We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #170 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superior hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times when travelling on business. I always have excellent service and a quick check in/ out. All rooms I have stayed in have been spacious, clean and with deluxe fittings. It's one of the best hotels I have stayed in and always exceeds my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneM_T2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    746
    157
    47
    21
See reviews for
371
1,035
92
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My niece & myself stayed at the Kingsley Thistle on 27th/28th Sept. From the time we checked in to when we checked out, the service was faultless. The reception staff are very welcoming and knowledgeable. The hotel is spotless, the beds are comfy and breakfast is plentiful with lots of choice.
Very close to Covent Garden. A perfect place to stay for a weekend visit.

Room Tip: Rooms round the back of hotel seemed to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suesiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in London for a few nights while my brother was visiting. I was hoping that this hotel really would live up to the previous reviews and it did. The price for being so centrally located is really fantastic. The hotel is a small hotel which I prefer. Within walking distance to several underground stops. And also within walking distance to Piccadilly Circus and Oxford Street shops.

Staff is very welcoming and helpful. My room was in a back part of the hotel with a view of a quiet street. And it really was a quiet room. The only down side to this for some guests might be the stairs. You can get a room where you can take the elevator but some of the rooms do require quite a few stairs so if that is an issue for you, mention it when you make your reservation. The room itself was very clean, typically small for the city, very nice and updated bathroom. Watch out for that sink though! If you put the water on too strong you'll get your front all wet (happened to both me and my friend). It think it's just shallow and that is why it happened.

I did not book a room with the breakfast included but decided to add it when I arrived. For the 10GBP that they charged it was totally worth it. I noticed that the price difference when you book a room with the breakfast included it's more than 10 GBP so I would wait until you are there an then get the breakfast vouchers. Very good buffet and excellent wait staff. Giuseppe was our waiter and he was very happy to answer questions about London. Very friendly.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are in the back part of the hotel but may require stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I would definitely stay here again. We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. It is close to the tube station, Covent Garden. I meant to take a picture of the gorgeous stairway, but forgot to -- but the hotel itself is both modern and timeless. A great deal! The only suggestion I might have is to have a concierge that speaks better English! We could never understand what he was saying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived rather jet lagged from a long flight and the hotel staff were very warm and friendly. It is in a good location and our room was clean and roomy. The bed was comfortable and we both had a good night's sleep. The breakfast which was part of the deal was excellent and we also dined there one evening for dinner. Again good service and a willingness to make sure everything was to our liking. My husband's lamb shank was rather "tough" and he finally decided to notify our waitress who immediately spoke to the chef and he was given another choice from the menu (no charge). We were also offered a free dessert. Could not ask for more and the second meal was very good.
Highly recommended as a place to stay close to the major London train stations, the British Museum, Covent Garden and the Holborn Tube station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in a twin deluxe room for a weekend break. The hotel is not as grand or opulent as some in London, but has its own modern / old building twists with concierge and 24 hour front desk service.

Our room on the second floor (211) was modern, newly refurbished and nice and clean with room for two chairs a small table and good dressing table area with make up mirror and chair along with a lovely large walk in shower. Some may find that the view looking out on a fire escape wasn't what they wanted but tucked away at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet at night just what you need to sleep well after a busy day in London. There was a safe in the room also which was handy, indeed the only negative we found was no fridge in the room which would have been useful for storing water / wine etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful and eager to please. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Simply incredible - for ALL the right reasons. Location is awesome, very close to Covent Garden (4 min walk) and only 3 mins to metro. The staff are EXCELLENT - I have never, ever, come across more attentive staff (and I travel a lot). Their local knowledge is second to none and they are genuinely nice people. The rooms are good - nothing to write home about, but for London - that's a huge plus! Beds a comfy, bathroom is clean, AC works (big bonus for summer). We arrived at 8:00am and they checked us in early. I will never stay anywhere else in London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravellerUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#70 of 1,067 in London
1,489 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,067 in London
3,175 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#418 of 1,067 in London
1,020 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing