We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply enchanting!”
Review of ZSL London Zoo

ZSL London Zoo
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$27.87*
and up
London Zoo Entry Ticket with Optional...
More Info
$80.39*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #166 of 1,728 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ZSL London Zoo is packed full of wonder and amazement, with over 650 species of animals to meet and thousands more surprising and fascinating facts just waiting to be discovered. Find yourself face-to-face with our Asiatic lions and our friendly giraffes whilst they enjoy a spot of lunch. Wander through our Madagascan shrub forest and see how many of our ring-tailed lemurs you can spot before heading down to B.U.G.S to quiz our insect experts on the importance of insects to our ecosystem. Then, if you're feeling brave, you can get up close and personal and take a Spider Selfie with our resident arachnids in Europe’s only walk-through spider experience. Not to mention firm favourites Gorilla Kingdom, Penguin Beach and Tiger Territory. This is a place where fun days help us fund raise. Where your visit will help support our conservation work in over 50 countries around the world. Where really great days out can make a really positive difference to the wildlife we work to protect.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I love all animals, great and small and I love London Zoo. There is so much to see here and their successful breeding programmes ensure that future generations will be able to say the same.

Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupporterServices, Supporter Services at ZSL London Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL London Zoo. We are thrilled to hear that you love animals and that you love ZSL London Zoo too! We are also glad that our important message about our vital worldwide conservation work is being portrayed well around our site. Have you considered supporting us further by making regular donations, adopting one of our animals or joining ZSL Membership to give you unlimited entry to both ZSL London and ZSL Whipsnade Zoos?
Thank you for supporting ZSL. Through your entry ticket you have made a direct contribution towards our vital worldwide conservation work. We hope to see you again soon here at ZSL London Zoo.
The ZSL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,624 - 3,628 of 5,673 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We LOVE this zoo!!! We are from the US, and have been to many zoos here, but this one is very nice!! The animals don't seem completely miserable. The penguin exhibit is so spectacular, it makes you want to be a penguin for few minutes. When we return to London, this will be on our list to revisit.

Thank rjohn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupporterServices, Supporter Services at ZSL London Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL London Zoo. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit, in particular our Penguin Beach enclosure which allows our visitors to get a close-up view of our beautiful penguins both in the water and on land.
Through your entry ticket you have made a direct contribution towards our worldwide conservation work and helping us to maintain the endangered species within our zoos.
Thank you for supporting ZSL. We hope to see you again soon at ZSL London Zoo.
The ZSL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a great day at the zoo, its a reasonable size with a great selection of animals. Some really unusual ones too. Great opportunities to get up close, the squirrel monkeys were fantastic. The reptile house, aquarium and bird house were just some of the highlights. Give yourself lots of time to see everthing it closes at 4.00 in the winter.

Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupporterServices, Supporter Services at ZSL London Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL London Zoo. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were able to see so many of our magnificent animals. Through your entry ticket you are making a direct contribution towards our worldwide conservation work, whilst helping us care for the endangered species within our zoos. Have you considered supporting us further by making a regular donation, adopting one of our animals or joining ZSL as a member, enjoying a range of benefits including unlimited entry to both ZSL London and ZSL Whipsnade Zoos?
Thank you for supporting ZSL. We hope to see you again soon here at ZSL London Zoo.
The ZSL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Perfect place for children!I was impressed.I most liked the children's place. The children can touch the animals in “touch zone”. "They can see the animal’s life in the "root zone". One of the places in ZOO is like the world of Gulliver so they are like dwarfs in a world of massive objects.
Another attractive place is the penguin's area.

1  Thank Florance2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupporterServices, Supporter Services at ZSL London Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL London Zoo. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially our children's zone where children are able to get a close-up experience with a variety of animals. Our Penguin Beach is one of our most popular exhibits, allowing our visitors to view these magnificent animals whilst they are swimming in their pool or wandering around on their beach-like island. Have you considered joining ZSL Membership, giving you unlimited entry to both ZSL London and ZSL Whipsnade Zoos along with lots of other benefits?
Thank you for supporting ZSL. Through your entry ticket, you have made a direct contribution to help us maintain the endangered species within our zoo and supporting our worldwide conservation work.
We hope to see you again soon at ZSL London Zoo.
The ZSL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Was not impressed at all. Animals are in small cages and some not very clean or in good condition. The layout is very confusing and you have to keep going back on yourself to get to some areas. We went the week before Christmas and some of the areas were closed but they still charged full price to get in? I will not be going back again, it's really outdated now and should be shut down.

Thank Andysnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupporterServices, Supporter Services at ZSL London Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL London Zoo. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. All the enclosures here at ZSL London Zoo are specially designed to make the most of the space available at our site in Regents Park, whilst mimicking the natural habitat from which our animals originate. You may be interested to know that as the oldest zoo in the world, we have approximately 13 buildings and enclosures which are listed buildings and therefore cannot be altered or modernised. We are continuing to modernise aspects of the zoo that we can and this can be seen with our brand new Tiger Territory exhibit, Penguin Beach enclosure and magnificent Gorilla Kingdom. Our staff and volunteers work tirelessly to ensure that our animals are well cared for, including ensuring we maintain the highest standards of cleanliness and health as outlined by BIAZA. We are currently reviewing our maps and signs around our zoos to help improve customer experience and hope to include advised routes so that they may make the best out of their time with us.
Thank you for supporting ZSL. By visiting ZSL London Zoo you have made a direct contribution towards maintaining the threatened species within our zoos and our vital conservation work worldwide. Through your visit you also help us provide training and technical assistance to other conservation groups and individuals in many countries around the world. If you would like to learn more about the vital work that our charity does, please visit our website at www.zsl.org.
The ZSL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZSL London Zoo also viewed

 

Been to ZSL London Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing