We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic alternative option for staying in central London”
Review of Fleet River Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fleet River Rooms
Ranked #165 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Northumberland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic alternative option for staying in central London”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great alternative to staying in a hotel or a more conventional guest house and the price makes it even more attractive, especially given that you get your choice of breakfast in the bakery downstairs every morning.

The location is just off Kingsway, a minute from Holborn tube but in a quiet pedestrian-only street, and ideal for walking to Covent Garden, theatreland, Bloomsbury and the British Museum, or even the National Theatre or Tate Modern. The room I had was huge with a full kitchen at one end, complete with cooker, fridge and washer and very thoughtfully provided with teas, coffees, milk, jams etc, so you have the option of self catering (there's a Sainsburys Local and Marks and Spencers within a few minutes walk, and a fruit and veg stall at the end of the passageway.) The bathroom was small, but with a great shower and toiletries, with plenty of towels. The bed was kingsize, and very comfortable, with memory foam mattress I think, and good quality pillows, duvet and linen. In Room 3 there is a table and 3 chairs and a sofa, with wall mounted flat screen TV. A bonus is the free wifi. Room 3 has 2 windows overlooking the passageway, and was quite dark partly due to the scaffolding from the building opposite, so the lighting has to be on all the time - this was from spotlights in a high ceiling, so it might be an idea to improve this with more lamps. A coffee table by the sofa would be useful as well. The heating was fine and the room was toasty warm at all times.

Lucy the owner lives upstairs with her young family and is available to sort out any problems or answer any questions - she was very patient when I didn't take in properly how to get into the building (which is very secure with coded entry) and overall you immediately feel at home, and almost like a local. If you want a conventional 5 star hotel, then this is not for you, but if you want a quirky home- from -home, with thoughtful touches, and with a great bakery downstairs, then don't hesitate.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms if you don't like stairs, front of building for more light, but any room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluespecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
37
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a very stylish B and B beside Holborn underground station. From here it is possible to walk to St Paul's Cathedral, Covent Garden and even Euston Station. The staff at the bakery were very helpful and the breakfast is amazing. Despite being so central it is very quiet at night. There were a few problems with the heating and there were no instructions for the cooker but they did try to solve any problems. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank M0n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Although I did not meet the owners, my guess is that they are not greedy and understand the need for comfortable, stylish and yet sensibly priced accommodation in central London. Full marks to them for their principles . It is a large, well-appointed, quite stylishly furnished (it felt a little like a NYC art deco loft), however the heating leaves a lot to be desired and the bathroom was not very clean despite being tiny and therefore easy to maintain. Very good breakfast, nice cool place and sensational location yet quiet at night. A good address.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuartodetula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed on the recommendation of a friend, who had read about it in the Guardian. It turned out to be a real find. We had a large room with everything we could need - even things like providing plenty of milk, real coffee, tea bags, jam etc - meant we could self cater without hassle. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bakery provided great breakfast, including a huge breakfast for Sunday when the bakery was closed. It's hany for supermarkets, pubs and the tube. The best thing was how quiet the room was, given its central location. I can understand why it is very popular and would have no hesitation in using the rooms again.

Room Tip: It's on two floors so if you have mobility issues, choose a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunmailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel, which has amazing potential that is not quite filled.

On the plus side: front desk / cafe staff get top marks for friendliness and responsiveness, food was fresh and excellent, room is well-appointed with a kitchenette and washing machine, the bed was comfortable, and the location is unbeatable. I also sympathize and admire the principle of, and obvious dedication to, providing quality rooms in central London at affordable prices.

Areas to improve: heating is a problem - it worked sporadically throughout my stay and didn't work at all on my final night, which was cold - and so is the check-out time, given that noon on weekends is the norm, and the front desk's assurance of a later check-out wasn't fed through to the cleaning staff, leaving her standing around outside our door (understandably annoyed) while we rushed to pack up.

All in all, this hotel has significant potential that it comes close to meeting, but it is not quite there yet. I would be happy to return and I think that 5 stars is well within its grasp.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golda135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a gem of a place. More then just hotel accommodation, spacious, some nice design touches and great eatery downstairs. There was a problem with the heating while I was there and they did try to fix it...but - nevertheless it wasn't cold so no problem. All the cafe staff seemed young and hip, A funky place to stay in the middle of the city.

Room Tip: 1st floor seemed fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPaul50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights when attending the Masters Tennis at the Royal Albert Hall; great location for both bus & tube; room is large, with everything you would expect from a much more expensive hotel suite, & there's even a washing machine! Cupboards are well stocked with tea, coffee & condiments, & you can get fresh milk from the bakery every morning. Room is serviced daily, & you get breakfast at the bakery downstairs, except for Sunday - for this a 'breakfast tray' is left in your room/fridge on the Saturday. This 'tray' comprised a loaf of sourdough bread, bottles of orange juice, a dozen eggs, fresh fruit salad, natural yogurt, muesli & probably other things I can't remember - amazing! There are long queues every day for breakfast at the bakery, but they seem to move quite quickly. The only downside for me was the size of helpings - too big, meaning that I had a cooked breakfast on one morning only, the others I had either fruit salad or fruit compote & yogurt - but that's me rather than them! The breakfast is included in the cost of the room, which means it's exceptional value for money. Staf are charming, polite, efficient & helpful cna not recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Stayed in apartment #2 - apartment #1 seemed similar & they are working on having a third apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#252 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Premier Inn London Holborn Hotel
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#17 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleet River Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleet River Rooms

Property: Fleet River Rooms
Address: 71 Lincoln's Inn Fields, London WC2A 3JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above the bakery, our newly refurbished studio apartments have polished wood floors, high ceilings and handsome décor.Each room is furbished with a double bed, sofa, Freeview TV, free WiFi, wardrobe, an en-suite shower room, kitchen area and washing machine.The kitchens are equipped with all you would need to serve up a light supper. Enjoy a bottle of wine from the Fleet Bottle Shop and relax after a hard day's sightseeing.A perfect place to stay for a business trip, to see a show or visiting London with the family. Stay at the Fleet Rooms to enjoy our quiet corner of central London and have breakfast in the bakery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fleet River Rooms Hotel London
Fleet River Rooms London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing