We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of space”
Review of Circus

Circus
Ranked #477 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $95
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Circus is an innovative combination of West End cocktail bar and cabaret restaurant set in vibrant Covent Garden.The restaurant boasts a highly praised Pan Asian dinner menu, created and overseen by the revered chef Andrew Lassetter.The stylish surrealist interior, formulated by iconic British designer Tom Dixon, transports guests into a decadent world of glamourous escapism from the moment they enter. For those looking for a drinks or dinner venue in Covent Garden to escape the mundaneness of the outside world, then Circus is ideal; the cocktails are heavenly and the dinner menu will delight even the most discerning of palates. As evening falls, the venue springs to life and the spectacle begins as diners sip exotic punches and cocktails. West End London is synonymous with theatre and drama, so it is fitting that Circus hosts complementary cabaret style entertainment at centre-stage of the venue. The charming and mind bendingly skillful acts appear in little bursts throughout the night to entertain and delight.After dinner, the adventures continue as the music is turned up and improptu dancing often occurs. With knowledgable cocktail bartenders furnishing guests with cleverly crafted drinks late into the night, diners and drinkers alike can relax for an entire evening, with a seamless transition from bar to dining room to dance-floor.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waste of space”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Despite long standing and sizeable booking they kept us waiting over half an hour and then contrived to knock the equivalent of a bottle of cheap fizz over one of our guests. The response? Would you like a free drink? Money grabbing charlatans.....only for those that dont really care about the totality of the customer experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mkmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CircusTeamLondon, Manager at Circus, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to give your feedback regarding Circus.

I do profusely apologise if you were kept waiting for your table to be ready. Occasionally, especially during busy periods such as Christmas, these things happen under circumstances beyond our control. I would hope that this was dealt with professionally on the night, whether it be via effective communication and / or complimentary drinks by means of apology.

We do take customer service very seriously at Circus. Our aim is to make every guest's visit to Circus an enjoyable experience on every level, including service, food, drinks, entertainment , music and atmosphere. We are happy that we achieve this on an ongoing basis, but constantly aim to approve, so your feedback is much appreciated.

Happy New Year and all the best for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    225
    81
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Office Xmas Party”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I cannot fault our experience at Circus. We went for an office Christmas lunch. They were happy to wait for our entire party before starting service even though someone was late. Having organised the event I was nervous about the quality of food, however it far exceeded our expectations. The sharing starters were superb and more than enough for everyone. The main courses were exquisite and the desserts nicely finished off the meal. The entertainment in between each course was brilliant (I especially enjoyed the fire eater) and the service was second to none. I intend to return as often as I can!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kakaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CircusTeamLondon, Manager at Circus, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello and thanks so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to Circus, and a great time was had by your party.

We are looking forward to seeing you back here again soon!

Please mail me lucy@circus-london.co.uk with your email address if you would like me to add you to our mailing list. We promise not to mail you too much, but we will notify you of amazing offers, discounts and Circus events.

Best wishes for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Office Christmas party. Big success!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Had our office Christmas party here. The food was pretty good. We had a limited set menu so it is hard to judge how things would be during a regular visit. We also had the whole place to ourselves, so can not comment on overcrowding.
That said the whole atmosphere of the place was perfect for the occasion. The staff were polite and efficient. The crazy juxtaposition of restaurant with good food and circus acts are what worked for me. A great concept and well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank atkpjdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CircusTeamLondon, Manager at Circus, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Circus.
We are really happy your team had a great party here at Circus.
You must come back with friends for dinner or drinks!

Please mail me lucy@circus-london.co.uk with your email address if you would like me to add you to our mailing list. We promise not to mail you too much, but we will notify you of amazing offers, discounts and Circus events.

Best wishes for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Roll up, roll up”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Went to Circus for a client party in December 2012. Venue brilliant, food is excellent and the entertainment is a real eye opener. Downside was space, the chair was very small and they sit a lot of people on each table. Also they are very pushy with buying drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthLondonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CircusTeamLondon, Manager at Circus, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello - thanks for your review on TA! We are pleased you had a fabulous night here at Circus.

Thanks very much for your feedback regarding the cramped space at your table. This is something that we have flagged as an issue, and we are now amending the way we seat large groups to guarantee that each customer is comfortable. I do apologise also if you feel that the service was pushy. We generally get great feedback with regards to our staff and the friendly service, so I will take certainly flag up your comments with the management team here.

Aside from these points, we are happy you enjoyed the Circus experience and hope to see you back here soon.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Won't be returning!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Last saturday 9 of us had our xmas night out here. We were shown to our table and the first thing I thought was "we're never going to all fit round the table"! We were literally crammed so close together. 4 of our party were quite big men (not obese!!)....but we were like a tin of sardines. You couldnt eat yr meal properly as the table was so tiny. The meal itself was ok. The entertainment was good though. Nice buzzy atmosphere and we did end up having a good time once we left our table and sat on sofa's in the bar/lounge area. All in all, it was a long way to go for a night we could have had more locally. Cabs, bar bill, meal worked out £100's. Lovely waiters by the way. Wont be going back though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dollyrocker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circus also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing