We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great find”
Review of Fleet River Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fleet River Rooms
Ranked #171 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2012

like a little oasis right in the middle of the action but once you close the door quiet peaceful accomodation.Bed firm matress only problem was getting out of it in the morning..
Breakfast was lovely fresh fruit the best scrambled egg Ive tasted I will return to this Little Gem next year If I can get in its going to be very popular when word gets out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had a week stay at Fleet River, the location is excellent, the room is comfortable. The sink in the bathroom is very small, making it quite difficult to use, also the mirror is mounted way too high. The place however is nice and clean and the staff friendly, Breakfast is quite nice especially the coffee. Wish the breakfast menu is more varied, especially since we were staying for a week!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lotuscharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just returned from a week in London staying at the Fleet River Rooms. The location is wonderful, the apartment is clean and secure and the breakfast is delicious. All the staff were lovely to deal with and Lucy, the owner, was particularly great to deal with as she went out of her way to answer all our questions and help make our stay easy and enjoyable. There was lots of room even though we used the pull out couch bed and the rain forest-type shower was great. I did not give full marks for sleep quality only because there was lots of construction going on in the area but I imagine this will calm down some after the olympics and it had nothing to do with the room itself. In a city like London, this place is a great find and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haligirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

huge plate of scrambled eggs, s/w delicious sourdough - a pleasure to find this as not many London cafes do decent bread. Bacon was soft rather than crispy salty and pleasant flavour.
V uncomfortable on a high stool. Did not realise i could have sat at a more comfy table in a through room. Busy and impersonal service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank cathc440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is our new favourite place to stay in London, the only downside being that it has become so popular that it's really difficult to find a room unless you book far in advance. We've stayed here twice now and look forward to going back again. I agree with everything other reviewers have written about the facilities and the friendly booking experience, I'd just like to add that finding a clean, comfortable, conveniently located place at these rates is really a great deal, even more so with a fantastic breakfast thrown in. Don't miss the brownies!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aruna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Having tried a couple of times to stay in the Fleet River Bakery rooms my husband and I finally managed to get a booking in December 2011 and we weren't disappointed! We loved everything about this great place.
The room was spacious, light and wonderfully appointed, though I would agree with previous reviewers who said the mirrors were too high for most women to be able to use! However that is a small item and one which is easily addressed.
Breakfast downstairs in the cafe was wonderful, with great staff who on the second day remembered our order and our names!Nice touch!
Lucy ( the owner ) was always prompt in her replies, courteous at all times even finding and recommending a hairdresser nearby,Lucy is a pleasure to deal with.
I highly recommend this property, though like so many other reviewers I am loath to go public on this one as it will become so popular it wont be available to ME !

Room Tip: Book well in advance as it gets booked out quite a way in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dublinlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The owner of Fleet River Bakery (Lucy) also runs the B&B above the bakery. She was absolutely wonderful to deal with and answered my numerous questions promptly. Our bed was the most comfortable of the three places that we stayed in during our vacation. The enormous room had a couch, table and high stools, refrigerator, microwave, television, and even a washer/drier. Breakfast was in the bakery downstairs where we ordered whatever we wanted from the menu. I had scrambled eggs, toast, sausage, and apple/pear juice. My husband enjoyed his fruit with yogurt and his mushroom sandwich. Everything was very good. We also tried some of their pastries. Their chocolate croissants were very good, but their brownies are outstanding! Be sure to get one if you go there. Our last morning required us to leave very early in the morning. Lucy asked what we would like for take away and had everything nicely boxed for us (and had put the juices in the refrigerator.) We enjoyed eating our breakfast on the way to the airport.
There is a problem if you happen to be short. My six foot husband could barely reach the rod in the closet and every mirror was too high for me to use. Lucy might want to consider buying a step stool - probably an easier solution than putting up new mirrors or lowering the rod in the closet. There were two medicine type cabinets in the bathroom. My husband was able to use the "shorter" one over the sink. But, the one over the toilet had obviously been placed there for Hagrid from Harry Potter because you'd have to be at least 8 feet tall to be able use it........not kidding!!!
Those problem should be easy enough for Lucy and her husband to fix. They are a lovely couple and I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for the room with the king size bed. (actually more like an American Queen size)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,077 in London
1,692 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#20 of 572 in London
584 reviews
Castletown House
#46 of 928 in London
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleet River Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleet River Rooms

Address: 71 Lincoln's Inn Fields, London WC2A 3JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $84 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above the bakery, our newly refurbished studio apartments have polished wood floors, high ceilings and handsome décor.Each room is furbished with a double bed, sofa, Freeview TV, free WiFi, wardrobe, an en-suite shower room, kitchen area and washing machine.The kitchens are equipped with all you would need to serve up a light supper. Enjoy a bottle of wine from the Fleet Bottle Shop and relax after a hard day's sightseeing.A perfect place to stay for a business trip, to see a show or visiting London with the family. Stay at the Fleet Rooms to enjoy our quiet corner of central London and have breakfast in the bakery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fleet River Rooms Hotel London
Fleet River Rooms London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing