We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone should visit this hotel at least once!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel London
Ranked #16 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everyone should visit this hotel at least once!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at this gorgeous hotel recently with work. The hotel is in a fantastic central location and very easily accessible.

The room was gorgeous, I have been travelling for over 10 years and this was one of the most beautiful rooms I've stayed in. I wish I'd have had more time in there to enjoy it. Because the building is very old the rooms are large, which is rare for London properties.

We dined in the restuarant and the food was fantastic, from starter to desert and the handmade chocolates we were given were a lovely touch.

The bar is nice and has a good atmosphere, quite often hotel bars can be stuffy and formal but this felt warm and appealing.

The breakfast was either a buffet or you could order specific dishes, we opted for the breakfast buffet which was lovely with all the usual options, (bacon, sausage, beans etc)

The public areas are stunning and luxurious, there is a lovely courtyard with has outdoor fire places and would be very cosy in the evening.

We did not visit the spa due to time constraints but the range of treatments are so wide.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and I am planning on returning as soon as I can!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyM547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we are really pleased that your enjoyed your time with us and had the opportunity to experience so many of the fabulous facilities the hotel has to offer. The location of the hotel is ideal for both the business and leisure traveller, with immediate proximity to a central transport hub for access around the city, within walking distance of many of the great sights of London, and over thirty West End theatres and opera house within a mile radius, plus many of the rooms have great views over the River Thames and the city’s skyline. Our rooms were designed by GA Capital, who have retained the original grandeur of the hotel, combined them with modern facilities to meet the needs of the twenty-first century traveller, and dressed them with only the finest quality linens. The extensive buffet breakfast in The Northall is a great start to the day, the restaurant then offers the best of British seasonal sustainably sourced fare for lunch and dinner, with pre- or post-dinner drinks in Bassoon is an even better way to end it. The stunning Lobby Lounge with the iconic Bacarrat crystal chandelier and adjacent Courtyard with open fires is both welcoming and very impressive. Your recommendation is very much appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you once more, when you can have the opportunity to enjoy the ESPA Life at Corinthia spa and experience some of the many and varied treatments on offer.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,143
    214
    52
    33
    20
See reviews for
416
1,001
106
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at Corinthia for 3 nights from 23 to 26 June. What should i say abouth this hotel ? Firstly is a very good and beautiful room, with a tv in a bath tub while we are mostly away, our kid have fun experienced it 1 time and really happy. We have been given complimentary mineral water, lollypop for 2 nights and chocolate for 1 night. The location is also good near Trafalgar Square, London Eye and Big ben. The nearest convenience store is about 5 minutes walk in the Strand or Embankment. Embankment station is the closest to experience most of London. The level of service is very good as we would expect a 5 star hotel. They arrange a luggage transfer from my previous stay and delivery of 1 of my package to Indonesia. At the last day we have a nice afternoon tea at the lounge, and the food and drink is splendid with a fair price. Will stay here again on the next trip and maybe even try that nice spa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your very charming review of your stay with us at Corinthia Hotel London. It sounds like you and your family had a most enjoyable visit and were able to experience many of London’s iconic sights, which are within walking distance of the hotel, or easily accessible from the adjacent transport hub. The hotel is fabulous for families, with larger than average rooms, children’s amenities and even their own spa times and children’s menus in The Northall and Massimo Restaurant. We are really pleased you had the time to experience our Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Lounge, under the one thousand and one Bacarrat crystal chandelier, and look forward to welcoming you all on your next visit when you can enjoy the luxury of ESPA Life at Corinthia spa.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suntan01
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I could not wait to return to this hotel after having such an amazing time on our first visit.

Just like before the service we received from every member of staff, especially the reception team was excellent.

But.... not everything was perfect ....

Our room was dark and at the rear of the hotel, our luggage got lost on route to the room had to wait over 45 mins for it to arrive, evening dinner in the Northall restaurant was a massive disappointed. The spa area which had the wow factor on our first visit, looked so untidy with wet towels left on the chairs and floor areas. Housekeeping needs to improve we walked past the same half eaten cake in the corridor outside a room twice in 5 hours!

Still a very good hotel but competition is high in London and on this occasion I didn't feel we got value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the inner courtyard - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suntan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we appreciate all of your comments. We very much enjoy welcoming returning guests and we are really pleased that we could exceed your expectations for our service standards. We are however genuinely disappointed to read that in some areas our service standards fell below your expectations and our Craftsmanship of Care policy. I assure you that all of your feedback has been forwarded to the Executive Management team, who have addressed each point with the team. Further to your recent email correspondence with our Hotel Manager please do not hesitate to contact Renaud Gregoire or myself directly, in order that we can address your concerns personally and restore your faith in Corinthia Hotel London, and we may once again welcome you as a returning guest.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is was our third visit to the Corinthia Hotel in London and fifth stay at a Corinthia Hotel. The one thing you can always be sure of with Corinthia is a genuine and warm welcome.

The Hotel is located just off the Thames embankment and is a five minute walk along Northumberland Avenue to Trafalgar Square. Your are cordially welcome by the immaculate and top hatted door man and ushered in to the truly stunning lobby. Reception Is always manned by at least three staff and if they are occupied you wont wait long before another staff member appears to check you in. Check is usually efficient and friendly and the receptionist will escort you to your room and offer you a tour of the hotel in the process. On this occasion we were slightly early so the room was not quite ready. We were shown to the Lobby Lounge and offered a drink. The lounge is an oasis of calm and you will be well looked after. We enjoyed a Latte and Americano and watched the world go by. After about 20 minutes the receptionist return along with the Guest Relations Manager who welcomed us back to the hotel. We were then told the coffees were complimentary and that our room was ready.

We were shown to our room which was on the fourth floor. We had been upgraded to a Trafalgar Suite which took us some what by surprise. Now, the executive rooms are stunning and beautifully appointed and I can sure you the Suites are even more so. The suite comprised a Large Sitting Room, hallway, guest bathroom, numerous closets, a vast bedroom and equally large bathroom. The room was beautifully decorated and incredibly comfortable. Despite the luxurious appointments of the room you still feel comfortable, relaxed and dare I say it, at home in the room. I can thoroughly recommend the tropical rain shower as well. The room included two minibars, three televisions (Bedroom, Lounge and Bathroom) and a Nespresso Coffee Machine. Shortly after our arrival a Porter delivered complementary wine, chocolates, fresh fruit and a hand written note from the General Manager.

We decided to visit the Northall Bar in the evening for a cocktail and maybe a bite to eat. The Northall Bar was very quiet and we felt that it lacked atmosphere although I would stress it's difficult to create atmosphere with only three people in the bar. The Northall Bar was located in a beautifully decorated high ceilinged room and I can imagine that when its busy the atmosphere is probably fantastic. We were welcomed and served promptly and we enjoyed a cocktail from the extensive menu. We decided not eat in here or go through to the Northall Restaurant itself. Instead we returned to the Lobby Lounge were we enjoyed numerous glasses of wine and a bite to eat. For us the Lobby Lounge has much more atmosphere and we enjoyed a very comfortable few hours here before eventually making our way to our room at about midnight. Whilst we had been out our room had been serviced and the bed turned down.

The following morning breakfast and newspaper were delivered promptly at the time requested. The cooked breakfast was hot and tasty and accompanied with a large pot of coffee. After we finished the trolley was collected almost immediately.

This hotel is a worthy edition to the Corinthia collection and a clear brand leader. Its elegance and quality is understated and it does not feel the need to ram it's status down your throat. It has no need to either. It far exceeds many other 5 star hotels and does so with the same calm. friendly and attentive service that you come to expect from Corinthia. If you are looking for somewhere special to stay then I would not hesitate to recommend it. It is worth every penny but I warn you.... you may well find yourself hooked and making many return visits. For us its three so far and we certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, it certainly sounds like you were extremely well looked after and your stay was made very special by the Corinthia London team. Your review highlights all that is best about the hotel, and all that we are most proud of, especially the attention to detail, that the team will always go the extra mile to exceed all of our guest’s expectations and our Craftsmanship of Care policy and training. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and to be upgraded to a Trafalgar Suite, with the extra facilities and of course the view to Nelson’s column in Trafalgar Square makes your visit even more memorable. We are really pleased you could enjoy many of the facilities the hotel has to offer and in such stunning surroundings, especially the grandeur of The Northall Bar and Restaurant and dining under the iconic one thousand and one Bacarrat crystal chandelier in The Lobby Lounge. We really appreciate your compliments and recommendations, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back as one of our regular guests to your home from home.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose the Corinthia for our stay because of the excellent reviews and because of its proximity to theatres we were attending and the restaurants we like. For us the location could not have been better; we didn’t take a taxi or ride the tube for the duration of our stay – everything was within walking distance. The hotel is attractive with staff we found to be both pleasant, helpful and very well trained. We did not use the services of the concierge having made our arrangements prior to arrival but everyone else seemed both eager and efficient. Breakfast service was very good and always done with a smile. We were on the third floor in an executive king with plenty of space and a great walk in closet which really gets the clutter out of the bedroom. The bed was most comfortable with good linens and, for once in a hotel, quite good pillows. The bathroom was (almost ) perfect. The rain shower was the best we have come across and provided toiletries were most pleasant. Why almost perfect? The hair dryer situation; this must have been designed by a man. As with many European hotels there is no ability to use a hairdryer in the bathroom. At the Corinthia an excellent hairdryer is stored in the walk in closet – but you can’t use the hairdryer in there because the plugs don’t match. So into the bedroom, where the only mirror is either a small vanity mirror which you can place on the table (too small for hair drying, gentlemen) or there is, in these rooms, a larger mirror behind shelves which allows you to dry your hair in not very good light while banging your knees on the lower shelf. The piece of furniture used for the television could be changed out for something that houses a small vanity; there is space. This is a small complaint for all else was most enjoyable and we will certainly use the Corinthia again on our next theatre trip.

Room Tip: The executive kings that open on to an enclosed area have no view but are exceptionally quiet for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. The location is indeed ideal and is within walking distance on many of London’s iconic sights, including Trafalgar Square, Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, and The London Eye, as well as being with a mile radius of over thirty West End theatres and opera houses, and adjacent to a central transport hub for quick and easy access throughout the city. We are very appreciative of your comments regarding the hotel personnel, especially as we are most proud of our Craftsmanship of Care policy and training, and all of the team enjoy going the extra mile for each and every one of our guests. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and come with big en-suite under-floor heated bathrooms with separate rain showers and huge bath tubs. We appreciate your frustration regarding hair-dryers in European hotels, however this is a legal requirement under Health and Safety regulations of supplying electrical equipment in bathrooms, where electrics and water can be fatal; your comments regarding the logistics have been noted for review by the management team. We hope this small minus point did not mar your stay and we very much hope to welcome you warmly once again soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is would be up there with one of the greatest hotels I have ever stayed in. The doormen are dressed in ever such dapper attire, greeting you warmly. The reception staff are very accommodating. The grandeur of the building. The location is to die for. But I have to say, the highlight of my stay was the luxury of the room. It appears that no expense has been spared when decorating and fitting the rooms. From the Nespresso machine, to the quality hair dryer, to the fluffiness of the towels. Corinthia, if only I could live here.

Room Tip: The hairdresser downstairs is also fantastic. Great for a quick wash and blow dry before a big night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireehowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your charming review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, and for highlighting many of the amenities that make the hotel so special. The building was originally the Hotel Metropole, one of the original grand hotel of London, which was then acquired as a government office, before being restored to its former glory and opening as Corinthia Hotel London in 2011. The interior was designed by GA designs, who as you so rightly noted, spared no expense in decorating the public rooms and bedrooms, which are dressed in only the finest of materials and artefacts. The location is ideal for the business and leisure traveller, with access to the sights of London within walking distance, the West End of London for theatre and shopping, and a central transport hub for quick and easy journeys around the city. The in-house Daniel Galvin salon offers the full range of ladies and gentleman’s hairdressing services and the ultimate in luxury with the private Movie Makeover Room. The dapper doormen are waiting to welcome you once more on your next visit.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

"You get what you pay for!"
So, you can get cheaper hotels in London, I have stayed in a few which are fine.
But, this is a class way above the others.
It is beautiful, the rooms are fantastic, one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. The en suite was lovely, big shower and separate bath.
No set check out time!! Complementary bottle of wine. The spa is really nice.
Afternoon tea was "average" I enjoyed Claridges afternoon tea better.
But all in all a great place to stay, very comfortable, I felt very special, it was a special occasion for us and we were happy to have paid more for a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, your kind compliments are very much appreciated. The bedrooms are larger than average for central London, and all have the very best quality and most comfortable Hypnos beds, dressed with luxurious Pratesi linen for the perfect night’s sleep. All of the bedrooms come complete with en-suite under-floor heated marble bathrooms, with separate rain showers and huge bath tubs with built in LCD-TV. We offer a pre-bookable flexible check-in/check-out policy, which is very convenient for our guests travelling at odd hours. We are very pleased you had the opportunity to use ESPA Life at Corinthia spa, which offers four floors of exceptional facilities for the ultimate in relaxation. We are really pleased we were able to make your special day a memorable experience, and we look forward to the privilege of sharing many more with you.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,663 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,731 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#15 of 1,067 in London
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Property: Corinthia Hotel London
Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Spa Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#16 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing