40sq m.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and a wish to return. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    743
    153
    47
    20
See reviews for
369
1,020
92
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I have been to stay October,1week.I trip to London is first time,with my mother.This hotel stuff,every person we met,were nice and kindly ! I usually don't write review like this site,But I promised they 'How wonderful the hotel,we stay.'And also,In Japan,the hotel ranking too low level than I felt, So I want tell evereverybody,who reference this site.
This thistle bloomsberry is one of my favorite hotel,I have been to overseas.this was nice location,near the British Museum,and interior is good sense ,soft,and warm stuff everywhere.If you have want to stay such like,,I recommended the hotel!
I want to stay again sometime,really I want.
Thank you every stuff we met,Someday in future I want live in uk,and when the time come,Absolutely stay this hotel once more.
Have a nice happy new year !

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank yukkokko515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking out your time to write such a lovely review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and recommending it. So lovely to read it’s your favourite hotel. We look forward to welcome you soon.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Excellent! Service was superb. Food was great. Lovely hotel. Staff were very attentive. Cleanliness of hotel was above average. Location of hotel is fantastic. Planning to stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MoLuwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing to say at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and for your review. I am pleased to read you found us to be a ‘Lovely hotel’ with attentive staff, fantastic location and above average cleanliness. Feedback like yours keeps us working hard to ensure we give the best product and service to our esteemed guests.
Glad to know you’d like to visit us again, we shall be eagerly waiting to welcome you soon.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here on December 18th for a Christmas outing and was impressed by the politeness and enthusiasm of the staff. At the front desk I was efficiently booked in and given a map and walking directions when I requested how to reach a nearby restaurant.
My room was on the 5th floor, it was very cosy, with an immaculately clean bathroom and nice green tea and ginger products. This is obviously an old building and I found the original leaded corridor doors and wrought iron staircase, gave an exclusive and more boutique hotel ambiance.
The bed was comfortable, there was a good size wardrobe and dressing area, the room was well lit and there was super fast FREE wifi included. I opted to pay for breakfast the night before and was given a discount voucher. Breakfast was excellent with a good quality cooked offering as well as continental, excellent coffee and again friendly and professional servers.
This is a great location for the my old Dutch restaurant and Hatton and Covent Garden are within easy walking distance.
At the end of my stay I was asked if I needed a taxi and this was hailed for me by the concierge, so I did not need to wait in the cold.
Above average service at a good price and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Mine was 523, no special view but cosy and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelaholic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Merry Christmas!
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.
Lovely to read that the location, product, price and staff of Thistle Holborn, the Kingsley met your expectations.
I look forward to welcome you soon.
Season’s Greetings
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Had a lovely stay at this hotel for a theatre and shopping trip this weekend. The staff were extremely efficient, pleasant and professional and nothing was a problem for them. The room was spotless, big, comfortable and modern with lots of facilities.
The location was perfect being very near to all the theatres and right at the top of oxford street! I would say that it was worth the money although I would have liked to see the breakfast be included with the price that we payed but i just put this down to london hotels being generally more expensive.
Overall, we had a lovely stay and would recommend anyone to stay here for that extra touch of luxury without a huge price tag.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicaltj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Merry Christmas.
Thank you for your lovely review. It’s a genuine pleasure to learn the team’s professional and efficient service and made someone’s holiday special. That is what we strive for and thank you for endorsing it. Indeed the location of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley is near perfect for shoppers, theatregoers, museum interested and even corporate guests. I am glad you found the rooms clean and spacious, and the price right.
I look forward to welcome you very soon.
Season’s Greetings
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We got upgraded to a junior suite due to a mix up with our original reservation. The hotel were very apologetic and we were fully compensated. Staff were friendly, helpful & polite. Room was lovely, clean and modern with a fantastic location! Around 5 minute walk to Holborn St.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Merry Christmas.
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had a lovely stay with us, at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. Please accept my sincere apologies for the mix up with your reservation. I am pleased the team made it up to you.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Season’s Greetings
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We loved the location (on central underground line), the value for money of the breakfast (only 10 gbp if reserved in advance), and the hotel overall.

The room was beautiful, maybe on the small side, but had everything we needed. Only minor downside was the hardness of the bed.
The staff's enthusiasm is marvelous.

Overall a great stay in a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback and for your positive comments regarding Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley's great location and the excellent service. The team is thrilled to know that they could enhance the experience of your stay. I am sorry to learn the mattress was not quite to your liking, thank you for bringing it to our notice. Relevant department has been advised to look in to it.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#252 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#421 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#132 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing