We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool and fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Soho Joe - CLOSED

Soho Joe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Soho Joe is the product of a husband and wife team who both have more than twenty years experience in the catering industry. Open from early morning until late at night, Soho joe is an exciting new venture situated in the buzzing heart of Soho, serving a range of food and drinks at extremely affordable prices. All food is prepared daily on site so whether it be for a coffee made by one of their professionally trained barristas or a pizza made by one of their award winning pizzaiolos.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cool and fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great little pizza and burger place just off the beaten path in Soho. Decent food, cheap as chips and chilled atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank RosscoPColtraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    290
    88
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worst burger I've ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Came here for lunch for their £5.00 burger and fries special on Wednesdays. I got take-away no longer than two minutes later I was handed my lunch. Well it takes longer than two minutes to cook a hamburger patty and the result was a pink and cold hamburger. The outside of it was warm at best but after one bite into the middle it was apparent that it hadn't heated through. Not only can this make you sick but it's such a rookie mistake! They were clearly just trying to push out the orders asap without any concern for quality. I won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Punchy_but_accurate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loud and over-priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although as a Londoner you come to be expect to be ripped off to some degree, Soho Joe's have taken it to a new level. Your £3.50 bottle of beer will only be 284ml, not the 330ml you would expect. So it's really £4.06, and although that price is not unprecedented, the under-handed approach was not a good start. There is no draught beer. Burgers were dry and full of bits of bone which made me wonder what was in them. Mayonnaise tasted of nothing. The atmosphere was vibrant, but tables are packed so closely that overrall noise level is far too high, so that you end up shouting at your companions. Decor is slapdash and not in a stylish way, with the stairs occupied by unopened parcels and unused steel cabinets as though they had run out of storage space. I wish we'd gone elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value, good food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went for an early meal for 15 of us and were very pleased with our choice. Arriving before 6pm we took advantage of the jugs of Pims for £10 each whislt everyone gathered. A long table was reserved for us. We were not hurried as birthday presents were opened but staff were on hand to take our orders when we were ready. Shared garlic breads and some good mixed salads were just what we wanted, followed by excellent thin crust pizzas. We were too full for puddings - except for the birthday boy & girl who each enjoyed the free chocolate puddings presented to them with candle and suitable attention. Everyone was also given a delicious lemoncello on the house. The downsides - I would have prefered not to be on high stools (only our big table was high) and there were warnings to keep an eye on your bag at all times. Overall a great place to eat at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulandFloraBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Wonderful friendly service, great value, and truly unbelievable pizza. The atmosphere was great and I am most DEFINITELY going to visit again soon!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soho Joe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing