We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor hostel(not hotel) in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Strand Continental
Ranked #346 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Really unwelcoming entrance and reception staff, and up steep stairs. Room (for two) was tiny, with "shared bathroom" ie two toilets and two showers for 14 - 20 guests (couldn't see in all rooms). Tacky decor. Worst of all - a dreadful mattress that meant we had to arrrange our limbs around the springs to have a chance of dozing. Shame - great location, but would never return.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 282 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as it looked reasonable and the price was fairly good. I was surprised when I arrived as it was definitely reminiscent of colonial times downstairs in the bar and restaurant. The rooms were stark and bare. Towel had a hole in it! No TV. Tea and coffee making was there. The sink blocked on the last morning. Showers were a bit poor as well. It was a learning curve! Doors banging all night and lack of any sort of quiet which is not what was said on th website.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This was more hostel than hotel and whilst it was.in an excellent location, that was really the only positive. The picture that was shown of the frontage was obviously decades old and in no way represented the reality which was in fact merely a door between 2 shop fronts. The rooms were reached by a very narrow steep staircase, they were not particularly clean and were a considerable walk to the toilets. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but the hotel itself was extremely noisy, particularly after 5am so if you wanted to sleep longer you had no chance. I was not expecting much and in this l was not disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I arrived with my husband and son aged 11 for a football/sightseeing trip, the receptionist was helpful on arrival and checked in an hour before expected, we had to leave a £10 deposit for the key and was given the code for the door for access to the rooms, written on a piece of paper. The room was very basic with the double bed the bottom of a triple bunk bed, there were coffee spills on the floor and walls but the bed linen was clean, the room was very basic but it only cost £80 for the 3 of us so i didn't expect much and didn't get much. The toilets and shower were reasonable but the doors closing and opening can be heard through the paper thin walls throughout the night and hairdryer use of next doors can be heard. The breakfast described as continental was serve yourself toast and cereal. Fantastic central location but you get what you pay for so if you can stretch that little bit more i would do so, i have stayed in both hotels and hostels and this was low rated hostel in my opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandy186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My family booked all 3 beds in a dorm for a theatre trip to London. The room was at the top of the building, there is no lift and the stairs are extremely steep, like attic stairs - it was physically painful to get up them, not being a teenager, especially with luggage. The room was beyond cramped with not enough room between the beds to even change clothes. The curtains were fixed to the rail by means of two loops of string tied around it and were about a foot narrower than the window, we managed to cover the space by hooking the side around the rough wooden bars across the window. Thank god there was no fire. At first glance the room appeared clean but that was surface only, the boxed-in pipes and skirting boards down the sides of the beds were filthy and splashed with tea. The mattress on the lower bunk which I slept on had a big dip in it on one side where several springs appeared to be missing. The sink had no plug fixing in the outlet and smelled. Outside the window on the roof of the bay window on the floor below was a wide variety of dirty underwear and rubbish. The breakfast was cereals and toast as expected in the bar and though nothing to write home about, not dreadful either. The one thing that was good was the young asian lady who was usually on reception duty when we came and went who was very friendly and helfpul unlike a young guy who was bordering on rude. The hotel also lets you store your bags after you check out while you explore the city and does not charge if you collect them the same day - although there is no security whatsoever and anyone could pick any bag they choose when they come back. Yes, the price is cheap - but I have stayed in hostels in Europe, particularly Berlin, which are half the price and clean, warm and pleasant with proper breakfasts that set you up for the day. Basic is fine, but this was far below even that minimum standard. If Germany can do it, so should we.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LulooLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The rooms themselves are rather basic, but they get the job done at a VERY reasonable price for London, especially considering how centrally located the hotel is. What is exceptional here is the customer service. They went above and beyond for our stay. The beds themselves were also higher quality than is typically found in your average hostel. Had a good night's sleep here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leighah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Paid £25 a night for dorm style room on 6th floor, it s perfectly adequate if you just need somewhere to sleep whilst visiting London. Breakfast was good, cereal, toast, tea, coffee, juice, and the staff seemed helpful. I would stay again at this price, as location is excellent+I had 2 good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#47 of 566 in London
607 reviews
MStay Hotel 43
#102 of 566 in London
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
#374 of 566 in London
458 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#36 of 908 in London
513 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 908 in London
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Strand Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Strand Continental

Address: 143 Strand, London WC2R 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $30 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Strand Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastically located on the famous Strand in London. With the River Thames behind you and the lively West End in front of you, you will have an easy time finding everything you came to London for! Not only is this little gem well located it is also steeped in history and well facilitated. Facilities include a 1940's styled bar and restaurant, free wi-fi, free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Strand Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Strand Continental London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing