We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've stayed in in London!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #209 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break in London and I would unreservedly recommend this hotel. The location is spot on, with many of the main sights within walking distance. We were even able to walk from Euston which looking at the map, we weren't expecting to be able to. It was about a 20 minute walk. The hotel itself is very well appointed, you can tell it has had a recent revamp and it seems to be excellently maintained. Every member of staff we came into contact with was extremely courteous and eager to assist. The bedroom was a good size, the bed was comfy and the ensuite was spotlessly clean and also a good size. We treated ourselves to the breakfast and were glad we did. It's a buffet style service and the quality of the food was excellent, no comparison to somewhere like Travelodge buffet breakfasts. This is a real gem of a hotel and we will definitley be returning next time we make a trip to London. The only little point that makes it 99% perfect rather than 100% is that there was no fridge in the room and consequently no fresh milk. If fresh milk had been offered when we checked in, that would have been perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be noisy but ours was at the side overlooking a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teabag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,760 - 1,766 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

First off, this hotel is bordering perfect. Well decked out, comfortable, good atmosphere in the bar, service excellent and warm and clean. However, this hotel fell down in the housekeeping department... a pet hate of mine is being woken up by housekeeping, and it seems that on 50% of hotels I've stayed in, a knock arrives at the door at about 9:30am, when I'm still asleep. This hotel alas was no different. The Housekeeping Manager rattled the bedroom door at 9:30am with her card and when I got up to answer the door, she was halfways down the corridor just smiling at me and saying sorry. I don't know why hotels do this! (I can only guess that it's a revenue exercise, waking up the guests in the hop that they venture downstairs for breakfast). Anyways, I wasnt impressed and raised it with the reception on checkout. I got a simple apology. Anyways, if you don't mind getting up early, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit at the Kingsley hotel, your comments about the staff and service are much appreciated and will be passed onto the team. At the same time I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused by the housekeeping team. I would like to reassure you that this is not a usual at the Kingsley hotel since the comfort of our guests is the main focus of all our members of staff. I hope you will visit the Kingsley again in the near future, and I would be happy to assist with the arrangements to ensure you have a memorable stay.
Regards
Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We just got home, from our trip to London. It was just a quick weekend get away, but we enjoyed our stay @ the hotel.

It had a great location, not far from Oxford street and Covent garden - About 10-15mins walk.

We didn't try their food, it seemed a bit pricy - But there is an excellent italien resturant just next to it (Keep away from the Chinese one, just a cross the italien one).

Overall, we had a plesent stay there and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if you're not a heavy sleeper 4th floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed ere for a two night 'sans kids' weekend.

We booked through a third party website as a 'secret buy', so you don't know what you get til you buy.

Location wasn't exactly Covent Garden, as described. Fair bit away from that but close to oxford and regent streets and main shopping.

We had a problem with water noise in our room (127), where water/ drainage pipes run down at the back of the headboard. Noisy all night.

Complained to reception who were excellent and moved us to a new room without question. Came back to chocolates and a card as an apology.

Overall great customer service. Would stay again purely from the reassurance that the service is there if required.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keefletrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Kingsley Hotel on your ’sans kids' weekend. I am terribly sorry to hear your first night's sleep was disturbed by noise caused by water pipes, we will investigate the root cause of the noise and rectify the issue as soon as possible. The Kingsley was built in 1897 and even though it was lovingly restored occasional defects are identified and rectified straight away. Thank you for complimenting the staff for their response in dealing with your concerns. Please contact us directly when you plan your next visit to London and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsley Hotel.
Kind Regards
Johan and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The hotel was absolutely spotless and well kept. Our room was comfortable and i had a very good nights sleep.

We booked through last minute and only booked a room, but were offered a great deal for breakfast when we arrived. Although we did not decided to take them up on the offer until nearly midnight - we just called down to reception, they were fantastic and delivered our confirmation to our room so we had it when we woke up.

Location wise it could not be better situated right out the front is a bus stop, 3 mins walk is the british museum, 10 mins walk is covent garden, dury lane 5 mins and if your lazy like us oxford street shopping is a bus ride of approx 5 mins.

All the staff were so friendly and helpful, they seemed genuinely interested in us and our stay. The waiters at breakfast could not do enough to help you. There seemed to be at least 1 waiter to 3 tables which is excellent. The food was incredible even though it was a buffett the cook stuff was still very hot.

Also my silly boyfriend left his ipod in the room the morning we left, we called them when we realised and they already knew and had it in the safe so we could go back and pick it up.

myself and the other half are well and truely impressed and will def stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kievro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

From the outside, the kingsley by thistle hotel does not look very big, but once you get inside it is so unlike the usual corporate hotels. Having had a recent refurb, it feels very welcoming and somehow homely. Check in was very efficient, and the staff were all very friendly.
We had room 602 which was a deluxe twin room, and were surprised at the quality and fittings ...the bathroom has a power shower and bath, with wood fttings, and the room has a proper kettle (not the usual plastic ones which takes ages to boil) and complimentary tea, coffee milk sugar and bicuits.
The beds were exceptionally comfortable, and the hotel offers a pillow menu .. in room were firm and soft, but if you wanted feather pillows, or anti allergy or any choice on the menu all you have to do is ring reception and ask for them to be sent to you're room.
The large LCD tv in the room has a wide choice of TV and radio channels avail at no charge, including most standard sky ones (dave, sky1, sky news etc...)
The room has its own heating / aircon unit, all you have to do is set the temperature and it is all set.
We decided to have an evening meal in the kingsley two restaurant, and took advantage of the 2 course set meal at £17.95 (3 course £23.95) and the quality of the food was outstanding. We would happily have paid the price of the 2 course for the main course, the food was simply some of the best we have ever had in a hotel (and paid much higher prices for...). The maitre d, guiseppe, was very helpful and knowledgble and made us feel like we were special friends, he quite made our evening. As we had said such good things about the food, he arranged for the chef to come to our table which was a really nice gesture on his part.
The following morning, after our visit to the Jersey Boys show in London (which was sensational) we went down to breakfast, and Guiseppe was there to greet us and he asked about our trip to the theatre and made sure we had tea and coffee before we went to serve ourselves from the breakfast, and what a breakfast choice!!.
There was (on hot food) cumberland sausages, back bacon, hash browns, baked beans, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, fried bread. If you wished you could have ordered kippers or eggs benedict as well.
There was fresh fruit salad, fresh fruit, croissants, danish pastries, cold meats, selection of cheeses.
Various cereals ....i.e muesli, cornflakes, weetabix etc etc.
Fresh orange juice, apple juice, cranberry juice.
quite the best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel, and all nice and hot and fresh.
One tip...if you have booked room only, ask for breakfast ticket on check in as it only costs £10 , otherwise it is £16.95.
It may sound a lot, but you get a very good breakfast that will set you up for the day ahead, and is well worth the money
There are 2 tube stations within easy walking distance (about 10 mins away) and these are Holborn and Tottenham Court Road. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel.
To get to the hotel by taxi from Kings cross or st pancras will cost about £8 - £10. and takes about 15 - 20 minutes depending on london traffic.
We travelled a lot on the tube, and found that purchasing an oyster card at the ticket desk (cost £5 each) and topping up was by far the easiest way to get around ... you can top up at any station using the sel service machine, using cash or debit or credit card. Fares are quite a bit cheaper using the oyster card so should work out cheaper if you travelling around london.
We found the best free places to visit were the science museum, and the natural history museum, and the victoria and albert museum (all next to each other, use south kengsington tube station and they are all signposted from the station). Although they request a donation, you are not forced to pay if you cant afford to.
Our rating for this hotel is off the scale, we had a wonderful stay and feel we have now found our home away from home in London. Please try this hotel, you will not be disappointed.. .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amberfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I am happy to say that The Kingsley has provided an excellent service from beginning to departure. A well appointed hotel that is as good on the inside as out. The welcome at Reception was friendly and was able to book in without issue. My room was unavailable so I was able to leave my Luggage with the concierge who was polite, helpful and knowledgeable

I returned later with my friend who I met in London and who was staying with me, My welcome was as warm as when I arrived in the morning. My luggage was brought to my room and we were able to settle in. Our Junior Suite had a fantastic lounge, bed and bathroom. The décor was contemporary and to our taste.

After a night on the tiles in London, gaining access to the Hotel was not an issue either and with the air con on we had a cosy nights sleep.

Breakfast in the morning was very tasty and Buffet style, so we wear able to get a hearty meal before going our different ways after Checking out. Polite and helpful breakfast staff were not intrusive but always ready to re charge our Tea/Coffee and make sure there was an ample supply of toast.

Check out was quick, simple and easy. I am looking forward to staying with them again and enjoying the fantastic facilities, its great location and above all the excellent customer service that is provided here.

Room Tip: 117 :) its a Winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoctailCollin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#63 of 1,075 in London
1,641 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#60 of 1,075 in London
3,322 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#333 of 1,075 in London
823 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#453 of 1,075 in London
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#161 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $170 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing