We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel & location, some service issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #200 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was my first stay at a Thistle hotel, and wasn't sure what to expect... overall I'd say I was impressed with the hotel, but disappointed with some aspects of the service.

Positives: Great location; a short walk to Covent Garden, Soho, and Leicester Square... and close to a couple of tube stations. The building itself is grand from the outside, and beautifully renovated inside with an impressive central staircase. Although the check-in was rather chaotic, one of the managers came out to assist and was extremely polite and professional. Upon entering the room, we found it reasonably spacious and well designed, with nice furniture. The bathroom only had a shower, but was spotlessly clean and modern. We really enjoyed the breakfast both days; good selection, good food, good service.

Negatives: The chaotic lobby wasn't the best first impression, and the check-in seemed to take a very long time. Although our room was a reasonable size, we could see it was one of the smaller on the floor and had an uninspiring view... we phoned to ask if there were any other rooms available, and the person who answered couldn't understand what we were asking. We eventually received a call back from someone else at reception, who promised to look into it... but didn't hear back again, so we gave up. On the last day, we had some drinks/ snacks in the lounge, and were very disappointed by the service; the server seemed rather hostile at first, although she did warm up after a while. In fairness, I do have to say that all of these issues were not a "big deal" and didn't really affect our stay too negatively. However, I did have one more disappointment; after completing a post-stay questionnaire, I received a voicemail from the hotel... they apologized for the small issues we had experienced, which was very much appreciated. However, she promised to send me an email as a follow-up and to "restore my faith in the hotel"... but did I receive anything? No.

One more issue I have with this hotel - and the Thistle brand in general - is that there are no fridges in the rooms, and the amenities include shampoo but not conditioner... I was told this isn't part of their "brand positioning". Small things, I know, but annoying as I expect these items, and they are typically included with other comparable 4* hotel chains.

Verdict: Lovely hotel, well located, with comfortable and modern rooms... however, some services issues and for the same price I believe there are many other options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AR_Cox_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your well balanced feedback.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings on providing a great service. I understand our Operations Manager has been in touch with you and have come to a satisfactory resolution. For some reason her initial e-mail to you did not seem to have reach you.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Warm regards, S Rathee, Relationship Manager - Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,307 - 1,313 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel rooms are clean and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and efficient. Wifi is free and functional. The location is one of the best for central London. To me this the recipe for a great hotel stay and the Thistle Holborn performed flawlessly.
We did get a room upgrade and had a larger room with King Size bed. The room was facing the street, but we were not disturbed by traffic noise at all. Our friends had a standard room at the back of the hotel and they expressed they were happy with their room as well.
For London, this hotel is great value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssk_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the upgraded, quite room and the complimentary hi-speed wireless internet. Indeed the location of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley is unbeatable. Always a pleasure to learn the team looked after you well and you found the service friendly and efficient. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Warm regards, S Rathee, Relationship Manager - Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Have just returned home after a weekend break from 11th to 14th October in this great Hotel. Staff were very friendly and couldn't have done anymore to look after our needs. We arrived to find free Crunchie's everywhere as it was Friday. Breakfast was continental and cooked with plenty of choice and tasted great. I don't ever recall having such a good nights sleep in a hotel bed, sooo comfortable!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Good location with friendly and efficient staff, but the room was a big disappointment. The restaurant and food selection looked good, although we did not eat there and the staff in the bar were helpful and brought a small taster of wine to try when we could not decide which one to go for. The room was a letdown. I had carefully looked for a hotel with a spacious twin room as I was travelling with my mother, who is in her 70s and we wanted somewhere that we could share, but gave us a bit of space. I liked other reviews for this hotel and was assured a deluxe twin would offer this. It did not. The room was small and cramped, even with the twin beds pushed up next to each other. It had nowhere to store luggage; no shelving for clothing and one chair crammed into a corner, squashed up against one bed. The room was some distance from reception, up and down stairs and along a corridor with no lift access to the room. Because the window looked directly onto a brick wall about two feet away there was no natural light to the room. This made the room stuffy, so the air conditioner was appreciated, but it was not in the best condition and was quite noisy overnight which was disturbing. Not what was expected given the room rate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catriona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

For the second year in a row we had the pleasure to stay at this hotel. Not only is it well located; British Museum, Tube station, theatres ... The hotel personal is attentive and offering great service ... We had a great room, the breakfast was perfect !! Should we come to London again this will for sure be our choice !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSFMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location close to the underground and British Museum. We were worried about noise as there is construction across the street, but it was very quiet. Loved the heated towel bar! Reception staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We were at the side on the fourth floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times when travelling on business. I always have excellent service and a quick check in/ out. All rooms I have stayed in have been spacious, clean and with deluxe fittings. It's one of the best hotels I have stayed in and always exceeds my expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneM_T2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,077 in London
1,692 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian London, Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#59 of 1,077 in London
3,386 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#392 of 1,077 in London
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#152 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $153 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing