We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,451)
Filter reviews
2,451 results
Traveler rating
1,366
837
166
56
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,366
837
166
56
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish museumcovent gardengreat locationoxford streetwest endbox of chocolatestheatre landjunior suitelovely hoteldrury lanetheatre breakgood sizeminute walkfree upgradecentral hotelbus stopbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,744 - 1,749 of 2,451 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The room was modern, comfortable and - rare enough to be mentionned - very silent.
Staff were sympathic and attentive.
But location by far is what made it outstanding: next to the British museum, at walking distance of Covent Garden and Soho.
My best hotel experience in London.

1  Thank YAYA_680
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you note the hotel is within easy walking distance to Covent Garden, Leicester Square as well as the nearby British Museum.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Paul Knightley General Manager The Kingsley by Thistle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

It's a super hotel for everything: good location, staff in each department very friendly and helpful. Really nice breakast. We got a Junior Suite and each detail was perfect and clean. Looking forward to going back and repeat the lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LolaT241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly the breakfast! The hotel has 11 spacious Junior Suites and these are available for a supplement.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
The Kingsley by Thistle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A fantastic hotel in an amazing location. Visited on business but an equally great location for popping to Covent Garden and the rest of the West End. The staff were extremely welcoming and totally attentive. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
The Kingsley by Thistle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nothing terribly remarkably good or bad about this spot. Room was clean, but somewhat noise-ridden with mechnical sounds from surrounding rooms and property. It seemed to me that they were making their profit from "extra's," Wi-Fi, washclothes, and Ice (available from room service only). We were accompanied everywhere by hotel staff -- which made us feel like tips were the primary compensation.

On the plus side there are many restaurants nearby, Soho is one street away, and the underground is a stone's throw in any direction. Can't get much closer to the British Museum, either.

Definitely not a bad experience, but not a noteworthy one, either. A sound second-property if you can't find a better Trip Advisor recommendation....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read yor mixed review on the hotel. Whilst faceclothes are available upon request, our internet offering is currently via a third party and therefore a fee is charged. Should you require free WiFi access, by joining our loyalty programme this entitles you to atleast 30 minutes per day of access free of charge.

Please contact me directly next time you are staying in London and I will personally ensure that your stay with us is an enjoyable one. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
The Kingsley by Thistle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We found that the hotel had friendly, helpful staff. Lovely building. It looked as if it had recently been refurbished - certainly everything looked fresh and new. Close to theatre district which was great. Quiet rooms, good night's sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeyores_Sister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul Knightley
General Manager
The Kingsley by Thistle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews