We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Ranked #202 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, but...”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We upgraded to a suite for an additional 100 pounds/night - 18 ft. high ceilings, luxurious drapes, marble bath, view of front facade and clock tower, but... On our second night, a private party in the restaurant directly below us had a rock band playing so loud that even with the ear plugs supplied in the room, we could not sleep. It went on until after midnight. The hotel offered to move us to another room but at 10:00 at night, with our son already in his pajamas, the prospect of packing up and moving was too much. It seems insane that management would book something like this, knowing as they must have that it would make every room in half the hotel an audio torture chamber. We will certainly never return.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FCinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I am very disappointed to hear you were unhappy with your recent stay. As a 24/7 business we do host a number of events throughout the week but ensure these do not impact on our other guests. I am very sorry to hear, that this was not your experience and would welcome the opportunity to learn more. Should you be open to discussing further, please do contact our Director of Operations on Edward.White@renaissancehotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    889
    356
    148
    84
See reviews for
538
1,455
152
616
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (896)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed here overnight because a) wanted to see the famous restore interiors and b) very convenient location just down from Euston.
Had a meal in the booking office bar - which had a great atmosphere. Hope to sample the Gilbert Scott restaurant on next visit. Hope to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloth-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for your great feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Great to learn you were able to enjoy the Booking Office, which as I am sure was explained, was the original ticket hall for the station. Thanks again for your comments and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I wanted to treat my husband to a night out in our home town and looked at a range of hotels in London before settling on the St Pancras Renaissance. One of the deciding factors was certainly the communications I had with the charming and efficient James of Guest Services. I don't know how much he is paid but it is most certainly not enough. He is a wonderful ambassador for the hotel. At the Renaissance, all the staff were exemplary in their professionalism and level of service. The Chambers club staff were particularly good as they combined good service with good humour and made our stay really enjoyable. The hotel itself is also worth a visit in terms of its historical significance. The spa is clean and relaxing and the rooms filled with little attentions to detail which added to the overall experience. We had a view over the Eurostar terminal and the trains which we loved. A really unusual room with a view. The only downside for us was the lunch at the Gilbert Scott. We went for the cheap and cheerful Sunday lunch at £27 so I was not expecting haute cuisine, but by the time we'd had a glass of Champagne each, the service and cover charges brought the bill up to nearly £100. For what we actually consumed and the very slow service, this was disappointing - but in no way a reflection of the quality to be found in the rest of the hotel. We were only there for a few hours but we came home feeling relaxed and happy. We would definitely return. It would be an ideal pitstop for anyone travelling through London using Eurostar, but it's also a destination in itself.

Room Tip: All the Chambers club rooms are wonderful and overlook the Eurostar trains. Clearly you cannot open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful feedback. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were particularly impressed by the level of service you received during your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to highlight James, who was thrilled to be mentioned and who I was pleased to be able to recognise personally as a result of your comments. We are proud to offer a range of dining options at the hotel, including the Booking Office, Hansom Lounge and The Platform Café. Operated by acclaimed British Chef, Marcus Wareing, The Gilbert Scott regularly receives rave reviews and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience. Should you wish to discuss further, please contact the team on chantellenicholson@marcuswareingrestaurants.com. Great to hear you were able to make the most of the spa during your stay and I do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The building is dramatic and has been majestically renovated.
Due to the age of the buildings, the rooms are not large, but they are comfortable and tastefully set out.
The breakfast is sumptuous and the main areas is busy and buzzy.
The staff are attentive.
The bar is vibrant and appears to attract residents and non residents.
The only downside is an issue which luckily is becoming increasingly rare in hotels now - In this hotel you have to pay for Wifi access.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quarterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for these great comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and were especially impressed by the attentiveness of staff and the Booking Office bar and restaurant. As you say, the space, which is open from 6am until 3am (at weekends) is hugely popular with both guests and visitors. I do hope you were able to enjoy one of our Victorian inspired punches while you were here?! Thanks again for your kind feedback and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful stay at the St. Pancras Renaissance a couple of weeks ago. The hotel is magnificent and the service was first class. Anka and Oana in the Club provided outstanding service for breakfast and at other times- immediately fulfilling our requests and knowing all of our preferences after just the first day. Jeffrey in the bar was terrific- mixing up some fabulous drinks and sharing insights about London. The concierge was very helpful in arranging for theater tickets and hard-to-get football (soccer) tickets.

We very much look forward to our next stay at the St. Pancras Renaissance!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gofor7continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for this fantastic feedback! I am thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed you recent stay with us and felt the service levels were first class throughout. Thank you also for taking the time to highlight Anka, Oana and Jeffrey, who were delighted to be mentioned and I was pleased to be able to recognize them personally as a result of your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed in this wonderful ,historic building for a birthday .It was stunning in every sense .The food was terrific in the Booking Office ,the service was first class and the choice for breakfast was excellent . The room was very spacious with all the facilities for a brilliant stay.
The tour of the hotel which was included as part of the deal was fascinating .We relived the glorious days when the hotel was one of the most important buildings in the city .The guide has such a wealth of knowledge I would even be tempted to repeat it .
The views of St Pancreas ,Kings Cross and the Town Hall created some excellent photographs .
The location is very good within walking distance of theatres ,restaurants and famous landmarks .
I can't wait to revisit .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful feedback. I am delighted to hear you had such a good stay and were especially impressed by the complimentary historic tour. Great to learn you were able to get some good photos during your stay. If you haven’t already, it would be lovely if you could share them on Social Media (follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram on @StPancrasRen). Thanks again for your kind comments and I do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was our first visit to the hotel and we will certainly be staying again. From the moment we approached the hotel to be greeted by the staff we felt looked after.
The check in was faultless (thank you Theresa) and we were pleasantly surprised by the acknowledgement of my wife's birthday.
I inquired about the Grand Staircase whilst being accompanied to our room by Oscar, he willingly volunteered to show us where it was as well as pointing out other features of the hotel.
Found the food to be excellent and the buffet breakfast in the booking office offered splendid choice.
The weekend ended all to soon looking forward to planning our next stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for this fantastic feedback! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent visit and felt thoroughly looked after throughout your stay. Thank you for highlighting Theresa and Oscar, who were both thrilled to be mentioned and I was pleased to be able to recognise them personally. Thanks again for your feedback and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#132 of 1,069 in London
2,446 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#250 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#258 of 1,069 in London
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Property: St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Address: Euston Road, London NW1 2AR, England (Formerly St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in London
#136 Business Hotel in London
#154 Luxury Hotel in London
#195 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as London's most romantic building, the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel is widely recognised as one of city's greatest Victorian landmarks. The 245-room hotel now boasts not only one of the most majestic staircases in Britain, but two bars & restaurants, a spa, a gentleman's grooming salon as well as some of the largest and most beautiful suites in the city. Our 5 star hotel is located at St Pancras International Station and is brimming with a fairytale facade that Sir George Gilbert Scott fashioned for the Midland Grand. Our hotel earns the ability to exceed every expectation while blending Victorian splendor with modern style and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing