We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Ranked #207 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

And not disappointed! Stayed here on Friday night and was a little bit worried by some of the negative reviews on TA. However, I could not find one bad thing to say about the experience. It was great. An amazing building, great staff and attentive service. The breakfast was great with something for everyone. The one small criticism I would make if pushed....the cooked breakfast buffet Bain-Marie lids were left open which meant that the food on top was cold. This could be easily rectified, as there were enough staff in the dining room to keep an eye on this. Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.
We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,662
    839
    337
    141
    81
See reviews for
502
1,365
148
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend as we were celebrating my wife's 40th birthday. We were upgraded to a "Chambers" room, which was very spacious and well appointed.

My wife had a treatment in the Spa and told me that it was lovely. Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to see the pool as we had a very busy weekend planned.

The bed was very comfortable and the room also had a very large flat screen TV.

The location is excellent for Kings Cross/St Pancras underground station, which is very well linked for all of the sights in Central London.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelExpertSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.
We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night as a wedding anniversary treat, and it could not have been nicer. We booked a barlow room, but as a Marriott Platinum member, were upgraded to a junior suite chambers room. The room itself was not massive, but fantastically appointed and with really high ceilings. It looked out over the station (straight through the olympic rings!), and was pleasantly quiet considering.

The hotel has a butler service for those staying in the Chamber wing, and made quite an effort for us, including a half bottle of champagne in the room on arrival as a gift for our anniversary. It also provides acces to the Chamber club which had a nice selection of food and drinks during the day, and good breakfast in the morning.

Definitely my favourite stay of 2011...

Room Tip: If you can afford to, definitely go for a Chambers room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon_Brit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.
We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. We stayed in a Chambers room, which was fantastic. High ceiling, grandeur with a capital "g" nice bath and shower. One of the best rooms we've stayed in.

The rest of the hotel is an experience everyone should try at least once. Stunning building. Of particular note is the main bar area (not to be confused with the Gilbert Scott bar, which is not nearly as nice - we made the mistake of booking the wrong one for New year's eve!). Try the bar nibbles - excellent. Good cocktails and wines. Top service.

The service is excellent. Noted some negative comments by other reviewers but we found it to be excellent throughout, from the the guy who checked us in to the staff in the bar and the staff in the spa (which is also excellent). Not stuffy at all - just really attentive.

The chambers club facilities are nice. Again, good service.

If there was a 4.5 star option I would have given it that. The only slight detriment was that there was a little noise. The old windows don't cut out street noise. Also, the Gilbert Scott restaurant was very poor. This hotel deserves a much better restaurant. If it wasn't for that, this would be in the top 3 hotels I have every stayed in.

Room Tip: Go for chambers club if you can afford it, go to the bar and try the cocktails & bar snacks but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.
We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from the 30th December and as we booked months in advance we where able to take advantage of a pre-paid rate of £180 (ex. tax) per night.

The building is simply stunning. Coming down Euston Rd. and seeing the clock tower reaching to the sky and eventually seeing entire front of the hotel is wonderful. Arriving into the hotel, we didn't really get the meet and greet some of the other reviews state. We went to the desk and reception kept our luggage aside whilst our room was being prepared. Unfortunatly some light bulbs needed to be replaced so we didn't have access straight away - so, we head in to town.

Returning back, our room still wasn't ready so waited a further 10 minutes. Eventually, we where given our key and the receptionist organised for our luggage to be sent up to the room. However, it took about 1 hour to receive our cases and several phone calls to reception. We did receive an apology on check-out so we didn't let this event ruin our stay.

Our room was located within the newly built area (Barlow rooms). The room didn't have any natural daylight and overlooked the conference/event hall. It was quite a standard room and wasn't the 5 star you would have expected - you could have been in a Hilton or standard Marriott hotel, and you wouldn't have seen any difference. In the room was a book which showed how the hotel was left and how it was restored, but sitting in the newly built rooms we felt a little left out (we should have stayed in one of the Chamber rooms - more expensive though).

We where very interested in the architecture of the hotel so wanted to wonder around, especially the Grand Staircase which seemed to be the highlight of the hotel. Upon reaching the stairs there was a member of staff there who gave the impression of being the bodyguard, so we felt uncomfortable in attempting to look.

In my opinion, the best part of this hotel is the building and how they've restored it but it is not worthy of the 5 star status. Breakfast was about £25 per person and was not much to rave about, we didn't eat at the hotel in the evening so have no review about the food.

Room Tip: If you just want to stay in the hotel, then the Barlow rooms will be fine, but if you want more then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.
We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for a night to catch a morning Eurostar to Brussels.

The hotel and its history was impressive. As it was only for a night, we opted for one of the normal (standard King - I believe it's called the Barlow) rooms as it was not worth our splurge just for a night. It was indeed a splurge but since it's highly convenient as it's literally accessible to the station, we didn't mind it, this time around. (Go through the bar that has a door opened to the station and you're already IN the station! Cool).

The room is average in size but tastefully furnished and makes you feel "expensive" and the bathroom is equally modern. Compared to some of the reviewers who've stayed here, we considered ourselves lucky to have a modern room that's still well kept with no wear and tear signs anywhere. So that's a big plus! Since we're quite fussy about bathrooms, this one received a 5* rating from us. :)

The bed was big, linen was crisp and obviously wonderful to sleep in and being on the 7th floor, our evening was perfect and quiet.

Service was prompt even when there were quite a few people waiting in line to check-in. The check-in staff even went so far as to walk us to the wing to ensure that we got on the elevator just fine and we noticed that they do it for everyone (well, at least for those of us who checked in the same time). Nice touch.

They went so far as to place a large book in our room that was devoted to the restoration project so that you'd be able to better appreciate the work that has been done to the hotel. It does make you want to wander around the hotel more.

If you don't mind splurging a little, stay here, especially if you need to catch early Eurostars.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbraCaBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.
We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel exceeded expectations for our week-long visit to London. We arrived on Boxing Day when all of London was relatively quiet, and yet everyone at the hotel from the doorman to the reception desk manager could not have been more attentive to our needs. The hotel is a feast for the eyes, and our Boxing Night meal in The Gilbert Scott was one of the best during our stay in London. The hotel literally forms the perimeter of the newly renovated St. Pancras hotel, and that feature gives all guests covered access to the train station where there are many cafes and shops at your disposal, as well as to the Underground stop where no fewer than four of the most traveled lines converge. We were worried about being far off the beaten path in the northeast corner of London, but we quickly mastered the subway and found it easy to get around. As far as our room was concerned, we were expecting the worsts based on some the reviews here, but again we were wildly surprised and pleased with the size of the bedroom and bathroom, not to mention how quiet it got at night. I'd gladly refer others to this hotel if asked.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor overlooking the lobby and banquet hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.
We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#243 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Property: St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Address: Euston Road, London NW1 2AR, England (Formerly St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in London
#136 Business Hotel in London
#157 Luxury Hotel in London
#195 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as London's most romantic building, the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel is widely recognised as one of city's greatest Victorian landmarks. The 245-room hotel now boasts not only one of the most majestic staircases in Britain, but two bars & restaurants, a spa, a gentleman's grooming salon as well as some of the largest and most beautiful suites in the city. Our 5 star hotel is located at St Pancras International Station and is brimming with a fairytale facade that Sir George Gilbert Scott fashioned for the Midland Grand. Our hotel earns the ability to exceed every expectation while blending Victorian splendor with modern style and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing