We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for big kids”
Review of HMS Belfast

HMS Belfast
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.14*
and up
London Food Walking Tour: London Bridge and Borough Market
More Info
$50.99*
and up
River Thames Fast Boat Experience in London
More Info
$77.14*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #58 of 1,659 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Launched in 1938, this cruiser served in World War II, playing a major role in the sinking of the German battle ship "Scharnhorst" in the Normandy landings.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for big kids”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Being 22, I really felt like a big kid on board HMS Belfast. When my girlfriend and I were in London for the weekend HMS Belfast was on our list of things to visit. Walking along the Thames I spotted the ship and had to explore it.

It was extremely interesting and a great insight into naval warfare. We completely lost track of time as there is plenty to see. It was also very educational.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jordw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,660
    957
    202
    37
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well-kept and presented, poorly thought-out”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm fascinated by the Second World War, so it's inevitable I would love this visit. And I did. Getting into the bowels of a Light Cruiser that saw action in the Battle of the Atlantic was an amazing experience, and well worth the 14 pounds it cost to get in. The new audio-visual presentation on the first part of the tour - inside a gun turret, was well done and brilliantly placed. So I'd recommend it heartily for anyone with even the vaguest interest in military history.
The pungent rum smell coming from a room with a diorama of guys getting the ships rations ready was a nice touch, and I'm glad they made no attempt to hide the metallic/oily smells emanating from other parts of the ship.
Downsides: it's poorly signposted, so I didn't always know where I was, even with carrying around a map; the shop is an embarrassment - stuck in the back of the snack room, it sells a lot of tat and a few models - no interesting books or DVD's, for example.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aloofbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“fun and education”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Last Chritmas, when we were in London the Belfast was closed. So this year we were very lucky that is open again. The ship is so interesting, we explored how it was during peace and war, about whole staff on the ship. The visit took us almost 2 hours. We love figures which look like real.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Petra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent a couple of interesting and educational hours here and found the audio guide really helpful. However, the tour would benefit from clearer signage in a couple of areas - we ended up backtracking and repeating one or two sections and noticed others doing the same.
Overall, well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JuliaSPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for our 9 year old!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This wasn't on my to do list, but once my son spotted it, he kept talking about going on this carrier. We had the 2 for 1 offers coupon (google "2 for 1 offers uk"), and so admission was 14 pounds for all 3 of us (children are free). Fyi, there is a voluntary charge you can opt out of, bringing tic prices down to 12.70.

Anyhow, my son loved it. I had an interesting time, but left after an hour for a hair appointment. Plus, all the strange smells were starting to get to me. The smell of oil, machinery, and what's with that smell in the operating room?! Gag me with a spoon!

It's great for kids. So many different rooms, interactive displays, and wax figures to further illuminate how the rooms were used. Son stayed on here for 3+ hours!! It was definitely worth it, and I recommend this if you guys have at least a week to spend in London and have kids in your group.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brklynkgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HMS Belfast also viewed

 

Been to HMS Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing