We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good - as you could easily miss it”
Review of Cantina Laredo

Cantina Laredo
Ranked #460 of 23,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Cantina Laredo offers something completely new, a sophisticated approach to traditional Mexican cuisine. Our ethos at Cantina Laredo is to blend old with new by using contemporary and traditional techniques to bring a modern twist to the authentic flavours from all regions of Mexico. The menu is a culinary exploration of Mexico's regional cuisines in search of Mexico's most incredible flavours. Traditional and contemporary techniques combine to produce an intriguing menu that pays homage to authentic Mexican flavours. Emphasis is on the bold and intense flavours with simple presentation using high quality ingredients. Dishes are authentic, but not traditional with a modern approach to recreate classic dishes and invent new ones. The menu has been designed to create a sophisticated, yet informal and relaxed dining experience. There is no set procedure on ordering, dishes are designed to be shared at the table or enjoyed individually.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good - as you could easily miss it”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We came here having left an event at the ivy club as we fancied something not so british. I was not expecting much as mexican restaurants in London tend to suck (including Bogra Negre or what ever it is called close by(, but as I am currently on a quest to fish tacos to the standard of the ones I have had in San Diego we decided to give this place a try. It was surprisingly good - the deco is quite bland and it is easy to miss but because of the quest we went in. The food was excellent. I had the ceviche in tortilla cups and fish tacos. Both were really tasty. Husband had a chicken fajita which arrived on a hot plate and several warmed tortillas. We could have split his meal and the ceviche and been full, Margaritas looked good but i had a tea (it was chilly) and husband had a coke. We will definately be back in future to try other dishes. Good to hear there is a private dining room as these are tough to find in London

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JKAMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,369
    721
    232
    98
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent evening”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were a group of 12 and were pleasantly surprised to get the private room! Service was very good and Anna looked after us exceptionally well. Couldn't find any fault with the food. Good vegetarian selection. Great cocktails. Birthday girl enjoyed herself

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanjpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food Just Not Enough of It”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This was my second attempt at eating at this restaurant as the first time I was alone on business and turned away (sober and dressed accordingly) having been told it was closed when it clearly wasn't by an hour and a half. I decided to give it a second chance when I visited with colleagues. A short wait for a table before being seated. The restaurant has a modern feel to it with a good atmosphere. One colleague ordered a chilli dish but they had run out by 9.30! We ordered the guacamole starter for two which is made at the table and a nice touch and delicious. The group ordered enchiladas which were fantastically presented, in fact works of art. They came with a small, and I mean small, portion of rice. The seafood enchilada came with coriander and lime rice which was gorgeous but the portion size made it a mere taster. The two enchiladas them self didn't disappoint either, they were beautiful. There is currently a promotion on Wednesdays when their magarita cocktails are half price.
All in all a fantastic meal just, and only just, falling short of a five as I would have liked a realistic portion of rice and sides. It was so good it merely teased but there wasn't enough to satisfy.
Service excellent too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrabberOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First 5”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This our second choice restaurant, so glad the first was too busy. A short wait for a table, well looked after by staff in particular Anna who was attentive but not overbearing. Thanks Anna. Starters were great. My first choice meal was sold out but second choice e couldn't have been better chicken chilli and chocolate... To die for. Loved the whole experience. Great value well looked after and a half price margarita... Brilliant. No complaints , 5 out of 5

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ji57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food but pricey”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food and service were great but overall I found the experience expensive. The top shelf Guacamole is a recomendation, they mix it right in front of you!! I gave it 4 stars due to the great food but had to downgrade for the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sig691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Laredo also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing