We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy place, tasty food but very small serving” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wallace & Co - CLOSED

Wallace & Co
Price range: $31 - $31
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Trendy place, tasty food but very small serving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I had swordfish as my main course for lunch. It was tasty but the potion was so small it would have made a satisfactory appetiser course. To satisfy my hunger I went to the high street and bought a Steak pie from a pasties shop bearing same first name as Owner of this restaurant. I may go back there again if the restaurant reviews improved because it does has a trendy and nice atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    32
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were a large group and certainly the meal I had was very tasty and filling. Definitely will be going back there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Totally hit and mis”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I've been for breakfast, lunch and dinner, all of which were a mish mash of terrible to good.

Breakfast - avoid the pancakes. Mine were barely cooked and completely stodgy, barely edible. However, the friend I went with had mushrooms on toast which was better, although OK at best.

Lunch and dinner very much depend what you order. The roasts at the weekend are good, but overpriced, but their pulled pork sandwich is pretty good.

This is somewhere I'd drop into if I just wanted to eat somewhere different and was local, it's definitely not somewhere to go with high expectations of a really enjoyable meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkishRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mean portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have often eaten at Wallace and Co and enjoyed the food immensely. Today I went for the lunchtime special, £8 for a main course and a drink. I had bream with mash. It was very tasty but the portions wouldn't have filled a child. Tiny fish, a scoop of mash and some onion and tomato cooked. I know you can't get much for £8 these days, but one shouldn't leave a restaurant feeling hungry. W & Co take note, it's not a bargain if I have to eat again when I get home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

walked in on a friday night and the place was buzzing. all staff bery attentive; polite and very keen to help.we had the mezze for starters then steaks for mains and both were delicious.will certainly come back and so far the best meal we had in Putney.

Helpful?
Thank onibru s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annabel L, General Manager at Wallace & Co, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We're really glad to hear that you had an enjoyable evening, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Wallace & Co also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing