We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
  
Ways to Experience The British Museum
from $26.41
More Info
from $27.28
More Info
from $21.60
More Info
from $67.07
More Info
Reviews (70,851)
Filter reviews
70,851 results
Traveler rating
51,454
15,038
3,334
676
349
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51,454
15,038
3,334
676
349
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosetta stone elgin marbles ancient egypt egyptian mummies sutton hoo amazing collection free entry few hours on display rainy day couple of hours audio guide artifacts bm civilizations pantheon mummy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 70,851 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I cant even begin to describe the collection of artifacts held at this museum. Many an hour can be spent hear. Throw in free admission (Donations Accepted) and this place is a must visit on your tour of London!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This museum is of world class the same as the Prado, the Louvres. You will need at least a day to see all the expositions. The museum itself is to see. Take your time this is a museum where you will enjoy looking around. This is the first museum to see in London because after seeing a couple of museums we get tired of beautiful art (paintings, statues etc...)

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank durajule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful museum! I think this is my third favorite museum, after Louvre and New York Met. If you really enjoy a place like this then better be ready to spend some hours here, there is so much to see! Lots of details, information, and why not? Adventure and a feeling of nostalgia and wonder just by seeing how great this world and its people are! So much worth the visit! Enjoy!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 301JoseM301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I agree with another reviewer who mentioned the phone use. The busiest area where you could hardly see anything was in the Egyptian section. People were doing selfies and group photos among mummified bodies and coffins. You’d see people filming every exhibit and moving on. I saw one guy literally snap a photo quickly of each display and move on. it’s like people don’t have patience to read the display and look at it. Most museums have VERY small descriptions on each display forcing you to wait for someone to finally move out of the way so you could read it.. This was especially true for the Rosetta Stone. Why can’t they enlarge the placard and put one on all sides of the display and then people wouldn’t block the view? The signage could be better on how to move around from room to room however employees were in every room and could tell you if you asked. Upon entering the British Museum I was told to immediately go to cashier #3 and the donation was treated like it was mandatory. I didn’t mind but others were just walking in while I was told to pay. I didn’t even go during high season. can’t imagine how busy this museum gets on a rainy summer day.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Therese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A bit of everything here. You can even bring your own food. So much to see if you choose. Do your research so you can see what you really want

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank brianinboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews