We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for theatre land!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #200 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is clean and tidy, however the room was fairly small. The bar didn't have a very good selection of drinks. Situated close to the theatres but not the best I have stayed in by far. We never took the breakfast option, but there were a number of cafés only a few yards away from the hotel with good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at The Holborn, Kingsley. I am glad you liked the location of the hotel. Sorry to learn you did not find the room’s size did not meet your expectation. We do have larger rooms available at minor supplement, may I recommend reserving the Executive rooms or Junior Suites which even have a separate seating area as well. I take on board your feedback on our bar selection, ands shall pass it to our Bar Manager. Do try our delicious and much loved cocktail selection on your next visit.
Thank you for your feedback. Do feel free to contact me next time you have a reason to visit London.
I look forward to welcome you in near future.
Warm regards
S Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,318)
There are newer reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We dropped off our bags and checked in at 11am although our rooms were not ready. We went out for the day and when we returned we were told that there were no rooms left in the hotel due to a centralised booking error. We had already paid for the hotel several months earlier. The staff allocated us to a new hotel in Euston, refunded rate differences and refunded travel costs. A shame to have to deal with this stress when trying to enjoy a well earned weekend in London.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the obvious inconvenience faced by you due to being relocated during your recent visit; it was indeed due to an unforeseeable system error, due to which unfortunately a few reservations were affected, which we deeply regret. I hope your stay at our recently refurbished sister hotel was up to your expectations and enjoyed your overall stay. I appreciate although the taxi was arranged by the hotel, you did lose out on the precious holiday time in the relocation, may I request you to contact me directly next time you have a reason to visit London and i shall ensure you are well looked after. You may e-mail me at Sudhanshu.Rathee@Thistle.co.uk
I look forward to welcome you soon.
Warm regards
S Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Arriving at this hotel at 5pm after a long flight they told us they had given away our pre-paid rooms . They said it was a mistake due to a system failure. At that point two more families came to the desk - the same had happened to them , but one of them had ALREADY checked in that morning and left bags at the hotel all day !! Hence the story about a system failure was not true, since for that family they could have just handed over the keys , even if the system was down .
Appalling way to run a hotel.
They did arrange for us to go to a sister hotel ( much nicer place) and paid the taxi , but by the time we got there we had lost 90 mins of a one night stay in London .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
7  Thank Ravfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the obvious inconvenience faced by you due to being relocated during your recent visit; it was indeed due to an unforeseeable system error. I hope your stay at our recently refurbished sister hotel was up to your expectations and enjoyed your overall stay. I appreciate although the taxi was arranged by the hotel, you did lose out on the precious holiday time in the relocation. I understand our Front of House Manager has left a voicemail for you to contact him. For any reason you have not picked up the voicemail, may I request you may e-mail me at Sudhanshu.Rathee@Thistle.co.uk with the best number and time to reach you.
I look forward to welcome you soon.
Warm regards
S Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights in October. We checked in at 9PM, the reception staff were very welcoming. We were told we had room 27, and were walked down a flight of stairs that looked like the staff quarters. Untidy and carpet needed vacuuming. We were then directed in a lift to floor 1 and followed the signs with 2 large suitcases, where we then had to walk back down some small stairs in the middle of the building, very tiring and very strange. The room was TINY with a low ceiling. We were not happy. Next morning we explained this to reception, and we were moved immediately to a proper double room on the third floor for the 3 remaining nights. Happy we were moved without complaint. Room was very clean. The breakfast was excellent value for money. And all of the staff on duty there (especially GANDIMA) were really friendly and accomodating. The hotel is ideally situated, with all facilities you need for a weekend break. We never ate dinner in the hotel restaurant as the photo of the food on the outside wall of the hotel (chips in a basket) did not look appealing! Change your meal advertising leaflet. Apart from that all the staff were really very friendly., and for this reason alone, i would return again. Thank you to all the staff there :-)

Room Tip: do not accept room 27, rooms on third floor are good.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationshio Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your well balanced review. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience faced by you by your first room location. However, I am happy the recovery was up to your expectation. I am glad the team took good care of you and you found the service friendly. I sure shall pass your kind words to the team who would be really happy to learn the same, especially Gandima. I take on board your comment of the food picture, thank you for the same.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
S Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Last month we stayed at this hotel for the first time and we weren't disappointed. The location of this hotel is excellent , very close to the British Museum , Covent Garden and Oxford Street . The staff was efficient and courteous . Breakfast was good with a very good selection of food. Looking forward for my next stay at The Kingsley in December !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basiljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a weekend break planned and chose the Kingsley at High Holborn as it seemed good value and close enough to the places we were wanting to visit. We got there early on Saturday well before check in time so they offered to look after our bags for us. We arrived back at 14:30 to a nice surprise we had been upgraded fro and Exec room to a Junior Suite. The room as you would expect was quite spacious with a separate living area with sofa and TV. The room was quite modern and contemporary feel to it as was very clean and well maintained. I found the staff to be very helpful and attentive to everyone's needs. We have an evening room service which was nice touch. The only downside was the bed. It was a double bed rather than a King bed.
The location of the Hotel is great, it is 10 min walk to Coventry Garden and 15min walk to Soho. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food, but there are loads of nice restaurant on your doorstep, Pret a Mange for breakfast etc. We have already booked to go back in jan 14 for a weekend break and will be recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor at the back of the hotel as the main road can be noisy
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was exactly what we needed, a decent hotel at a decent price a short distance from the theatres in the West End.

The lobby, bar and rooms are all well presented - and the staff are welcoming and helpful.

This hotel is clearly better than some far more expensive hotels in the same area, and we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianW859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,072 in London
1,612 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,072 in London
3,290 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#440 of 1,072 in London
1,058 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#373 of 1,072 in London
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#156 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $170 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing