We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time your visit carefully as very busy sometimes.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madame Tussauds London

Madame Tussauds London
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.63*
and up
Madame Tussauds London Priority Entrance Ticket Including Star Wars Exhibition
Ranked #89 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With 15 interactive areas, a Marvel Super Heroes 4D movie AND the incredible Star Wars experience, Madame Tussauds London combines glitz, glamour and incredible history with over 300 stunning wax figures. Arrive in style at our star-studded party and strike a pose with stars such as Benedict Cumberbatch and Kim Kardashian. Walk down the catwalk with Cara Delevingne and Kendall Jenner in our all new immersive Fashion Week experience. Start your Royal experience with a once-in-a-lifetime audience with Her Majesty The Queen and The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge. Take centre stage with Music icons such as Adele and Beyoncé, before relaxing in a traditional black cab as you relive London's rich history. Step up to your favourite Marvel Super Heroes before getting ready to experience the spectacular and exclusive Marvel Super Heroes 4D movie, where our Marvel Super Heroes battle it out to save London from impending doom. New for 2016, The Sherlock Holmes Experience takes you back in time to Victorian London, for a theatrical detective challenge. Finally, be transported to a galaxy far far away as you enter the incredible Star Wars experience.
west sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Time your visit carefully as very busy sometimes.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having just purchased Merlin passes, we visited Madame Tussauds this week. Our passes took us to the shorter queue -which was still very long, but not the 3 hours some people had to endure.
It was busy inside, but was still fairly easy to take photos, you just have to be bold and not too patient! it was interesting to see what was works were more popular than others.eg no one took any notice of the Beatles -I would def. say the more popular were the younger figures, and also some English ones were less known to the tourists from abroad. You have to queue got the Queen - but the Queen Mother is just at the side against a pillar, almost not noticed. One direction had a longer queue, but you can bypass this. the political section had great backgrounds which made photos more fun. And if you don't know who someone is, there are plenty of signs.
The spirit of london taxi ride was great, though if you have a little one next to you, going up the hill at an angle means they will be squashed - by that time we were glad to sit down. Finally we shuffled along with the crowd (we missed the scary section out by the way) to join to queue for the 4 D experience. This was another chance to sit down! The film was very good, and the movements etc cleverly done - though we all agreed we didn't like the punch in the back moments.
Word of warning -you can't take pushchairs in, so have to carry little ones, which would be too long I think if your child isn't able to walk for some of the time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladyWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadameTussaudsLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Madame Tussauds London, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit to Madame Tussauds London. It is great to see that you have taken advantage of the Merlin Annual Pass and chose to visit us. It seems like you have a great time getting up close and personal with all of your favourite personalities and experience a little brush with fame! To leave nay further comments, please contact us at guest.experience@madame-tussauds.com.

Kind Regards,
MadameTussaudsLondon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,830
    7,231
    3,812
    1,406
    1,068
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must be seen once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having read the many reviews on here, we nearly didn't go. So many people seem to consider it a waste of money. We decided to make up our own minds, but did take heed of the many warnings about queues, and everyone in our party brought a book to read.

We queued for an hour and fifty minutes (paying on the day); I suspect it would have been a lot shorter had we paid in advance, though the queue lines for those people who had were pretty long too. Effort was made to make the queuing experience positive with displays and videos once you get inside the building, but finally making it to the front of the line and marching up to the single solitary checkout operator made me feel as though I had just scaled Everest.

Once inside the fun begins. I'm not much into the celebrity culture, but you don't have to be to appreciate the skill that goes into making the wax models look as lifelike as they do. Only one or two (notably Angela Merkel) looked so unlike their real life counterpart as to be unrecognisable.

It was a lot of fun taking pictures with the various models. Mostly it's a free-for-all, and it's very crowded so you have to ditch the British reserve and be a bit assertive in order to get your turn. In the case of the most popular figures there is an organised queue line and a staff member who will take an official photo which you can buy for an overinflated price, but will also a take a photo with your camera if you want. One Direction were located away from the main drag so we didn't even have to encounter their cheesy faces if we didn't want to, which was a bonus.

There are many unexpected surprises, including interactive activities in the sports hall, and finding Richard Branson hanging around outside the toilets. Towards the end of the main tour lurks "Scream" which is a gratuitously gruesome display featuring "live actors" pretending to be zombies etc (nice work if you can get it), and a taxi ride through London's history. This was well done, and acted as a non-return valve to ensure rapid throughput of visitors.

After this is a section on superheroes, and a 4D film which had nothing to do with waxworks, but was the best of its kind I have ever seen. Where else could you expect to be sprayed with snot by the Incredible Hulk? It was the highlight of the day for me, even though it was preceded by the uncomfortable experience of being corralled in an ante-room and being harangued by a mad haired drama student in a white coat for what turned out to be one of the longest six minutes of my entire life. Now I know what kettling feels like and it's not fun.

I don't feel as though I will need to visit Madame Tussauds again, but that's definitely not to say I regret going this time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadameTussaudsLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Madame Tussauds London, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
We note that you visited Madame Tussauds London in 2013 and enjoyed your visit.
We are constantly updating and adding to our attraction and a lot has changed since the time of your visit. Be sure to come back in the future to see the new elements of our attraction!
Kind regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Queues shocking ... But worth the wait....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent loads of time in London and seen lots of the traditional tourist places.... Had avoided Tussauds because I thought it looked cheesy and touristy....

Booked to come with 5yr old daughter .... Online purchase... Got there to be confronted by a chaotic queue lead by a pleasant but timid young lady... 30-40 mins in queue... But once inside not too bad.... We got to see all the exhibits easily ... Yes lots of people... But generally good natured

Pleasantly surprised!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadameTussaudsLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Madame Tussauds London, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
We note that you visited Madame Tussauds London in 2013 and enjoyed your visit.
We are constantly updating and adding to our attraction and a lot has changed since the time of your visit. Be sure to come back in the future to see the new elements of our attraction!
Kind regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Madame Tussaud's London is fantastic. I have been dozens of times and I love it.

It's one of those places that continually changes as new celebrity waxworks arrive fairly often.

If you would like the chance to mix with the A-Listers, appear, with your favourite music stars, relish the chance to meet with past iconic greats, or hang with the Royals, then this is the place to be.

There really is something for everyone here.

Visit the really scary live actor based chamber if you dare!

Don't forget to bring your camera as you WILL certainly need it.

There is a great taxi ride at the end and a 4D super hero cinema to watch.

You will spend a good 2-3 hours in this attraction and love every minute of it.

You might have to put up with lots of teenagers hanging around One Direction and Justin Bieber, but don't let that put you off!

Highly Recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadameTussaudsLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Madame Tussauds London, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
We note that you visited Madame Tussauds London in 2013 and enjoyed your visit.
We are constantly updating and adding to our attraction and a lot has changed since the time of your visit. Be sure to come back in the future to see the new elements of our attraction!
Kind regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Contains a warning...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a great deal of fun! The whole family enjoyed this.There were alot of people but i understand not as busy as it might have been. We lost out daughter about half way through, and we have a family arrangement to meet by the door if this happens. We found her at the exit. However, we were not allowed back through the attraction to visit the things we had not yet seen. This included spirit of London, movies, 4D experience and the horrors. Easily half of the attraction missed. We did the challenge the person who had stopped us, but he said we had to queue up around the front and come in again. We just could not face the long queue again. So make some different arrangements with your children should you loose each other. Otherwise it will prove a highly expensive hour instead of two or three hours. I would also add you need to be fairly fit, there are no seats for a 5 min breather, its a bit like a non stop merry go round! Very much enjoyed our time there, kids absolutely loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank blueberrybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadameTussaudsLondon, Guest Relations Manager at Madame Tussauds London, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
We note that you visited Madame Tussauds London in 2013 and enjoyed your visit.
We are constantly updating and adding to our attraction and a lot has changed since the time of your visit. Be sure to come back in the future to see the new elements of our attraction!
Kind regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Tussauds London also viewed

 

Been to Madame Tussauds London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing