We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #166 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a night here for work. What I really loved about this place was I didn't hear any noise from neighbouring guests. Fantastic! Is it specifically sound proofed?!
I had a great room tucked away in a corner, very modern, cool bathroom and brill shower. All very comfy and clean.
I didn't have a full breakfast as we had an early start after a late night and I couldn't face it but it all looked fine. My only negative comment would be the 'toast' looked as though it hadn't even smelt a toaster, so underdone I thought it was a joke!
I would go back, though, given the chance, as for central London this is ideal and relatively quiet outside. That in itself is a big bonus! Thank you Thistle!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    743
    153
    47
    20
See reviews for
369
1,020
92
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

we had a bad experience the first time round... We was told we could stay again for free next time but was asked if we could remove our trip advisor review!

so we staying at the upgraded room... all i can say is it isn't much of an upgrade... its the same as the cheaper room we stayed in last time

its the same furniture and decor, the only difference is there is a couple extra chairs and a TV
its not worth paying more for a tiny bit more space and a extra TV
the decor and furniture looks cheap and dated

the Ipod dock is really bad quality

once again there was no toothpaste, last time i had my own toothpaste
this time around i forgot to pack it

I call room service to ask for toothpaste, I am told by the man on the phone.... To give him a few minutes
he may not be able to get any... than he knocks on the door with a tiny toothpaste tube and says to me that it was the last one

he was talking to me like i should be so grateful!

its a damn hotel are they not meant to have this in our rooms?!

this was the same guy as last time who was miserable and just handed us the bucket of ice

we was told we can have free breakfast... the food was really nice until i ate some eggs and it was crunchy not once but 3 times i ate egg with a crunchy taste

its a shame cause i see all these other people giving this hotel such good praise but the times we stayed it was bad
we wont be staying here ever again

and we wont be removing our reveiws on this hotel

to ask us to remove post is cheeky of them

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icebox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Staff was exremely helpful and friendly, room was avaialble early to ccomodate us after an overnight flight, the room was clean and adequate. The location was not the best, but OK. Breakfast was adequate but a bit pricey. All-in-all, a very good value for the price we paid and we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYtraveler729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
454 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a weekend. Terrific location and so easily accessible to everywhere. The room needed a little love though...carpets were dirty, areas that looked old, etc. we didn't eat there--so can't discuss food. Concierge wasn't too helpful when we were looking for info.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for shopping and going to the theatre. Covent garden is a 5 minute leisurely stroll which is the ideal place to be in London in my opinion.

The hotel is classed as 4 star, I've stayed in lots of better 4 stars I have to stay. The hotel room (deluxe double) was comfortable but really just slightly better than a Premier Inn room due to the furnishing being a bit more personable.

The bathroom was nice but there was a cracked tile in the bathroom and the shower would intermittently lose pressure then scald you, this happened a lot but you quickly learnt to anticipate the change in water temperature!

The room had a decent sized flat screen tv, a safe, an ironing board and a hair dryer, the hair dryer was a bonus as it was a proper one i.e. not one stuck to the wall in the bathroom which blows cold air.

The hotel has 2 lifts which was good and we never had to wait long for one arriving.

The staff were also very friendly and loaned me a hotel umbrella when it was raining.

Would I stay here again, yes. It was average, no where near a bad hotel but if someone told me it was a 3 star I would be rating it higher.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Apache_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The location is very good,the room nice and warm ,very clean.The problem with this hotel is that they have very rigid policy .We ordered something in the room and we were told that we need to open an account before, in other words I was asked to pay before ordering.Eventually, we were served after half an hour and after i explained to them that they have my credit card and they can charged me easily.
A big minus, no refrigerator in room.The staff very professional but very cold.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mihaelapuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A friend and I went to London for 4 days of shopping and entertainment. We were really only looking for a hotel with large-enough, twin-bed rooms within walking distance to Covent Garden and the tube and found this hotel to offer that and so much more. From the overwhelmingly friendly and helpful staff, to the well-appointed rooms featuring all the right conveniences, and from the highly accessible location, to the nevertheless very quiet rooms, we enjoyed our stay and can recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. We had paid for our room in advance and had everything the way we wanted it upon arrival, even down to our request for reading pillows on the beds (great idea!).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyk-takes-a-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,131 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#252 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,119 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#424 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#131 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing