We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value, GREAT service”
Review of Cantina Laredo

Cantina Laredo
Ranked #457 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Cantina Laredo offers something completely new, a sophisticated approach to traditional Mexican cuisine. Our ethos at Cantina Laredo is to blend old with new by using contemporary and traditional techniques to bring a modern twist to the authentic flavours from all regions of Mexico. The menu is a culinary exploration of Mexico's regional cuisines in search of Mexico's most incredible flavours. Traditional and contemporary techniques combine to produce an intriguing menu that pays homage to authentic Mexican flavours. Emphasis is on the bold and intense flavours with simple presentation using high quality ingredients. Dishes are authentic, but not traditional with a modern approach to recreate classic dishes and invent new ones. The menu has been designed to create a sophisticated, yet informal and relaxed dining experience. There is no set procedure on ordering, dishes are designed to be shared at the table or enjoyed individually.
Thundersley, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, GREAT service”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

After a visit to the theatre and a few post theatre cocktails we were very fortunate to find ourselves in Cantina Laredo, eating here for the first time we had no level of expectation but took the fact that the place was full and there were plenty of diners waiting for a table to be a good sign. Good, tasty Mexican food at great value in a restaurant full of life. A great relaxed buzz. What we were particularly pleased with (and somewhat surprised by) was the fantastic level of service. Our main courses were served and then recalled by the kitchen because the chef felt he had over cooked the sea bass, our meals were quickly returned and everything was very good. Having not really noticed too much of a delay we were delighted to be offered complimentary deserts. We have eaten in much swankier restaurants than this and not had anywhere near the level of service or customer care. The food is fresh, simple and perfect for eating out with the girls post theatre. People were still flooding in when we left at 10 pm so it's obviously a popular spot and not for no good reason. Good food, good value, great service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fortheloveoftravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,355
    712
    232
    96
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, MA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb Mexican Cuisine in London”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Before theater one evening this past July in London, we found a Mexican restaurant on St. Mary's Way at Shelton Street called Cantina Laredo. We were very pleasantly surprised and we loved this place! The decor, first off, is very contemporary in a tasteful, elegant yet relaxed style - definitely NOT the typical cheesy sombreros and bullfight scenes all over the place. The staff was welcoming and very knowledgeable, and the service was excellent. The appetizers are all big enough to share - we had chicken flautras, chips with two salsas (differing not only in heat but in flavor) and beef tostadas, and all were delicious. My wife had the Carnitos Tacos, my daughter had a Beef Fajita and I had Chicken Enchiladas. Each was excellently prepared, each had its own distinct character and spicing - remarkably tasty and unique. The chef really pays attention to authentic Mexican flavors and cooking styles. We did not see this wonderful restaurant in any guidebook, we happened upon it on our own and it was one of the highlights of our London vacation. We certainly never imagined we would find one of the best Mexican restaurants we've ever eaten in here in London - but we did, and if you enjoy great Mexican food, you will too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlleghenyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Fun, lively place”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's hard to find Mexican food at anything other than the fast food end of the market, so Cantina Laredo was a great find. We went there on a Saturday evening and the atmosphere was buzzing. Happily, the interior is spacious enough that you can still enjoy your private conversation without raising your voice. The best of both worlds really.

We ordered the guacamole for starters, which they mixed at the table. It was outstandingly good. The tacos and enchiladas for our main were also excellent - stuffed full of fresh ingredients and flavour. The staff are so friendly and helpful.

A great place for a group of friends to celebrate a special occasion or for an intimate dinner for two with none of the stuffiness that usually comes with restaurants that are hyped as 'romantic'. I'd advise you book ahead. They have a lot of tables, but the place was almost full when we got there at 6pm. Hope to return again in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clockwinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have now been here about 5 times. Food quality is very good and the guacamole is almost good as what my daughter makes. The food is fresh and the spices are just right. They need to work on the margaritas a bit. Maybe just double the tequila. It is a great location, just off of Leicester Square. It actually got really busy by 6PM, probably due to the post matinee crowd or pre-theatre.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francissp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good service, but indeed poor value”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Unfortunately it is unlikely I'll run back there. It is too expensive for what it serves. GBP17 for a meal that should fairly cost GBP12 max. Margaritas good, expensive, but good, so I am ok with paying that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Laredo also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing