We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stay before the Eurostar to Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Ranked #211 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Stay before the Eurostar to Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with a rich heritage. The St. Pancras was threatened with demolition when the Marriott group stepped in and restored and updated the building. What is there now is a gorgeous, historical treat of a hotel.
We were greeted quickly when we arrived in the lobby and were soon on our way to our room. As it turned out, there was a tour starting in about 5 minutes of the hotel that was led by a blue badge guide. This was free of charge and the concierge put my name quickly on the list so I was able to enjoy it with about 10 other people. We were taken all around the hotel, even to parts that were limited to viewing. There are only about 40 rooms of the old part of the hotel that are available to rent, so we were lucky that we could see them, even if we were unable to stay in one. We were taken also into the Royal Suite (impressive) and into another one, named for the architect, that was being renovated where we could see the gilded ceiling and the fabulous wall paper. The tour is only on certain days and times, so make sure and ask about it when booking so you can see this if you're interested in architecture.
As for our room, we were placed in the modern wing of the hotel. It was big, comfortable, with wonderful bedding, excellent amenities. As platinum Marriott rewards guests, we received entry into the Chambers, which is their private club area, and it was lovely. We had tea there in the afternoon and breakfast in the morning. There was no porridge on the buffet but when we asked about getting some, a very nice man brought us some from another restaurant.
They took very good care of us and it was very convenient for the Eurostar the next day. They allowed a late check out too so we didn't have to wait too long in the station.
We highly recommend this hotel and we would love to go back the next time we are in London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alastairdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    752
    299
    120
    69
See reviews for
430
1,172
118
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Please check the photos of the building from the internet. It's an amazing building both from the outside and inside. Lobby and the breakfast hall (booking office) are just perfect. Restoration of the building must be a perfect example to all architects in the world. Rooms are large and feature everything you may expect in a five star hotel. The only thing i didnt like here is the selection of tv channels. I recommend to the management to check the variety of the channels and try to remember why you have a kurdistan tv. Its so strange. Everything else was great.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TErdengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great location, right in the station. Stayed over Xmas time and would stay in again. Bar was nice, although very busy and drinks took a while to get. Breakfast was delicious, had everything you could want.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaystravellingKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in it was prefect.

I rang the hotel to ask some questions about which room would best suited to our needs and I spoke to a very helpful member of staff and his recommendations was spot on.

On arrival a staff member immediately saw I had a case with me and carried it to reception desk while I waited to check in another staff member approached us and asked if we were checking in and he then took our cases gave me a receipt for them and whisked them away. Checking in was easy everything explained regarding key cards etc very efficiently.

On entering our room the first word was WOW ! and this was the case for the rest of our stay. Our bags followed our arrival in the room a few minutes after, the room was spacious, very clean and nicely decorated, extremely comfy pillows and beds, provided a great nights sleep, the bathroom clean bright lots of lovely fluffy towels all very nice.

Check out was again easy but tinged with sadness as we wished we could stay longer!

Beautiful hotel extremely comfortable great location with friendly efficient staff can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetoholiday2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for one night in September whilst visiting friends in London.
The Hotel is 5* with the rooms having superb facilites.
All area's of the Hotel are kept immaculately clean.
The building itself has a lot of History to it which I found very interesting.
The Hotel is ideally located for anyone wishing to travel out of Kings Cross Station, especially the Eurostar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staying at this hotel on business for a week. The regular hotel that I usually stay in is under construction. My assistant says that some of the executives like to stay at this one. So I thought I give it a try.
Arrived at the hotel after a ten hour flight. Exhausted. Ask the reception staff if we can check in earlier, so that we can take a hot shower and get some sleep.
She informed us that the room that we booked is a queen bed. And if we want a king bed room, we had to supplement another $35 a day. And if we need Internet access is $15 a day. We were so tired, and needed Internet to get work done, we signed off on the extra costs. She called house keeping to get our room ready. And told us she will call us on our cell when the room is ready.
We went to a nearby restaurant for a lunch. Mine you, we had soup, salad, pasta, coffee, so it takes a good 45 mins to an hour.
We get back to the reception desk, our room is not ready. We sat at the lobby, for another 15 mins, decided to get some snacks and water at the store. We took a stroll in the shopping mall for another 30 mins. When we get back to the reception desk, the staff would not even acknowledge our presence. No eye contact. No hand signal that says, I will take care of you, just a minute. They proceed to service other customers and gave them keys to their rooms.
I ask another staff for the manager, now that this whole room waiting turned into a 2 hour adventure. Not until than, they noticed that we were noticeably upset and dissatisfied. Found a room in 10 mins. We venture to the elevators to get to our room, the keys failed to work in the elevator, we weren't able to get to our room floor. We venture back to the front desk for assistance.
As a seasoned executive in the service industry, and globe trotting traveller, the front reception staff failed miserably to deliver the first impression of a high end hotel.
The reception staff need training. Eye contact with customers. Set and manage expectations with your customers. Frankly, we would have gone on to do other things, if we knew that house keeping took 2 hours.
Last but not least, understand your customers needs. We mentioned that we were tired multiple times. Staff didn't seem to care. No amount of service recovery would retain your customers, if staff are there just to punch in the info into the computer, execute payments and hand people keys.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Skylermom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely stay here with 3 generations of the family for eldest daughter's graduation at UCL. Rooms ( we had the cheapest) were clean, comfortable and well equipped. Third bed in one was not put in until we asked. Coffee and tea in lounge area is pricey but nice ambience.
The hotel 's restoration is fantastic. Try and see the staircase.
Breakfast buffet was good but not exceptional; service left a lot to be desired. We pre-booked on the offer rate which came through with our booking confirmation( under extras). it was £17.50 each. it was not worth the £32 full price! The staff tried to squeeze 7 adults onto a table for 4; we asked to be moved which was met with ' there may not be a table' to which my husband pointed out that there was one directly behind her.We were given an extra table to join on to ours which was adequate. I know that it can be busy and the hotel want to squeeze in customers, but 'squeeze' was what they tried to do!
On a positive note, the guided tour with a blue badge guide, free to residents, was excellent. my Father is a train buff and travelled from St Pancras as a young boy in wartime. This was one of my reasons for staying here; we weren't disappointed. Guide was extremely knowledgeable and we had access to many hidden rooms. It was an hour and a half so maybe not for children.
I would come and stay again; maybe go elsewhere for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mummybearRuralUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#129 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras
#121 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 4,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#241 of 1,067 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Property: St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Address: Euston Road | St Pancras Chambers, St Pancras Station, London NW1 2AR, England (Formerly St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in London
#136 Business Hotel in London
#159 Luxury Hotel in London
#196 Romantic Hotel in London
#203 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was with great excitement that St Pancras Renaissance Hotel re-opened its doors on 5th May 2011, after an extensive six-year restoration. Widely recognised as one of London's greatest Victorian landmarks the 245-room hotel now boasts not only one of the most majestic staircases in Britain, but two bars & restaurants, a spa, a gentleman's grooming salon as well as some of the largest and most beautiful suites in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing