We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #199 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I arrived at the hotel after attending a training course nearby and was greeted by the friendly reception staff and was instantly upgraded to a double room (I had booked a single). Nothing seemed too much trouble. I unfortunately didn't get a chance to try the food in the hotel as I went to the theatre in the evening and then met a colleague for breakfast but the bar area and restaurant area looked modern and spotless.

The room itself was in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Modern, spacious and all the facilities you would expect. The shower was huge and everything was really clean.

I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again both for business and personal use. The location is great, with Covent Garden, Leicester Square etc within a short walking distance - fantastic for theatre goers!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenC775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Recently stayed one night at the Hotel and from Check In to Check out all was very efficient and staff throughout are very pleasant and helpful. They allowed us to Check In at early and also kept our bags after Check Out so we could spend more time in the area.
The Hotel had also added to my room a Birthday card with some chocolates as I had mentioned at booking stage that my stay was a belated birthday trip to London. Very nice personal touch.
The Executive bedroom (601) was very comfortable and quite spacious. Free wi fi in room was quick connection with good signal. Had everything you need for a good night stay. Very comfortable bed, black out curtains and quiet. The air conditioning was a welcome bonus on a very hot day too.
Both Dinner & Breakfast in the Kingsley 2 were very good meals. They offer a 3 Course Dinner menu for £20.00 per person which is really good value for London prices. Breakfast on Sunday is a Buffet and was really busy but the staff kept everything flowing well and there was only a few minutes wait for a table.
The Hotel is a good central location and close for British Museum & Covent Garden.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S0ulgirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the team looked after you. I hope that you had a great belated birthday trip to London! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for one night on the 28th July to celebrate our mums 80th birthday. Check in was seamless and our rooms (3) were spotless and spot on. The hotel had given my mum a double bedroom though a twin was requested, they were moved to another room without hesitation. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff who were all polite and helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it! We left our bags at the hotel after check out and had a great day at the Tower. A very fine hotel with great staff definitely recommend !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterUkHugh1gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the breakfast! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently and were very impressed with the hotel. We were in a twin room, which was more than adequate in size, with a built in wardrobe (with a light inside) and a large desk/dressing table and even a small comfortable chair to relax in. The shower was lovely - not too strong and easy to use (even without glasses). We did not eat in the restaurant or have breakfast, but we did have a sandwich in the bar which was lovely. They offer gluten-free bread as a standard, which is incredibly rare to find and also suggested I have a salad instead of the fries that came with the sandwich to be sure that there was no accidental cross-contamination from the frier. This type of attention to comfort and safety is wonderful to see. All the staff we encountered bent over backwards to ensure we were happy and comfortable. The bar area is relaxing and pleasant and the rooms are airconditioned. The location is fantastic - just round the corner from Museum Street and the British Museum and a 10 minute walk to Covent Garden. We had breakfast in an excellent cafe in Museum Street. The room overlooked the main road outside - there was no traffic noise (we were on the 4th floor) and blackout curtains helped ensure a good night's sleep. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lodesgymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the Thistle in Holborn. The whole experience is one that we would repeat again. The check in was easy, the staff very friendly. The room (423) initially seemed small but once you saw the bathroom & the alcove with the wardrobe the size seemed just fine. The bed was firm but very comfortable and the bathroom was very good - from my wife's perspective, a small container of body lotion and a better hook on the back of the bathroom door for hanging towels would have given it a nice finishing touch. The shower was so good you didn't want to get out. The safe was easy to use and handy, as was the iron/ironing board. The bar was staffed by very friendly people on both evenings and the breakfast was spot on. The chefs took great trouble in ensuring that the food was always topped up and the quality was good. The hotel was very handy for visiting Covent Garden & Leicester Square, both being within reasonable walking distance and the Holborn tube station was 5 minutes away. There was a bus stop right outside the door and if you needed a taxi, just let the concierge know and he will go outside and hail one for you. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LevingtonJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the team looked after you. Thank you for your note about the hook on the bathroom door, this is something we will look into! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed there for one night only, booked the double suite over the phone.

when we arrived, it was little ahead of time, and it was a hot day in London. we were immediately offered chilled water and sparkling water and did the whole check-in procedure.
we have asked if we could have a late checkout the following day as our flight was at 10pm, and actually didn't expect much. the reception manager offered us to check out at 5pm as the hotel was not busy complimentary. we were happy and surprised.

arrived to the room, and it was well maintained spotless and we had a cot for our baby. staying there was great. the hotel is central and at a good location, stuff is extremely friendly and helpful (they offered us to sanitize the feeding bottles for our baby).

the bed was very comfortable.

the only bad thing about this hotel - no disabled people access, and since we traveled with a baby we had to ask for assistance with the stroller every time me or my wife were alone with the baby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharfshtein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Thistle Holborn for a week during July 2013. We stayed on the 6th floor and the room was small but quiet, clean and newly renovated. The décor was very European and pleasing to the eye. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The hotel is well located near the Tube and buses and one can even walk all over London from this location. The hotel has free internet which we used and appreciated. People at the desk were friendly and courteous but we did not feel that they went out of their way for us. We did not receive any extras even though we booked our stay for a week. All and all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper floors for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victorialynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the team looked after you. Also pleased that you used our free WiFi! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#65 of 1,081 in London
1,778 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian London, Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#70 of 1,081 in London
3,464 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $161 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing