We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth Seeing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckingham Palace

Buckingham Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.00*
and up
Styled Photoshoot Around Buckingham Palace
Ranked #40 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buckingham Palace serves as both the office and London residence of Her Majesty The Queen. It is one of the few working royal palaces remaining in the world today. During a visit to Buckingham Palace, visitors can see the nineteen magnificent State Rooms, which provide the setting for ceremonial occasions and official entertaining. All rooms are furnished with many of the greatest treasures from the Royal Collection. A visit also includes entry to the special exhibition, A Royal Welcome.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
521 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

You can walk around the outside of the fence and see this magnificent home. It is huge and the fence and gate must be 15 feet high. The Guard can be seen through the fence. If you have time go see the changing of the guard which happen before lunch about every other day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swiftmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,768
    5,419
    2,520
    437
    146
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great opportunity to see behing the gates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I pre-purchased a ticket for this tour online from Australia. The entry for this tour was time controlled and was very well managed. The day I took the tour was very hot and unfortunately I fainted while on the tour. The staff could not have been more helpful and after an hour in the sickbay on oxygen I was taken (by wheekchair - very embarrassing) back to start the tour again.
This was a special year to see the tour as there were items from the Coronation including the beautiful gown Elizabeth wore. Just wonderful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dont miss the Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

You should not miss a trip to Buckingham Palace on your trip to London. Make sure to time your tip to catch the changing of the guard! It is quite the show and simply demonstrate the pure pomp and circumstance that the Royals are known for. Get a photo with one of the guards, my pic with the palace guard is one of my favorite from london! If the Flag is flying out front that means the Queen is at home!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I visited in September just before it closed. We had tickets booked so that we could enjoy changing of the guard first at around 11 and then went in to look around the palace at 12.45. It was great as there were so many friendly and helpful staff there to answer questions about the rooms and exhibits. Each year has a different exhibition focus and this year;s was the 60th anniversary of the coronation and it was wonderful to see the robes worn by the queen and other significants for the ceremony. What is great about the visit is that you can spend as much time as you want in any one room - you aren't just pushed through en masse. They provided recorded guides which were useful but I preferred talking to the staff. After our visit it was great to get a reasonably priced snack in a café on the terrances - we had coffee and smoked salmon and cream cheese bagels. There was time then to enjoy the wonderful gardens and visit the girt shop - some nice items but all quite expensive, I thought! .... and what better to finish off the visit than an ice cream just inside the exit area - they have really got this whole package well sorted! I remembered to get my ticket stamped to allow me a free visit next time within 12 months from the date of my visit! A great day

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GJA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
488 reviews
228 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Almost a let down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Weather wasn't that fair to us in the morning we visited and the palace called off the change of guards to the next day. Indeed a grand facade with a big water feature fountain right in front of the main gate. Visited the palace gift shop on the side of the palace but did not pursue any further for other related visits nearby.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yap W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckingham Palace also viewed

 

Been to Buckingham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing