We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
  
Ways to Experience The British Museum
from $26.43
More Info
from $27.29
More Info
from $21.60
More Info
from $67.09
More Info
Reviews (70,849)
Filter reviews
70,849 results
Traveler rating
51,452
15,038
3,334
676
349
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51,452
15,038
3,334
676
349
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosetta stone elgin marbles ancient egypt egyptian mummies sutton hoo amazing collection free entry few hours on display rainy day couple of hours audio guide artifacts bm civilizations pantheon mummy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 70,849 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This gets crowded very quickly, so visit first thing, mid week and ideally not in summer if you can. Bags are searched before getting in. Audio guides and maps are available. Its free, but donations are appreciated. The displays are well laid out, clean and explanations in English.

The African display on the ground floor only had step access which was annoying, as were the slow, small lifts to other areas. There was no clear route, so it was difficult to know if I missed whole areas or not. Only 1% of the museums vast collection is actually on display! It makes you realise how much was plundered from around the world! You could spend all day there, but I wandered around most sections (at least I think I did?) and took about 2hrs.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank dalton1skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its difficult to see everything in One day but we tried. Pick out your favorite things to explore by looking at the Brochure before you start. If you love jewelry like I do, do not miss the jewelry collection through the ages . I liked it BETTER than the Crown Jewels My boyfriend loved the Music room as he is a musician but we both loved the statues and the first floor was excellent. Eat before you come or after as the food is terrible just maybe get coffee or soda and a muffin. Do not miss this museaum

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing London attraction. A must see for curious people looking to be amazed by never seen items. the museum shop carries many replicas that make for a great gift or as a remembrance of a great day. we bought Saurat river painting

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank DirksterKlui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My visit to the British Museum was to see the Rosetta Stone. I was not disappointed! Due to limited time available, I saw the highlights that were outlined in the official brochure. The Assyrian Lion Hunt display was brilliant and I would say be sure to spend time looking at this remarkable piece of art work. Highly recommend this museum.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Eileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent the day in London and decided to come here. We left our bags in the cloakroom, the charge was dependant on weight - is this a London thing??? It cost £7.50 for two bags. There were lots of visitors present but as the building is so large no area was crowded. The building was very clean. There are some sections that are free and others where there is a charge. We visited the areas without charge including the Egyptian mummies which was extremely fascinating. The shop we visited had a wide range of unique products including jewellery, crystals and soft furnishing. It was like an exhibition itself. I really feel you could spend the whole day here which is what we will do in the future.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank vprecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews