We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignored at the door”
Review of Terry's Cafe

Terry's Cafe
Ranked #338 of 28,485 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Terry’s is a traditional English cafe founded in the early 1980’s by Terry a former Smithfield meat trader. The cafe is situated on an enclave of shops just of Borough high street called Great Suffolk St parade. Terry’s in its original form was known as working men’s café - situated in Borough and neighbouring Bermondsey, Terry’s was a hub of the community serving hearty breakfasts to builders, scaffolders and the locals alike. Even in the formative years, the ethos at Terry’s was to provide good quality home cooked food at affordable prices. In modern times it proved challenging to keep prices this low and serve superiority food, in today’s market you are more like to spend 10 pounds plus for a decent sized fry up. On the flip side their ethos remains true to Terry’s vision, as they carefully select the best meats & veg available from both Smithfield & Borough markets twice per week assuring only the finest fresh produce is sourced before it reaches the diners plate.
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately, I didn't get a chance to eat here. There was a 'please wait to be seated' sign outside, where I was ignored by staff. Decided to go elsewhere.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank petejbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryscafe, Owner at Terry's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I’m sorry you felt this way and chose to go else where . The team does try to get to waiting customers as quick as possible however we do note that the position isn’t manned 100% of the time.

That said patience is a virtue, perhaps had you decided to hang around and leave your ego at the door perhaps we would be having a different conversation at this moment.

That said , we wish you well for now and the future and hope to see you soon .

Best wishes,

Austin & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 436 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

Continues to be London’s premium, exemplar full english breakfast. A perennial delight. Wonderful. Simply wonderful.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank bekoubetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryscafe, Owner at Terry's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2019

Thank you so much !

Pleased to hear you a fan and look forward to seeing soon..

Best wishes,

Austin & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

My Husband took me here for a special Birthday Breakfast - well what a lovely surprise. Thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, the memorabilia around the cafe. A step back in time.

Great food - I had "The Smithfield" breakfast with Rib-eye steak - a real treat- delicious and huge! I couldn't finish it. My husband had "the Works" - great sausage - coffee was superb too. My husband commented that the filter coffee was the best he tasted in a while around London.

Thanks for great friendly service - was a Great start to my Birthday

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LMacB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryscafe, Owner at Terry's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Hello!,

I’m so pleased we could make your birthday so special and hope to see you again soon...

Many happy returns,

Austin & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Retro is very much in vogue and often just a few bits of random memorabilia and distressed finishes. This is authentic, done with panache coupled with excellent service and good honest food. Maybe called a cafe but many would add more bijou names; but that epitomises the place - honest and excellent quality.

Search it out, you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryscafe, Owner at Terry's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Thank you so much , pleased to hear you enjoyed the cafe and the experience on the whole .

We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

Austin & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Having heard a great deal of positive things about this place and read the good reviews, I headed there for a 9am weekday brekkie with a cousin. Whilst my full English was good (particularly tasty sausage and bacon), toast is an extra charge. The place only takes cash which could catch you out and I found the service very poor.

Sitting on an outside table on the pavement I had to ask twice for the table to be wiped, wasnt offered a menu until I went in to collect one and had to ask twice for my "free refill" of tea. Oh, and this is the only cafe I've seen where the menu stipulates "items on cooked menu cant be swapped". Really? Wont be returning!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank andyb681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryscafe, Owner at Terry's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Bore off mate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Cafe also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Terry's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing