We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value, super location, recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Point A Hotel, London Westminster
Ranked #390 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a great place to stay in central london, if you are looking for an AAA location great value. Rooms are a little small, and the bathroom is not much more than a shower cubicle with a toilet and sink. But really, what else do you need? I paid £60 for the night at Christmas time, booked through Agoda, there are no additional extras to pay, so I was very happy to have the towels, TV and wifi all thrown in. The location is brilliant, next to Waterloo stn and North Lambeth Tube on the Bakerloo line so you go directly to piccadilly and Oxford street. The houses of parliament and the London eye are 5 mins walk away. Tune hotels claim that the beds are 5* but really, they are not at that standard, nevertheless they are comfortable and adequate. I am sure that if you are looking for faults you'll find them, but for this price, in this location you really can't complain.

Room Tip: Get one with a window ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteamyKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us over the Christmas period and for leaving your feedback. Two “SUPERS” in a row and “recommending” is definitely a good sign that you had an enjoyable stay with us!
Location, location, location! Definitely agree - Tune Westminster absolutely has it! Good to know that you also found our Hypnos beds comfortable.

Thank you for recommending us and we are eagerly looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 2,309 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's been a while since my last stay here, and in some respects it still offers some appealing features. However, some minor flaws are beginning to show.

The staff are still extremely friendly and welcoming, and always seem willing to help. The location (of course) is still excellent for getting around London. The wi-fi service has improved and is now quite good and the bed is still one of the better hotel beds I've slept in across numerous hotel chains at varying prices.

However, some things are in need of work. The exterior windows (which I believe are soon to be replaced) are extremely poor. In my room, the space between the exterior window and the interior window was dirty and looked extremely unappealing. The exterior of window would not shut completely which meant that the noise level was higher than it should have been - thankfully I travelled with ear plugs! The room blind was also broken and could not be raised/lowered. This wasn't a big issue for me, as I was out most of the day, but in the morning, light seeped into the room early. It is these little things that the housekeeping/hotel staff should have noticed before the next guests arrive.

The walls were beginning to look extremely scruffed and there were many marks, chips and blotches in various places in my room. I had the misfortune to look under my bed as I used the safe and the dirt beneath it indicated to me that the underneath space had not been cleaned in some time: there was dust, fluff and even some small pieces of plastic. I arrived on Thursday, which meant that room cleaning should of happened on Sunday: it did not. As I was leaving Monday, it wasn't a major issue but it just seems like a distinct lack of attention is being paid to cleaning and maintenance in general.

Had the property been as clean and well maintained as it was on my first visit, coupled with the friendly staff, excellent location and improved services it now has, I would have rated this visit much more highly. However, the general state of my room just left me feeling a little let down with the experience overall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colmirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Guest Relations Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments following your return stay to Tune Hotel Westminster.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location once again, still found the staff friendly and that our wifi connection worked even better than the last time!

I do apologies for the issues in your room, please be assured that we have changed both the windows and curtains and even got 15 new rooms! We have also looked into our cleanliness and maintenance in general.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to show you our improvements and to offer you a full quality and comfortable stay.

Kind Regards,

Ave Jaanus
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Laurence R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The rooms might be small but it was clean and got everything you need. The location was perfect just opposite the subway station. For a nice English breakfast turn right outside the hotel and turn right again to find several breakfast / lunch spots that are cheap and good instead of the offering from Costa Coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting such a positive review of your recent stay with Tune Hotel Westminster. I am happy that you were pleased overall and found the location and our product ideally suited your requirements.
Lower Marsh is indeed host to a traditional weekday street market, independent shops and cafes –perfect for a budget traveller looking for a good deal!

We are looking forward to welcoming back you and your family.

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here back in September 2012. Our flight came in late so we decided to stay here to save some money.At first I was a bit scared because the hotel wasnt located directly in the Westminster tourist area. The hotel is a couple of blocks from that area that has all major atractions like the Eye of London, Big Ben and Waterloo Station. We walked around the first night and there were a couple of people walking around headed to nearby pubs which made the area feel safe. There is a small convenience store across the street from the hotel that stays open late and it was decently stocked with basic essentials. Since we only stayed 2 nights at this hotel I wanted to economise and requested the cheapest hotel room. The room was in the basement tiny but clean hardly any room to walk around but at less than $100 Us dollars a night its well worth it! Price included a safe cable. There is a small elevator in this hotel so you may need to do a couple of trips depending on the amount of luggage you have. There is a bakery next door to the hotel if you want to eat breakfast before heading out to do some sight seeing. Overall I would recomend this hotel if your on a budget and will only use it to sleep since the rooms are so tiny.

Room Tip: I stayed in the cheapest room which was very tiny in basement with no window. But they do offer room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PassionFashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tune Hotel Westminster for your stop and for leaving your comments. We are indeed all about allowing our guests to design their own stay, depending from the budget and by choosing the room type and the add-ons needed.
One of our strongest points is actually our safe and central location. Located in the heart of London leaves us close to the major sightseeing, shops, restaurants; however, far enough to avoid the noisy city action. Furthermore, Lower Marsh and Waterloo are opened until late, offering different cuisines for dining and drinks and Kennington Police Station will definitely keep the streets safe.

I am really glad you found your stay worth the money and would recommend us to travellers on a budget. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Let's get some of the negatives out of the way first.

First, the room is small. Very small. There's barely enough room to move around the double bed, there's a fold-out shelf that could be used for a laptop provided you sit on the bed, and the shower, sink and toilet are in a sort of glass capsule, with one curtain separating the shower from the rest. This is definitely not family friendly, but for a single traveler or a couple on a budget, it's bearable.

Second, the incidental charges. The rooms are cleaned every 3 days; you have to pay extra if you want it more often. There's also a charge for toiletries, a 3-pound charge for daily towel rental and a charge for TV and Internet use. For the latter, there are a range of packages including a 10-pound one for your total stay if it's more than 3 days. It should be stressed that these are *optional* charges; you can certainly pack your own towels and toiletries, and if you're exploring the UK, odds are you probably won't be doing that much TV / Internet use anyway.

By the way: the Internet package they have requires you to register with their provider, and the front desk will give you a passcode series that's good for a maximum of three days; more passcodes will be issued depending on the length of your stay. If you're staying for more than a week, and you absolutely need to web-surf, then the 10-pound package looks like good value; for a shorter stay I'd be hunting out some hotspots.

Third, storage space. You have a shelf on the bottom of the coat rack, and a shelf on the nightstand, at the bottom of which is a safe. And that's pretty much it. This is most definitely the type of room that encourages one-bag travel; you'll be living out of your suitcase.

Now, the positives:

First, although the cleaning takes place every three days, they do a very good job of it. The room is well-maintained. Hot water is instantaneous, even during peak periods.

Second, the location. There *is* a pub next door called the Horse, which also does Thai food (although opening hours during the Christmas hols have tended to be erratic), on the other side there's a Costa Coffee for cold breakfasts. And you're across the street from the Lambert North Underground station, which is on the Bakerloo line. If you don't mind a little more exercise, go the other way about three blocks and you'll be at the Waterloo railway station. If you need to do laundry, there's a coin-op about two blocks down around Marsh Street.

Third, the staff. They're very familiar with the neighborhood, and very helpful. That's always a plus whenever I'm traveling.

Bottom line: singles and couples visiting London (and the UK, as an extension) should seriously consider this hotel for its location, comfort and simplicity, but they need to do some planning first. Families - especially with small children - are going to need more space.

And - definitely - bring your own towel.

Room Tip: "Definitely - remember to pack a towel."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VWOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this thorough feedback with all the observations and tips on your stay with Tune Hotel Westminster.
We believe in the old phrase, honesty is the best policy. It’s an oldie but goodie! We try to be very upfront on our website, as well as through any queries regarding our concept, room sizes and all the add-ons. Therefore, only positive surprises like the friendliness of our staff and the 5 star cleanliness of our rooms, thank you for noticing!

Thank you for recommending us for our simplicity, comfort and location, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on my own and then with my partner, all locations are great. I have been to Paddington and Westminister one. Great location, unbeatable pricing, clean and modern, all the essential services are there, staff is great!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 555Vera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Tune Hotel Westminster and for rating us as the best, we are very honoured! It is really good to know you enjoyed your stay with us and found all our major key points so convenient.
We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back here to Tune Westminster, but I also hope you have the possibility to try out Tune Hotel Kings Cross, Liverpool Street and our brand new Tune Hotel Haymarket in Edinburgh!

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#452 of 1,076 in London
2,665 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point A Hotel, London Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point A Hotel, London Westminster

Address: 118-120 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7RW, England (Formerly Tune Hotel - Westminster)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#355 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $84 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Point A Hotel, London Westminster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westminster is London’s historic heart, packed with more landmarks than you can shake a selfie stick at. Stroll along the Southbank and take in some of London’s greatest hits – all a stone’s throw from your Point A Hotel, London Westminster. So bring a bag, plans, places to be. And check in to your always affordable, always reliable Point A Hotel. Sink deep into your Hypnos bed. Help yourself to free WiFi. Get tomorrow-ready in a proper power shower. Then go find your point b. Shoreditch and the whole of London is on your doorstep. Every room is compact, well designed and comes with a super comfy Hypnos bed, en-suite bathrooms with a proper power shower, fast & free WiFi, USB charging point, air conditioning, hairdryer, huge TV with 240 channels and a safe. Blackout curtains ensure you have a good night's sleep. You’ll be well connected, being just 20m Lambeth North Tube Station and 900m from transport hub Waterloo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Point A Hotel, London Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels - Westminster Hotel London
Point A Hotel, London Westminster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing