We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #158 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

When considering my choice for a hotel in this area I had plenty of options. For the price paid (compared to similar priced local hotels) I was very impressed - a budget hotel brand have a branch a few minutes walk away for the same price. The hotel was contemporary and comfortable. We had a drink in the bar before heading out for the evening and enjoyed the relaxed surroundings although we felt the drink prices were a little high. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was excellent. Like many say, the rooms are a little small but this was not a concern as they were very nicely decorated and I did not feel uncomfortable at all. I did not have breakfast but it looked good! Finally, every member of staff I met were welcoming and friendly, ranging from the receptionists, bar staff, cleaners and security. You would not be disappointed if you decided to stay here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. As you mention there are a huge amount of hotels in this area of London so pleased you chose us and we lived up to your expectations! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    724
    146
    46
    20
See reviews for
357
999
91
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I booked into the Kingsley for the weekend of my Wedding. I had a twin room with one of my groomsmen on Friday night and booked an Executive King for Sat & Sun. I expected some confusion about the different bookings but everything went extremely smoothly. I brought my luggage down on Saturday morning, and by the time I arrived back in the evening with my new wife, the bags were up in the room (upgraded to Junior Suite even!) with a handwritten card and a small gift. The suite was spacious, clean, and very comfortable.
The Twin room was a good size too (also clean and comfy). I noted that in both rooms the bath/shower drained very well - this is often not the case in other hotels I have stayed in, so impressed me.
We had breakfast downstairs - had forgotten to get voucher at check-in, but easily fixed by seeing reception before going to breakfast. We also tried breakfast in our room, which was excellent. Hot food was hot, cold food was cold. Tip: Fruit & Yoghurt = 1 full bowl of fruit + 1 full bowl of yoghurt.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly whenever we had dealings with them; from first booking to check-out the whole experience was outstanding.
The location is perfect for doing things in the West End, and would probably be pretty handy for The City too. The feel of the building is very warm and inviting, with its grand staircase and carved fittings. It was so nice to have proper floorboards too - not concrete like modern buildings.
I highly recommend The Kingsley to anyone wanting a hassle-free stay in London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cptnplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. Congratulations on your recent wedding and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future (maybe for your anniversary!). Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARWEN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Superb location . Arrived early and were allocated a room to freshen up and change prior to attending a meeting. Also stored luggage until we returned later in the day. Excellent facilities enhanced by superb attentive staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked this for a weekend in London to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. Although we arrived early the staff could not be more helpful and soon had us in our room. When they learnt why we were there a card and small gift soon materialised. The room was spacious, clean and well equiped with everything we would need. When we asked if there was any fresh milk for our tea it was brought to the room within a few minutes at no cost. The breakfast was comprehensive and tasty but we did not try the evning meal as we were going out each night and wanted to eat in the Covent Garden area which was a 5 minute walk away. It was very convenient for the theatres, most are within a few minutes walk, and shopping (Oxford Street is a few minutes away. A most enjoyable celebration weekend.

Room Tip: Room at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wedge158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I hope that you had a great Wedding Anniversary! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were a group of 9 girls visiting London for musicals and having some good time together. The Kingsley by Thistle is the perfect place to stay, in the middle of everything and just a 10 min. walk from Holburn underground when arriving from Heathrow. Close to a lot of theaters, nice pubs on almost every corner and short walking distance to whatever you want to do. We didn't use taxi once, perfect! The staff is very serviceminded, gently and always with at smile. Our room was perfect for 3. A lot of space, clean og nicely renovated. The breakfast was rich and tasty, fresh fruit is a bonus! All in all - we don't have to look for other hotels in London for the future, we have found the perfect place to stay. All the girls have been to London a lot of times, and everybody agreed that this is the best hotel so far - we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonoSammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Business Trip for four nights and it was a sound experience. Being from the states I understand not everyone get's up at 5am and worksout. The hotel does not have a fitness center but a relationship with a local club (10 min walk) for 5 sterling does the trick (not open until 7am weekdays). Internet free and fast. Inroom tea - great. TV and choices - good. All in all a good stay - staff helpful and attentive - room clean and spot on.

Room Tip: High room above street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 5 days cor business. The hotel is in a strategic location, 5min to holborn and covent garden. The stAff has been always very kind and helpfull. Free wifi! Rooms are quite basic but you can have all you need. Price is ok to be in London city center.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiM0StOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. Glad to see that you enjoyed the free WiFi! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#240 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#404 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing