We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, strange service”
Review of Soho Joe - CLOSED

Soho Joe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Soho Joe is the product of a husband and wife team who both have more than twenty years experience in the catering industry. Open from early morning until late at night, Soho joe is an exciting new venture situated in the buzzing heart of Soho, serving a range of food and drinks at extremely affordable prices. All food is prepared daily on site so whether it be for a coffee made by one of their professionally trained barristas or a pizza made by one of their award winning pizzaiolos.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good food, strange service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went to Soho Joe on the evening when we were turned down by another restaurant as we didn’t have reservation. The restaurant was empty and quiet. We were asked to give our order before sitting down (which is strange) and pay immediately by cash. It was weird that although there were enough waiters, customers were asked to help themselves for the order and no credit card was accepted.

Despite of these cons, the atmosphere was quite comfy with candle lights. We had lasagna and pizza. Both were tasty but not the best ones we have ever had. The prices were affordable also. It could be better place if the service was improved.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happilyeverafter0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    290
    88
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza with a buzzing atmosphere...”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stopped here for pizza and booked a table for 2 in the evening. Nice cosy place with a buzzing friendly atmosphere. Great value food with excellent quality pizza and quick service. Would make a great leaving doo/birthday venue. Will visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Canteen cooking but good - don't expect great service”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

After all the hype of twitter etc I decided to give it a go one evening with a mate. Soho Joe is just average. Yes, it looks great with its pavement seating and open pizza kitchen. But inside is distinctly canteen eating.

The 'any pizza for £X' offer will draw you in, and fill you up. The fresh salads on the bar will tempt you but they aren't covered - which is interesting in the summer and the flies.

Costs are kept low by ordering your self, cash only and cramming lots of people together. They also seem to have the idea of - 'get them in - get their money and get them out again'. I heard one table being asked to leave a restaurant !!

Being too close together tables, (£cheap pizzas + central London, you do the math) and the fact that you must order and pay at the counter make for an unimpressive experience for me.

Fine for lunch, but think before dinner - great for quick bite to eat but not for an evening meal.

Some of the staff could be a bit friendlier too. I appreciate in Soho you are always going to be busy but getting people to come back after all the 'twitter hype' goes away is when you will see how good this place is.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leetaylor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Worst service ever!!! I have never been treated like that. We arrived with my friend at the restaurant yesterday evening (monday) at around 7 pm and were seated by this really rude and arrogant hostess. 5 minutes after she seated us she asked us to leave because a family had arrived. She added "maybe come back at 9pm if there are tables available" and did not even say sorry! While I was telling her that I had come here several times and was mad to be treated that way, she completely ignored me and smiled at the family showing them the way to OUR table. One thing for sure, I will never come back to this place where you are treated so badly. Never seen a hostess that rude.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Marjoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value in Soho”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great place for a quick bite to eat in Soho, very reasonably priced wine and food and attentive staff. Only downside was the cheese on the pizza wasn't great quality, it seemed generic processed mozzarella.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvanTravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soho Joe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing