We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar and restaurant - next time will stay over!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel London
Ranked #20 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great bar and restaurant - next time will stay over!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Quick visit to the Corinthia, starting with drinks in the Northall Bar. Lovely atmosphere, attentive yet unobtrusive staff and great house champagne!
Then on to Massimo's - modern Italian. Again, excellent service, this time coupled with delicious and imaginative but unfussy food.

Worth saving up for an overnight stay next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for posting a great review of your dining experience at Corinthia Hotel London. The Northall is a great bar to start the evening, especially as our house Champagne is Laurent-Perrier. Then onto Massimo Restaurant & Oyster Bar for dinner is a real treat, with modern Italian cooking, you had the best of both worlds. We cannot wait to welcome you as a guest to stay in Corinthia London, when you will have the opportunity to experience many of the other excellent facilities the hotel has to offer.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    207
    52
    33
    20
See reviews for
398
974
103
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was my second stay here. First time was with my daughter for a girls' weekend and this time was a Friday night stay with my husband.

I would love to have given this hotel five stars as it is a wonderful place to stay but a couple of things still let it down.

I checked in before my husband on Friday afternoon and was given an upgrade to an Executive room which was stunning. The rooms here are precisely what you would expect from a luxury hotel. The bedroom was beautifully appointed and the bathroom impressively luxurious.

Both my husband and I had Spa appointments on Friday afternoon. I had a facial and my husband had a massage. This Spa is beautiful and continues to be my favourite world wide. We had booked dinner outside the hotel but decided to enjoy a cocktail in the Northall Bar before we left.

On the plus side the cocktails were delicious and my husband (extremely knowledgeable on the cocktail front) said that his Lychee and Rose Martini was possibly the best he had ever tasted, better even than the martinis at Dukes Hotel which is high praise indeed. Unfortunately having been seated and our order taken we then had to wait ten minutes and tell the barman three times that we had already placed our order - this is not the level of service you would expect in a hotel of this standard.

The following morning after an excellent night's sleep we went to the Northall for breakfast. We were seated promptly and asked if we wanted the A la Carte menus for breakfast. We asked if we could have a look at these. We then asked for the menus on three separate occasions before receiving them. Having finally received them we waited another 15 minutes trying to catch someone's eye to order. In the end, not wanting to waste our morning, we gave up and helped ourselves to the buffet breakfast. This was delicious but we wanted the opportunity to order the A la Carte menu and the service was chaotic. Again not what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. The staff seemed flustered and unable to cope with the breakfast rush.

On a more positive note we were able to have a late check out with no problems and our car was brought promptly from the garage on request.

This hotel is in a wonderful location and the accommodation is superb. We will definitely stay again because of this and the beautiful Spa but as a five star hotel it needs to work on its' service issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaygiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We are very pleased that we were able to upgrade you to one of our Executive Rooms, and that you enjoyed staying in one of our beautifully-appointed luxurious rooms. We are also delighted you experienced many of the excellent facilities the hotel has to offer, especially the treatments in our award-winning ESPA Life at Corinthia spa, and sample the cocktails in The Northall Bar, the Lychee Rose Martini sounds delicious, and most pleased to read your husband's kind feedback. We are however deeply disappointed that you experienced a number of service issues in The Northall, both of which fall well below our service standards. Please accept our sincere apologies that in this instance we failed to exceed your expectations, and be assured your review has been forwarded to the Food & Beverage Director, to be used as an opportunity for training and improvement. We very much hope that this will not detract you from future visits, as we very much look forward to welcoming you, your husband, and daughter on many more occasions to come.

Kind regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Booked fo 2 nights in a de luxe room last week. Selected hotel on basis of good reviews and proximity to Royal Festival hall during tube strike.
We were a bit disappointed in the size of the room - we thought it would be larger but the bathroom was big but the room and bathroom were nicely appointed in high quality furniture /fittings. However we had a string of problems with the lighting, first the bathroom lights would not switch off and after the technician had fixed those we found it had upset something else because when we went to bed the bedroom lights would not switch off. A technician was sent again but to put the bedroom lights off he had to disable the bathroom lights completely - a bit of a fiasco.
The following morning on the way to breakfast (which was excellent) I left a note for the Duty Manger detailing the problems , when we went back to the room after breakfast the Duty Manager (Mr Arbona) had already responded. He offered us an immediate move to a suite which he took us to within 5 minutes. When we returned to the suite after lunch there was champagne , chocolates and fruit waiting for us.
So I have given the Corinthia 5 out of 5 despite the lighting problems because of Mr Arbonas swift response as soon as he was made aware of the problem.
I can also say that we found all the staff extremely helpful and friendly - especially the doormen.The public areas of the hotel especially the lounge and indoor garden were both comfortable and elegant.

Room Tip: I dont recommend the first floor inward facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We are very disappointed that in this instance we fell below our usual exemplary service standards, but delighted we were able to rescue the situation and provide alternative and upgraded accommodation. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay, and that this will not detract from any future stays, especially as the team at Corinthia London are very much looking forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London.

Kind regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

really great stay. loved the service, the location, the gym/spa, ate at the informal restaurant and loved my room. I chose the hotel because it was so convenient for my needs, was a great surprise... decor is a great balance btwn traditional and modern. very comfortable. also loved my bathroom. very long tubs! very pleasant stay and i will for sure go back on my next business trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citymouse225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your business stay at Corinthia Hotel London. The hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering many dedicated facilities to make the stay even more comfortable, especially the pre-bookable flexible check-in/check-out policy, the complimentary and fastest 1Gb Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, a Business Centre with meeting rooms, a twenty-four hour state of the art gym, and in-room amenities, as well as being adjacent to a central transport hub for quick and easy access around the city. We are delighted that you managed to experience so many of the excellent facilities the hotel has to offer, especially the award-winning ESPA Life spa, and the international restaurants serving seasonally sourced food, and world-wide wine lists. The hotel was designed by GA Designs, who have cleverly incorporated the best of the original features with modern fixtures and fittings to produce a hotel fit for the twenty-first century traveller. The team at Corinthia Hotel are very much looking forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next trip to London, whether it is for business or pleasure.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with family during the Easter weekend. I booked the family offer which meant two rooms for the price of one, although the rate for the first one was about what one would pay in most other 5* hotels for two rooms! The rate did however include a free bottle of champagne and full breakfast for two adults and two children. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were quiet which for such a central location is very remarkable. Service everywhere in the hotel was exceptional. Breakfast buffet but also a la carte was truly exceptional in terms of quality and freshness. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant on Saturday evening and the food was excellent. We had our Easter lunch in the hotel restaurant - superb. The service is excellent throughout the hotel. This hotel cannot be faulted. My only wish is for their rates to be lower so that we can afford to take more short breaks at the Corinthia.

Room Tip: Choose randomly and fear not. It's all above the average standard of rooms in most other 5* hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkWorldtravellerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We love welcoming families, and have introduced many facilities to make their stay even more comfortable. We have increased the number of inter-connecting and twin-bedded rooms, children get special welcome gifts to play with during their stay, and take home with them as a memento, there is little person amenities in the rooms, such as dressing gowns, slippers, and toiletries, as well as turn-down treats, and dedicated pool times. The hotel is also ideal for family sight-seeing trips with many of London's must-see sights within walking distance. The hotel at Easter is also a rather special time to stay, with an Easter tree, an egg hunt, themed Afternoon Tea, and special Sunday brunch. We are delighted you managed to enjoy so many of the excellent facilities within the hotel, and experience the international restaurants serving the best of British seasonally-sourced food. Despite being in the heart of London the hotel is exceptionally quiet, situated away from the hustle and bustle of the main streets. Please sign up for our email offers via the website, and take advantage of the many promotions, so that we may have the opportunity to welcome you and your family to Corinthia London on many more occasions to come.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Wonderfully located and lavishly decorated, I'm not new to this hotel but it'd be unfair not to mention for those choosing the first stay. Location and the building finishes are second to none. I'd dare say for the size, the best 5* hotel in London.

Really lovely pleasant staff across all outlets - and we did use them all, quite a bit! Superbly appointed bedrooms and cleverly executed bathrooms, all you'd expect from this market. Some wonderful little touches, from fantastic bar service through bespoke amenities.

So, why 4 out of 5? Little things. Only little but, to be honest, in this category (and let's be frank, at the prices charged), they should be none...
Toiletries - odd selection. If ESPA doesn't do dedicated bath salts, source elsewhere. If shower gel doubles up as bubble bath, declare on package (although two in one always a bit budget-y). Not great having a wonderful bath and having to use shower gel... Or no comb / toothbrush. I know they're flimsy. And not environmentally friendly. But it's just kind of expected at this level without having to request them (particularly for us numpties who think we packed properly only to discover these basics missing!)... I didn't (request any - I'm sure if I did they'd be brought up), but would have been nice to have found them in room...
Room service breakfast coffee: if a guest orders cappuccino / latte, is it too much to ask for a proper barista coffee rather than awful machine stuff? I know there are Nespresso machines in rooms but it was not what we ordered. The whole RS breakfast was in that tone actually. Coffee influenced or not. Scrambled eggs not great, bacon sandwich very dry... I know it's the hardest meal to get right and there'll always be little quirks every guest sees / wants differently, but worth a shot, Corinthia - as otherwise it'd be a straight 5 out of 5!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TanjaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We agree with you, the location is ideal for both the business and leisure traveller, adjacent to a central transport hub, many of London's must-see sights on the doorstep, and over thirty West End theatres and opera houses within a mile radius, as well as international shopping destinations just a short journey away. The building was originally a grand hotel which has been beautifully restored by GA Design, who have cleverly incorporated the best of the original features with modern technology to produce a hotel that meets the needs of the twenty-first century traveller. We very much appreciate your kind compliments regarding the team, who pride themselves on exceeding every guest's expectations. Thank you for your feedback regarding the issues in your room, to clarify in every bathroom there is ESPA Life bath salts on the bath tub, and shower gel in the showers, and a comb by the sink, whereas toothbrushes are available by request. We are disappointed that in this instance your in-room dining experience failed to live up to our normal exemplary standards, and hope this did not mar your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you on your return visit, when we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in Corinthia Hotel London.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My 6 year old daughter and I just returned from a 6 night stay at the Corinthia in London. This is my second visit to London and it was definitely more enjoyable than the first. Even though my first trip to London was good, I owe part of my great second visit to the Corinthia. The staff truly looks after EVERY single detail. Their concierge is world class as well. You will definitely be taken care of. I have traveled extensively, and I think this hotel may out rate any of the Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton hotels I have stayed at.

In addition to the great service, the hotel is located 2 minutes away from the Embankment Underground station. Ideal if you want to get out to see the city. Additionally, you are a short walk from Trafalgar Square, the London Eye and Covent Garden/Leicester Square (10 mins).

I appreciate the fact that the staff took the time to interact with my daughter and ensure she was comfortable and well cared for during her stay. We visited during her spring break from school. She had to return to school today. On the car ride to school she actually told me that she wished she was still in London at "the hotel." This coming from a kid who absolutely loves school.

Thank you Corinthia for an amazing experience. We are already looking to come back to your amazing city and equally amazing property at the end of summer. Keep room 103 open for us!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a charming review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We love welcoming families to the hotel, and offer an array of complimentary facilities to make their stay more comfortable, including welcoming gifts, in-room amenities such as Burt's Bee's toiletries, children's dressing-gowns and slippers, dedicated pool times, and children's menus in the restaurants. The hotel is also ideally located for the family leisure trip with many of London's must-do activities on the doorstep, including the London Eye and Aquarium, cruise boats down the River Thames to Greenwich, and many West End theatres showing great children's shows such as Matilda and Charlie & the Chocolate Factory. However we are always most pleased to read great feedback regarding the team, we are delighted you appreciated the attention to detail and exemplary service, and we all look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back to Corinthia Hotel on your next visit to London.

Kind regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#93 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,408 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#15 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Property: Corinthia Hotel London
Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#9 Spa Hotel in London
#20 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing