We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel--great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Ranked #199 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel--great service”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this 5 star hotel. While we did not have a good view from the window of our roo (roof top of St. Pancras train station), the hotel was charming, very clean, great staff and good location. Location let us catch various Tube lines easily as well as the Eurostar to Paris. the concierge was very helpful in booking tours and giving recommendations for restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for view if you can. The train station roof side was quiet though!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPDandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,785
    891
    358
    148
    84
See reviews for
541
1,460
152
617
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I live quite close to London, so see this building frequently. I have marveled at the Victorian architecture of the hotel and the adjacent St Pancras station but before this week had never stayed there until I went to a conference nearby and needed to stay the night in London. The station is the terminal for Eurostar and a once dowdy station has been transformed by its restoration to probably the most beautiful railway station in the world.It is truly a marvel of Victorian design and 21st Century restoration marrying the old and the new.

The hotel was once the Midland Railway Hotel but got rather shabby and was used as offices before being restored by Marriott, but has also been upgraded to a modern hotel with all the amenities housed in the most spectacular Victorian shell. The Bar and breakfast room is the former Booking Hall ( you can still see the title over the doors and the hatches where tickets were once dispensed for journeys to the Midlands and North are now behind the bar in a beautifully restored ticket office. I have never seen so many guests taking photos in a hotel, not of each other, but of the building!

This is a very comfortable hotel. Mine was a well appointed comfortable room with comfortable bed and ultra modern bathroom, fitted to a high standard, and I only had a standard room. Breakfast was excellent and service attentive without being obtrusive, but it was £30 for a full English Breakfast. The stay was rather expensive at around £275 room only , but it was worth it just for the experience of staying there.

Do it, but unless you are loaded stay a short time then go to the Premier Inn round the corner - just as convenient, but then....! :-)

Room Tip: Unless you want to live like a prince, a standard room is just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherrybee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here overnight on the way to and from Bruges as we were travelling by Eurostar and also in and out of Kings Cross so it was convenient and we thought it would be a bit of a treat. I agree with some of the previous reviews that the public areas are wonderful but the rooms were a disappointment. We were staying in a standard room in the new wing both times on the seventh floor so there was no view at all. The rooms were spacious and comfortable but quite bland with a corporate feel but that did not bother us too much as we were only doing overnights. We ate in the Booking Hall restaurant on our first evening. This is a wonderful room and the food was quite good but the service was a bit patchy. However the food at breakfast in the same room was a different matter. We were on a breakfast inclusive deal otherwise I would probably not have eaten there on the second occasion as I felt the quality of the food was very poor for what they were charging. On our return journey we ate out and then decided to have a drink in the bar on our return. Whilst I do not object to a service charge on a meal I do think it is a bit much to add a 12 1/2 per cent service charge to two drinks which involved the waiter walking 6 steps from the bar to our table.
Although it was very convenient for the Eurostar service I would not stay here again as I felt it was overpriced for fairly average rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here in order to get an early Eurostar to Paris. Our spacious room was clean, fresh and had a view over the British Library. The large bed and pillows were marvellous.The bathroom was well supplied including the lovely touch of two soaps.
We had no dealings with house staff but our bed was turned down etc when we returned from an external dinner.
The breakfast the following morning was awful, is it that difficult to cook omlettes?, the breakfast staff seemed also to be in a world of their own and were more happy to talk to each other than to attend to customers.
The hotel has a fantastic location and is beautifully restored. It has almost everything right in respect of the reception and rooms but fails terribly when it comes to catering and respective attendant (breakfast) staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillM02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have been staying at Marriott chain for the past 2 years - I've spent over 150 nights during the period only in Marriott's. It has been a very good experience as I found out that their hotels are above average compared to other chains.

However, I cannot say this regarding the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.

Service is very fake and not up to the standards that you expect from other Marriott chain hotels. Staff does not listen and provides accurate information and somewhat cheats you.

Furthermore, it is extremely over priced. I suggest looking at the other hotels before choosing this one. You would be able to get LOT more for your money. Grovesnor House and JW Grovesnor are far better. Even slightly lower end Marriott Marble Arch and Regent's park you get a lot better service.

Just for an example see the attached photo from a room that a Platinum member gets and imagine what would you get even if you are not Platinum. Apart from its location there is nothing to stay at this hotel for. This is the worst room that i have had for the past year at the Marriott chain and I have not even checked in late at night as i usually do and checked in before 4pm in the afternoon when the hotel is empty.

Good luck if you have made the terrible choice on staying at this particular hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Travelling_1_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a hotel of great highs and disappointing lows. On the high side the public rooms are stunning examples of the wonderful things that can be done though modern renovations. London is famous for keeping the facades of landmarked buildings and creating fabulous interiors. This hotel is no exception and is more clever than most in using exposed brick walls and other raw architectural features to make them look like works of art.

If you are not exhausted or in too much of a hurry after arriving from Paris on the Eurostar, definitely give the common rooms of this hotel a look. They are really great.

As for staying here, I would only do it if you needed to get an early train from St. Pancras station...or if you wanted to spring for one of the renovated rooms in the old part of the hotel. We stayed in the "new" wing and it was less than memorable. Fortunately, I was somewhat prepared as a previous reviewer on Tripadvisor had described these rooms as little better than ones at a Travel Lodge. I wouldn't say it was that bad. It was more like an airport Marriott in Cleveland with a few silk pillows scattered about the utilitarian furniture.

The service was also a mixed experience. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the service was lovely...as was the food. Also, the wife of a friend had access to the club room for frequent Marriott visitors. That was over the top wonderful. We went there for a cup of coffee and a cookie after our dinner. When we found no cookies, one of the staff told us to have a seat and he reappeared shortly thereafter with several fabulous deserts. Evidently we were too late for normal goodies, but he wasn't going to let us suffer. Bravo to him.

I wish I had the same praise for the housekeeping staff. When I returned to my room after four to get ready for dinner it had not been made up. A call to housekeeping did result in a quick clean up, but the cleaner left without giving me any towels. Another call produced these, but I was not impressed with this kind of "service" for a room that cost more than $400 a night. Also, there were numerous times I found the housekeeping staff talking and laughing in the halls and guest elevators during the stay.

In sum, I would give this hotel a pass. Apart from the issues enumerated it is in the middle of nowhere if you want to shop or see the usual tourist sites of London.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadisonSkidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed one night recently, the public areas are terrific and very atmospheric. Our upgraded room was absolutely fine and the bed extremely comfortable,we did think that a trouser press would have been a useful addition to the facilities. The staff were very helpful and friendly and happy to show off the best features of the original building.
Afternoon tea was included in our stay, and although the service was charming we were disappointed by the quality of the food, sandwiches rather thick, scones stodgy and the cakes rather sickly, at £30. 00 a head ( an extra £10.00 for a half glass of champagne) they should be able to do better.
Breakfast however was excellent and couldn't be faulted! Overall an expensive but enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandgillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#130 of 1,069 in London
2,453 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#251 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#253 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Property: St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Address: Euston Road, London NW1 2AR, England (Formerly St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in London
#136 Business Hotel in London
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
#195 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as London's most romantic building, the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel is widely recognised as one of city's greatest Victorian landmarks. The 245-room hotel now boasts not only one of the most majestic staircases in Britain, but two bars & restaurants, a spa, a gentleman's grooming salon as well as some of the largest and most beautiful suites in the city. Our 5 star hotel is located at St Pancras International Station and is brimming with a fairytale facade that Sir George Gilbert Scott fashioned for the Midland Grand. Our hotel earns the ability to exceed every expectation while blending Victorian splendor with modern style and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing