We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of British Museum

British Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.47*
and up
Small-Group Tour: The British Museum in London
More Info
$101.69*
and up
Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the British Museum
More Info
$185.43*
and up
Small-Group Tour: The National Gallery and British Museum in London
Ranked #1 of 1,656 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A museum of the world, for the world. Discover over two million years of human history and culture. Some of the world-famous objects include the Rosetta Stone, the Parthenon sculptures and Egyptian mummies.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This place is huge, very busy... lots of the exhibits were closed which was a little disappointing, but a good way to kill some time

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39,549
    11,626
    2,570
    534
    229
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The British Museum was the first national public museum in the world. It has an incredible variety of artifacts, art and books from all over the world. The Rosetta Stone is on display. There is a large room with a huge number of sculptures from the Parthenon in Greece. There is a large Easter Island statue, There are mummies and Chinese jade. It is a huge eclectic collection from all over the world. We took a highlights tour, so were able to weave our way through the museum seeing some of the highlights and also getting an idea of how much we were missing. A great museum to be enjoyed over and over again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank livetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundonald, Belfast.
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“always something new to see”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

No matter how many times I visit here I never get tired of the place, there are just so many things to see and each time I visit I find something I haven't come across before. The fact that admission is free is always a bonus.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2020vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderfull museum!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

One of the most interesting museums I've ever been to! We had planned to stay the whole day there but managed to go though the museum and take almost everything in in under five hours! It's also free so it fits nicely for those who are travelling on a budget and want to add a bit of culture to their trip.The only bad thing was the restaurant in the museum, we had lunch there and it was overpriced and tasted awful, I have honestly never eaten a mushroom soup that bad, people in Britain should really learn how to use spices and cream in their soup. Other than that absolutely wonderful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HjordisO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hours worth of interesting exhbits under one roof!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The British Museum is a must see when you're in London. There are so many exhibits from all around the world. I recommend seeing the Rosetta Stone first, as I found it to be the one exhbit that always seemed to have a crowd around it, no matter the time of day. I think I could have easily spent all day in the museum, so if you're finding the weather disagreeable, then this will still be a great day out.

Incidentally, it's easily accessible from the tube if you're on foot. I recommend the stop at Holborn tube station, as you can easily walk northwest on SouthHampton Row to Great Russel Street, make a single left turn and walk straight to the museum without getting lost in the many branching streets in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Museum also viewed

 

Been to British Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing