We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bridge”
Review of Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$148.10*
and up
Private Tour: London Walking Tour of the Tower of London and Tower Bridge
Ranked #8 of 1,633 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An iconic London landmark and one of Britain's best loved historic sites, Tower Bridge is open to the public 363 days a year. Within the Bridge's iconic structure and magnificent Victorian Engine rooms, the Tower Bridge Exhibition is the best way of exploring the most famous bridge in the world! Come learn about this incredible feat of Victorian engineering, discover how the Bridge is raised and enjoy stunning panoramic views across London from our high-level walkways, 42 metres above the River Thames. Opening Times: 10:00 - 17:30(last admission )
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bridge”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a beautiful pedestrian and vehicle bridge. Walked along the bridge on a clear, beautiful day. Took beautiful pictures. We were even able to view the draw bridge go up when a sailboat crossed underneath.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank I S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,143
    7,345
    1,347
    159
    44
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth seeing a famous landmark”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The bridge was very interesting, as was its engine-room.
The exhibition part was about bridges in general all over the world. I didn't see the point of that. I came to see Tower Bridge, London.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a view”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It's worth vsiting this attraction just for the view of London and down the Thames, however you also get to learn all about how the bridge was built and the amazing engineering that went into creating it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaTruroUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

as its one of the most iconic landmarks in London we thought we would give it a visit, firstly you get to walk across the top walkway to the other tower and they have information on all other bridges in the world, and the different types of bridges. the short video films are interesting as it explains the history of the bridge, and how the bridge actually lifts up so the ships can go through.
once on the other side you get access to the engine rooms which used to power the bridge through steam, there are also a few interactive screens for the kids and upon entry the kids get given a passport and have to collect sticker from different areas in the bridge, my daughter liked it.
overall we enjoyed it, the history was good and its not too expensive, especially if you combine it with your ticket for the monument (£9 for both)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for a rainy day”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I took my 5-year old grandson here during half-term week as the weather was lousy and I wanted something out of the rain. At his age his attention-span is short and I didn't want to pay a small fortune for something he would quickly be bored by and guessed the free museums would be rammed. This is affordable and you can move through fairly quickly if necessary. According to the lady on reception there were plenty of grandparents there with the same idea, possibly tempted by the reduced entry-price of £5.60 (down from £8) for over-60s!
He was reasonably engaged by the filmed introduction and happy to look at the views from the crosswalks, but not really terribly interested in the various displays and artwork as he was a little too young, although he liked some of the models. Some fascinating stuff there for adults, but I would suggest going without any little people in tow if you would like to linger and take in all the historical stuff. However all the children are given a cardboard 'passbook' on arrival, and collect stickers to fill it in as they go round. He really liked this and was very pleased with the finished result.
The parts he enjoyed most were the engine room - he loves anything to do with wheels and machinery so was happy to watch the pistons go round - and the couple of child-sized demonstration models where they can wind a wheel and it shows how the hydraulic system raises and lowers the bridge.
Nice gift shop, not cheap - are they ever? - but when we initially went into the exhibition we were given a voucher for £2 off a £4 spend which was a nice touch and sugared the pill somewhat.
Overall a good choice - older children there were generally more engaged with the exhibits and they all seemed to like the sticker card, regardless of their ages - and by the time we'd walked back to London Bridge along the nice wide stretch of embankment (enough room for him to run off any latent excess energy and thankfully it had stopped raining) it was probably the right amount of time and concentration for a child his age. He enjoyed the experience and so did I.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tower Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing