We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viking Exhibition”
Review of British Museum

British Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.47*
and up
Small-Group Tour: The British Museum in London
More Info
$101.69*
and up
Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum
More Info
$185.43*
and up
Small-Group Tour: The National Gallery and British Museum in London
Ranked #1 of 1,656 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A museum of the world, for the world. Discover over two million years of human history and culture. Some of the world-famous objects include the Rosetta Stone, the Parthenon sculptures and Egyptian mummies.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Viking Exhibition”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Yes the long queues were a problem especially in the first two rooms but, once you had cleared these rooms, the exhibition was very rewarding. I have read up a bit on this subject and I expected not to learn much that was new but, on the contrary, I liked the way the exhibition illustrated the surprisingly cosmopolitan nature of the vikings' wandering and trading and its effect on their culture. We see the progress of a very narrow barbarian culture gradually turning outwards to the rest of Europe and joining its international culture. I loved the mock-up of the viking long boat. This exhibit in its size showed how seafaring was quite possible in these large and beautiful vessels. Also the illustration of a massacre of vikings in England showed that they were not all that invincible - except for the delay at the beginning, a good way to spend an afternoon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39,549
    11,626
    2,570
    534
    229
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the must see destinations in London”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you want to see a good percentage of the cultural treasures of the world the British Museum is the place to visit. Especially impressive are the Greek and Roman sections as well as those from Assyria, Ancient Egypt, and ancient Britain. The temporary exhibitions usually include a blockbuster exhibition it would be a crime to miss!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Acmchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'The Vikings'”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Special trip to London to see this exhibition. Artefacts on display and narrative/explanations very good , marred by poor layout and poor crowd management - BM need to take lessons from Disney ! Choke point at start led to logjams, not helped by positioning of descriptions - usually low down and blocked from others' view by each individual visitor. I appreciate that the boat is the 'climax', but if were at the start people could spread out around it and then progress at a more leisurely pace to the detailed stuff.. The first Saturday was probably not the best time to choose - but I think it would be better to be less 'commercial' and allocate fewer tickets each day - and thus make for a more enjoyable experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham,UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Museum wonderful, Vikings Exhibition Not So”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The British Museum is one of my favourite places to visit and I have been a frequent visitor to both the standing collections and exhibitions for over 40 years. So, to be clear, the low rating I've given is for the exhibition and not the Museum. Unfortunately, I must agree with a previous post which suggests avoiding the Vikings Exhibition (unless of course you enjoy crowds & unacceptably long waits). I, too, had a timed ticket entry but it still took 30 mins to queue and enter the 1st introductory room. But, even once in, I was disappointed by the artefact descriptions which aren't clearly labelled so matching them up took a bit of educated guesswork ; be aware an audio guide is essential which can be prohibitively costly if you are a family/group. On a final warning note, if you have mobility problems I would advise thinking seriously about attending. I do have mobility issues; although I was offered a folding chair by a kind attendant that was no compensation for being frequently jostled by the crowds of people. I wish I'd thought of asking to get my money back but, after coming down to London specifically to see the Vikings, that just didn't occur to me.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sagittarianstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Lifetime Here Would Be Too Short”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Where does one start? The sheer quantity of artifacts alone would be enough to overawe even the most experienced museum-goer, but the quality and caliber of exhibits could finish one off completely! The Rosetta Stone? The Sutton Hoo artifacts? Ancient Egyptian mummies of kings and queens? Assyrian motifs, Greek statues, and Roman busts? They're all here!

One does not simply just walk into the British Museum and see everything in a day! Sure, you could power-walk your way through, but you would need days in order to skim the surface of what this museum has to offer. Sadly, I had less than two hours, but since I researched what was housed here before my visit, I was able to see the few "must sees" on my list. You ought to do the same.

Admission is free to the general exhibits. The Viking exhibit was there, but I did not pay to see it (not enough time). Even if you only have an hour to spare, you really ought to stop by and see history in person, but I would encourage you to make the British Museum a destination in and of itself.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SvenskaSvea1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Museum also viewed

 

Been to British Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing