We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room no window staff didn't speak English”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Point A Hotel, London Westminster
Ranked #441 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small room no window staff didn't speak English”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Stay 1 nite booked dble room got 2 room and it was small no window I went 2 ask if we cus swap she was berating around the bus saying I booked room wiv no window I booked dble room . It took me 4 attempts 2 get her 2 understand I wud pay. 4 room wiv window but she say they fully booked not helpful will not get caught out like this again but if cud get room wiv window may book again because location good

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to leave the review.
We are quite a busy hotel and often fully booked, therefore we cannot always upgrade our Guests as we would need to downgrade somebody who booked a room with window. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the front desk team, we take a great pride in a high level of customer service, and furthermore we work very closely with our staff making sure they are highly trained, passionate and professional. Having a look on previous Tripadvisor comments I am sure you will notice how many positive comments we have received on our friendly staff.

We hope you will return for a second try where we will have the possibility to show you our 5 star quality services.

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    929
    388
    125
    89
See reviews for
215
1,084
183
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The room was great value for money as like all hotels we choose we just need a room to get back to after a long day out for a refreshing shower and a good night's sleep. Yes, it is small but we were aware of this before we booked. We had a room that overlooked the road but it is very noisy as there is a hospital nearby and there were lots of ambulances passing by at all hours of the night. We lost some sleep over this but got used to it. We had breakfast at Costa coffee every morning which was located right underneath.Room and bathroom were quite clean. Closely located to many sites by walking and there are two metro stations very close by if you need to use them. 24 hour mini market across the road as well. I would recommend this hotel if you are a budget traveller and need a room just to sleep and bathe. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina392009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments of your stay with us.
I am glad you found our Tune hotel concept so convenient for you; power showers and comfy beds are definitely our key focuses!
Being located in Westminster Bridge road we do get some traffic noise, however on a positive note it is a definite advantage as London's main attractions are a short walk away; also being directly across the street from the Bakerloo line Lambeth North Tube station makes it so easy to experience all that London has to offer.
Good to know you found the morning boost from Costa coffee, for all the breakfast deals our front desk team would be more than happy to advise.

Many thanks for recommending us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

A good value room in a great location (across the road from Lambeth Nrth train station and a 5 min walk to Waterloo). Costa coffee underneath was convenient for breakfast.
Room was compact, but bed high enough to stow suitcase underneath when not needed. Room was very clean. The only downside was our bathroom had a powerful damp/drain smell coming from it which permeated into the room (the door is glass with no seals).
Besides that, all good for the money in London!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinxC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave this review and for rating us as good value for money. It was indeed a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the clean room in such a convenient location and took advantage of the breakfast at Costa which is actually open until 9pm daily offering light meals, snacks or even hot drinks for a good night sleep!
I am however very concerned by your constructive remarks regarding the damp drain smell in the room, thank you for bringing this to our attention, we have taken steps to rectify it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is clean and nice and looks rather new. Cleanness was very important for us so we've got what we'd looked for.

Our room looked very pretty and I liked the view from the window (nothing special but somehow very london-like and sweet).

The location is perfect. 20 seconds to underground station (from which you can easily get access to the city centre and other important places). 10 minutes walking to Big Ben and London Eye. Approx.25 minutes walking to Tate Modern and about 35 minutes to St Paul. We enjoyed strolling around this beautiful area late in the night and it was always a pleasant walk since the hotel is so close to those places of interest.

There is also a 24-hours shop across the road and a strange but alright pub Horse next door (which surprisingly enough serves thai food).

We were told that there was a bigger supermarket 10 minutes walking from the hotel but didn't really need it so had no chance to check it.

The only drawback is that the rooms are really small. And when I say small I mean it. There was a bed in our room and that was pretty much it. There hardly was place for 2 suitcases.

But it didn't really matter. I mean if you are afraid of small spaces - Tune's not your choice. Otherwise I would hardly recommend it! Next time in London I'll stay at Tune.

P.S. And of course price is excellent for such a place. I think if only the rooms were a little bigger the hotel would worth twice the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments of your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that your stay at our hotel was a good one and you found us as excellent value for money!
Our rooms are indeed space-efficient in order to keep the rates competitive and to offer only the best for a good night’s sleep as you experienced yourself.
Many thanks for also noticing and pointing out the high cleanliness, very much appreciated. The housekeeping team is dedicated to provide spotless accommodation as it is one of our key focuses and essential for a quality hotel experience.
In addition, our prime location makes us the perfect place to stay if you want to be in heart of London`s action and for the early nights in you can always find a local cafe or restaurant just around the corner.

Thank you once again and will be looking forward to your next visit to London and back to Tune Hotel Westminster!

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmouthtourists
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived at tune hotel Westminster about 1.30pm and were told we could check in early for £10 (check in time is 3pm) we were told we could leave our bags in the reception are for £2 (are you getting the theme here if you want anything its going to cost you) We paid a very reasonable £85 for our room and had booked a disabled access room. Location was great (although it was pretty rough) with a £5 taxi ride from covent garden and about £9 from west end late at night. We then went on our merry way explaining we would be back later that night. @ approx 9.30pm we get a call to tell us a pipe had burst in our room and we would have to stay in there sister hotel in paddington. I explained that was fine but they would be paying for my taxi back to the hotel to pick up our bags, then to paddington, then back the next day to pick up my car. Then there was the question of compensation, we were swiftly told there would be no compensation so i suggested that the caller spoke to a manager and got back to me. I then called them back after the show we had watched at 11pm to find that all of a sudden they had a room in their hotel but it wasnt disabled access. I agreed to this if they would compensate us for this, we got 50% back in cash when we returned also they had put the tv on given us towels and soap Etc which of course you usually have to pay for. To say the room was compact is not in anyway an exaggeration its tiny approx 7sq m. The room faced a busy road and was very noisey more from people than the traffic and this was on a tuesday so i think the weekend could be worse. Why have i scored the hotel as poor, simply because if i hadnt been persistent and put my foot down we wouldnt have got a thing and wouldve been traipsing around london at 11.30pm. One tip for anyone with a disabled badge is the street over the other side of the road has free parking in the ticket pay areas.

Room Tip: The rooms are tiny you have to live with it im afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exmouthtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Guest Relations Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments.

I was sorry to hear that we didn't mange to offer you the room type booked, we had indeed a maintenance issue and therefore were not able to allocate it, however, at Tune Hotel Paddington we would have been able to provide you with the room type booked. I do apologies for the inconvenience it all caused.

We are the first ones to admit that the room sizes are space-efficient, however, that enables us to cut the room costs to a minimum so that all our guests could enjoy our central location, clean and comfy rooms. Our add-ons concept enables customers to cut even more costs by choosing and paying only for the ones they really need and are going to use.

Once again I apologies for the unfortunate issues, but do hope you would give us a second chance so that we could offer you a full quality stay.

Kind Regards,

Ave Jaanus
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We (wife and me) stayed in the Tune Westminster Hotel in London during October 2012. The Tune Westminster is located convenient since underground station (Lamberth North) is right next to the hotel (only one line - Barerloo) and only 10 minutes walk to the Westminster Bridge and Big Ben as well as London Eye and the Southbank. Bed was excellent very confy, sheets and pillows spotless. At first wee were located on 4th floor facing the main street but it was too noisy thus requested a different room facing the backyard. The staff was very friendly and we moved next day. We purchased an ear plugs and that proved as an excellent idea since the traffic cloud be heavy. Overall I would recommend the stay at the Westminster but only if you are prepared for very small room.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the Westminster Bridge Road are a bit quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank risss333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on Tune Hotel Westminster, it is my pleasure to read you had a good stay with us. Our location is indeed a real plus and after a long and tiring day out and about discovering London, the power shower and comfy bed are key for a good night sleep!
The rooms are compact but cleverly designed to include all the necessities and what we lack in room sizes we make up for in cleanliness, modern and practical rooms, fantastic location and friendly staff members as you experienced yourself.

Thank you for an excellent ear plugs tip and for recommending us, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto alegre
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good bed, good shower,clean, small but value for money.
Excellent location 20seconds away from the underground station. Clean bathroom and sheets. The room was small and difficult to fit 2 suitcases in.
I really recommend!

Room Tip: very good to couple ou alone trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurses, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are also very happy you have chosen us for your stay in London. I would also like to thank you for highlighting some of our key focuses like the brilliant location, the high level of cleanliness and very friendly staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Sadan Gurses
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#452 of 1,069 in London
2,620 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point A Hotel, London Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point A Hotel, London Westminster

Property: Point A Hotel, London Westminster
Address: 118-120 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7RW, England (Formerly Tune Hotel - Westminster)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#355 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Point A Hotel, London Westminster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westminster is London’s historic heart, packed with more landmarks than you can shake a selfie stick at. Stroll along the Southbank and take in some of London’s greatest hits – all a stone’s throw from your Point A Hotel, London Westminster. So bring a bag, plans, places to be. And check in to your always affordable, always reliable Point A Hotel. Sink deep into your Hypnos bed. Help yourself to free WiFi. Get tomorrow-ready in a proper power shower. Then go find your point b. Shoreditch and the whole of London is on your doorstep. Every room is compact, well designed and comes with a super comfy Hypnos bed, en-suite bathrooms with a proper power shower, fast & free WiFi, USB charging point, air conditioning, hairdryer, huge TV with 240 channels and a safe. Blackout curtains ensure you have a good night's sleep. You’ll be well connected, being just 20m Lambeth North Tube Station and 900m from transport hub Waterloo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Point A Hotel, London Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels - Westminster Hotel London
Point A Hotel, London Westminster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing