We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Texan Approval” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantina Laredo

Cantina Laredo
Ranked #431 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Cantina Laredo offers something completely new, a sophisticated approach to traditional Mexican cuisine. Our ethos at Cantina Laredo is to blend old with new by using contemporary and traditional techniques to bring a modern twist to the authentic flavours from all regions of Mexico. The menu is a culinary exploration of Mexico's regional cuisines in search of Mexico's most incredible flavours. Traditional and contemporary techniques combine to produce an intriguing menu that pays homage to authentic Mexican flavours. Emphasis is on the bold and intense flavours with simple presentation using high quality ingredients. Dishes are authentic, but not traditional with a modern approach to recreate classic dishes and invent new ones. The menu has been designed to create a sophisticated, yet informal and relaxed dining experience. There is no set procedure on ordering, dishes are designed to be shared at the table or enjoyed individually.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Texan Approval”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

As Texans living in London we continuously crave proper Mexican food. Cantina Laredo does the job but with a twist of relaxed elegance. The food was beautifully presented with the freshest of quality ingredients. The service was fast and friendly. The atmosphere and cleanliness of the restaurant is top notch. We will definitely be back. Many thanks to the manager, we called ahead to say that we were short on time and wanted to know if they could get us in and out fairly quickly. He had our table waiting for us and we were able to make our play with time to spare.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2run1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,260
    675
    214
    88
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Becoming a regular place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I've been here 3 times now and it has been excellent on every occasion. Do not expect microwaved meals as per other lesser Mexican chains nearby. This is top quality fresh food, served by excellent waiting staff in classy surroundings.

This is Mexican food done very well indeed. The manager takes a keen interest in ensuring front of house is operating efficiently and it is clear the staff are well drilled and care about their work

It is pricey compared to others but this is definitely a case if getting what you pay for

Helpful?
Thank SteveBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“You won't want Mexican from anywhere else ever again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Last month my surprise birthday was organised at this fabulous restaurant. The first thing that strikes you is the opulent decor, lighting to the perfect level and vibrant atmosphere! The food doesn't fail to live up to the same standard, the "top shelf" guacamole is an absolute must, made at your table right in front of you. The starters are out of this world, the freshest ingredients (as per all of their dishes), Michelin star presentation, and taste to match. Just leave some room for the mains as the portions are more than generous! The service is like no other and the owners and management ensure the personal touch.

I have been back since that amazing meal and whether a large party or a table for two, the food, service and overall experience is just as just the same and only describable as exceptional! Go there once and you won't want to eat Mexican anywhere else!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neilt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

After trying to get into several restaurants unsuccessfully, we weren't too sure what this would be like as it seemed so busy everywhere else. We needn't have worried, food and service were excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My new favourite Mexican in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have recently celebrated my birthday at Cantina Laredo and it was absolutely fantastic.

A bit more upscale than your usual Mexican restaurant, their food was tasty and authentic, the location great for a pre-theatre meal, the atmosphere was nice and relaxed and the staff friendly and accommodating.

Their table-side fresh guacamole is a nice touch, their non-alcoholic cocktails such as Apasionada or the Mango Passion Cooler are to die for, and the Fish Tacos or the Camaron Poblano Asada were simply delicious.

I have had loads of Mexican food in the past while living in the US, and this is without a doubt one of the best places I've tried. I could not recommend it enough!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreea_Tufescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Laredo also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing