We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service - would go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #204 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service - would go back”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights in October. We checked in at 9PM, the reception staff were very welcoming. We were told we had room 27, and were walked down a flight of stairs that looked like the staff quarters. Untidy and carpet needed vacuuming. We were then directed in a lift to floor 1 and followed the signs with 2 large suitcases, where we then had to walk back down some small stairs in the middle of the building, very tiring and very strange. The room was TINY with a low ceiling. We were not happy. Next morning we explained this to reception, and we were moved immediately to a proper double room on the third floor for the 3 remaining nights. Happy we were moved without complaint. Room was very clean. The breakfast was excellent value for money. And all of the staff on duty there (especially GANDIMA) were really friendly and accomodating. The hotel is ideally situated, with all facilities you need for a weekend break. We never ate dinner in the hotel restaurant as the photo of the food on the outside wall of the hotel (chips in a basket) did not look appealing! Change your meal advertising leaflet. Apart from that all the staff were really very friendly., and for this reason alone, i would return again. Thank you to all the staff there :-)

Room Tip: do not accept room 27, rooms on third floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationshio Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your well balanced review. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience faced by you by your first room location. However, I am happy the recovery was up to your expectation. I am glad the team took good care of you and you found the service friendly. I sure shall pass your kind words to the team who would be really happy to learn the same, especially Gandima. I take on board your comment of the food picture, thank you for the same.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
S Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    782
    160
    52
    22
See reviews for
386
1,060
94
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta europe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Last month we stayed at this hotel for the first time and we weren't disappointed. The location of this hotel is excellent , very close to the British Museum , Covent Garden and Oxford Street . The staff was efficient and courteous . Breakfast was good with a very good selection of food. Looking forward for my next stay at The Kingsley in December !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basiljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a weekend break planned and chose the Kingsley at High Holborn as it seemed good value and close enough to the places we were wanting to visit. We got there early on Saturday well before check in time so they offered to look after our bags for us. We arrived back at 14:30 to a nice surprise we had been upgraded fro and Exec room to a Junior Suite. The room as you would expect was quite spacious with a separate living area with sofa and TV. The room was quite modern and contemporary feel to it as was very clean and well maintained. I found the staff to be very helpful and attentive to everyone's needs. We have an evening room service which was nice touch. The only downside was the bed. It was a double bed rather than a King bed.
The location of the Hotel is great, it is 10 min walk to Coventry Garden and 15min walk to Soho. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food, but there are loads of nice restaurant on your doorstep, Pret a Mange for breakfast etc. We have already booked to go back in jan 14 for a weekend break and will be recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor at the back of the hotel as the main road can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was exactly what we needed, a decent hotel at a decent price a short distance from the theatres in the West End.

The lobby, bar and rooms are all well presented - and the staff are welcoming and helpful.

This hotel is clearly better than some far more expensive hotels in the same area, and we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianW859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel for a week holiday in London in September. The hotel is:
 Centrally located in Bloomsbury near the British museum and close to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Bus stop outside the hotel with many bus routes passing by. This is convenient for transportation around by bus or by tube where station is not far away.
 The hotel room is clean. Refurbished room with many amenities required for leisure or for business stay:
 Free BT Wi-Fi internet connection
 No slippers in room but this is available upon request with hotel housekeeping
 Free local newspaper
 There is a heated towel rail in the bathroom which is extremely useful to do the laundry for longer stay.
 From the floor plan of the hotel, it looks like rooms on the same floor are of different sizes. Our room was bigger than what we had expected. This was a pity that our room was facing the side wall of the St George’s Bloomsbury Church with little day night and no view at all.
 Breakfast at Kingsley Two was fine. Toast was served by order to your table. But the coffee is a bit strong which drove us to go for tea instead after two morning breakfast there.
 The staff was friendly and helpful. We had an efficient and early check-in with all the luggage brought to our room right away. After a long haul flight, this was definitely a value added.

Have no hesitation to recommend for both leisure and business travelers to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suki0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

So at the end of a two week business trip across Europe, I made London my last stop for a week for some much needed vacation time.

Really glad I decided on this hotel. Getting here was a bit of a challenge as I took the tube from Heathrow and it took over an hour. I originally just had a room with a single bed. When I got there my room wasn't ready, so I had a drink on them while I waited. Didn't wait more than maybe 10 minutes, and the lady working the desk came over and apologized and upgraded my room to one with a double bed at no charge. The room was a good size and I'm glad I got the upgraded bed.

The staff was very friendly and I quite enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which was included in my stay. There was lots of variety of both hot and cold foods.

The location of it in Holborn is perfect. It's close to Holborn tube station and the British Museum (amazing btw) is right behind it. It was a very easy walk to Chinatown, Covent Gardens, and Piccadilly Circus.

There is so much to see and do around the hotel, grocery stores, shops, and restaurants. The best thing is that there isn't a lot of traffic and people by the hotel, so it's somewhat quiet around it, but once you get a block or two away from it, it gets busier, which was great.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UltimateB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The location is great, walking distance to Soho, Picadilly, British Museum next door, Trafalgar square, National gallery and on and on. Very professionally run, good breakfast, clean, comfortable room, excellent subway connections. All that at a reasonable (for London!) price. Excellent, responsive service. This is from now my hotel whenever I go to London for tourism.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#65 of 1,069 in London
1,568 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,251 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#435 of 1,069 in London
1,045 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#363 of 1,069 in London
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#155 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing