We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel London
Ranked #15 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My first visit to this exquisite hotel. Beautiful lounge and tea room, sharp high ceiling atmospheric restaurants and bars, luxurious spa. The rooms are splendid and very quiet. Service was courteous and professional. Superb luxury hotel.

Room Tip: I picked a courtyard room but i think all the rooms are likely quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of your first stay at Corinthia Hotel London. You have summed up very succinctly all that is best about the hotel, The Lobby Lounge with the impressive 1001 crystal Baccarat chandelier serves the most sumptuous Afternoon Teas, whilst The Northall offers the best of British fare and Massimo Restaurant & Oyster Bar has stylish modern Italian food with a twist. We very much look forward to welcoming you on your second visit.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,866 - 1,872 of 2,591 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have had the good fortune to stay on two occasions at this superb hotel. On both occasions, I have been lucky enough to receive an upgrade. My last stay I was upgraded to a executive room. Not only was the room spacious, own hallway with coffee machine, mini bar, seperate walk in wardrobe, large bathroom - with a bath sooo deep it took 10 mintues to fill and a raindrop shower! The beds are extremely comfortable, the laid back attitude of the staff is refreshing and unobtrusive. I actually had to call to find out when we had to check out as no body bothered me to hassle me out or try to charge a ridiculous rate for an additional hours stay.

The attention to detail is phenominal. From the mood lighting at a touch of button, to the food recommendations at breakfast, invigorating spa products in the bathroom, personalised note from the head of sales with a business card welcoming me back, chocolate on the pillow, dressing gown laid out ready to jump into at bedtime.

There is NOTHING I can fault about this hotel. I just can't wait to stay again :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amleggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your charming review of your second stay with us at Corinthia Hotel London, it is always especially pleasing to hear great feedback from returning guests. Our larger than average bedrooms come complete with a Nespresso machine, ESPA toiletries, and huge underfloor heated marble bathrooms with separate rain shower and built in LCD-TVs as standard. The hotel employs a flexible by arrangement check-in/check-out policy so that our guests are not inconvenienced by fixed times or additional charges. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and put this into practise with passion in our Craftsmanship of Care. We very much look forward to welcoming you again for another faultless stay.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

a truly 5 star experience, worth every penny. outstanding location, first rate facilities, spacious rooms, attentive service. beautiful marble, furnishings, and flower arrangements throughout hotel. tea time was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1GOLDEN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for posting such a succinct and yet perfect review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, you have summed the hotel up to a tee. The location is ideal for sight-seeing being within walking distance of many of London’s iconic sights, close to the City of London for business and adjacent to the central transport hub of Charing Cross rail and Embankment tube stations. All of our bedrooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and we pride ourselves on our Craftsmanship of Care customer service policy. Stunning flower arrangements are displayed throughout the hotel by our own in-house florist, which can also be ordered specially for rooms, and sent to external recipients. The Afternoon Tea is very special, and is themed according to season, currently we have an Easter extravaganza, and the forthcoming Chelsea Tea is going to be a real winner, hope you will be able to join us and sample it.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I would not hesitate to recommend Corinthia to anyone, including the experienced world traveler who expects the best. The whole experience is truly 5 star: the staff, the hotel common areas, the restaurants and bar, the modern and tasteful rooms with their enormous beds and marble bathrooms and their heated floors and spa amenities, the turn down service, and of course the spa. I never wanted to leave.

The spa, I cannot say enough good things about the spa. It is likely my favorite hotel spa to date. Dark, warm and restorative with not a lot of the 'feminine' trappings of your general hotel spa, meaning, white, floral, new age music etc. The Spa is like a secret underground multi floor grotto. The Vitality bath was extraordinary. I am sure it could cure the worst case of jet-lag or a particularly bad hangover. The same would be said of the in room rain showers. I know, I know...you've probably taken a shower in a rain shower before, perhaps you even have one at home..but, not like this rain shower. The rain shower just pours water out unashamedly on you. I can't imagine the hotel's water bills. Just wonderful.

What else could I say that has likely already been said? The location in fantastic for touring the London sites. Don't hesitate to book this hotel, it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LKB113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, it was a genuine pleasure to read your feedback, and to sense the pure enjoyment of your time with us. The hotel was designed to appeal to the 21st century traveller, and combines the best of features of traditional grand hotels with modern facilities and technology. You have highlighted all of the features that come as standard that makes the hotel so special, all of our bedrooms are larger than the average central London rooms, and all come complete with enormous underfloor heated marble bathrooms with built in LCD-TV and separate super rain showers. ESPA Life at Corinthia is indeed exceptional, with four floors of marble luxury housing separate Men and Women changing floors, a state-of-the-art gym and a Thermal Floor with a swimming and vitality pool, amphitheatre sauna, steam room and heated Cleopatra relaxation beds, as well as seventeen private rooms offering alternative and complementary medicine and traditional spa treatments. The location of the hotel is fantastic, it is within walking distance of many of London’s must-see sights, including Trafalgar Square, the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and The National Gallery. There are thirty West End theatres within the perimeter of the hotel, it is adjacent to the central transport hub of Charing Cross rail and Embankment tube stations, close to the City of London and you can even get the boat down to Greenwich from Embankment pier. Thank you for recommending us, it was our privilege that you chose to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

we had a nice little break at corinthia the last 2 days..there are lots of staff all very friendly and helpful the spa is super and worth a vist but are room had a few issues. the first one is the wifi its super slow and we could not use it at all. also i found a broken glass under the cabinet where the coffee machine was i don't usually look under cabinets but i droped a teabag and when i went to pick it up i found the glass not really to good for a 5 star also for the price you pay here for a room i thought they could at least supply some biscuits to go with the coffee but no £3.50 for a little packet of crisps is a little steep. we was in room 631 and the slider with covers the tv was broken and didn't slide up or down a guy came to have a look it it and said he would fix it later when we went out but it was not fixed the whole time we was there.but overall its a nice hotel a great place to stay in london close to everything .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiptreegangsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Corinthia Hotel London, your feedback is most valuable to us and your findings have since been shared with our Executive Housekeeper as a matter of urgency. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you as a direct result of the issues encountered within your room. We are however pleased that you found the Corinthia London team to be very friendly especially as we pride ourselves on our exemplary customer service standards. ESPA Life at Corinthia is the most beautiful spa with four floors of marble luxury, with smart his and hers changing rooms, private couple pods, a Thermal Floor and a state of the art gym with an exceptional fitness team. The hotel is ideal for both the business and leisure traveller, being adjacent to many of London’s most iconic sights, an excellent transport hub, close to the City of London and within walking distance of thirty London theatres and opera houses. We are disappointed that on this occasion your wifi connection was slow as we have just upgraded to the fastest broadband 1GB connection. We hope we will have the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed at Corinthia for the weekend. From check-in to check-out the hotel and its staff were fantastic. Polite understated service. Beautifully appointed public areas and bedrooms and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for a long time.
THe bathrooms are particularly comfortable with separate rainshower and bath with built in TV which meant my partner could enjoy a bath and watch some tv relax along with a lovely glass of champagne which was waiting for us in the room when we arrived.
I requested a quiet room upon checkin which they obliged with an internal courtyard room which was ideal - (i am so used to ending up with a view (?) of the air con units or the bins when staying at Sofitel St JAmes that its put me off that hotel for now) but this was nice - there are 2 french doors which could be opened and the courtyard a view of other room.
We had coffees whilst we waited for our room to be pre-checked - they were very good. Breakfast was included in the rate. THe first morning taken in the Northall. We opted forthe buffett which had a large choice of continental items and cooked english breakfast although i would personally i prefer scrambled eggs to be more solid than creamy - but they were fine and breakfast items where good quality. The 2nd morning i opted for room service - and were served on time with the most perfect eggs benedict with bacon, toast, juices and tea - eggs cooked to perfection and it really was very nice.

all in all a great stay - nice and quiet. Im sad we didnt get to try cocktails in any of the bars but we had theatre tickets both nights and had to eat earlier elsehwere but would definitely love to come back and explore more of the hotels restaurants and amazing looking ESPA.

Room Tip: Internal Courtyard rooms quiter and you dont hear any noise from hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodiefan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at Corinthia Hotel London, it sounds like you had a very special time with us. We are especially delighted when our guests remark on the exceptional customer service of our personnel team, as we pride ourselves on our “Craftsmanship of Care” policy and our exemplary service standards. Our larger than average rooms are beautifully furnished with a modern yet comfortable design to meet the needs of the 21st century business and leisure traveller, and all come complete with enormous marble bathrooms with built in LCD-TV and a separate rain shower. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the extensive buffet breakfast in The Northall, and the special treat of room service. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit when you can sample the delights of the best cocktails in London at Bassoon, dine at The Northall for classic British fare, or Massimo Restaurant & Oyster Bar for modern Italian dishes, and then work it all off in our state-of-the-art gym in ESPA Life at Corinthia.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed in some gorgeous hotels, but the Corinthia has that extra bit of something that tells you that every facet of your stay was considered. From the great amenities to the great layout of the room, my partner and I felt very pampered for the ten days that we stayed here. The gym is large with plenty of machines and weights, but the spa thermal pools are not to be missed. The location is also great - just across the street from the Embankment underground station, across the bridge from the London Eye, and a short walk to Trafalgar Square, Westminster Abbey, the Strand, and the Charing Cross Bookstores. Don't have time to go to Harrod's? They have a small store right in the lobby. There were only two faults I found during the entire time we were there. First, it seemed that the maid service thought there was only one person in the room. So turn down was for only one person (only one bottle of water was left, and slippers and robe were put out for just one person. Of course, my partner assumed it was for him ;-) Secondly, we were in London during St.Patrick's Day. I think there was a pub or bar in the building across from us, and some of the noise from the street carried up to our first floor room. But these are trivial and do not subtract from a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 147 has flags right outside the window. On windy days, the flapping of the flag can be botherso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reyledda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your fabulous review of Corinthia Hotel London, and for pointing out the attention to detail, on which we pride ourselves. The ESPA Life toiletries, Nespresso coffee machine, water and turndown treats, 1GB wifi, a daily newspaper and access to our Business Centre are all included as standard. Whilst the ESPA Life spa and gym need to be seen to be believed, with four floors of marble luxury housing a Thermal Floor with swimming pool, a state of the art gym, seventeen treatment rooms and private couple pods. The hotel is also ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller with easy access to the financial district in The City of London, adjacent to the transport hub of Charing Cross rail and Embankment tube stations, near to the heart of London’s Theatreland, and within walking distance of many of London’s iconic sights, including Trafalgar Square, Big Ben, Churchill’s War Rooms, and Downing Street. There are a number of authentic British pubs in the vicinity that under normal circumstances enhance our guest’s stay with us, which we hope won’t deter you from coming to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#20 of 1,077 in London
1,806 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#13 of 1,077 in London
485 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,077 in London
4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Spa Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#15 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $485 - $1,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing