We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cocktails”
Review of Charlotte's Bistro

Charlotte's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Charlotte's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,213 of 22,857 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $52
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chiswick
Transit: We are two minutes walk from Turnham Green Station. Come out of the station, turn left and walk about 100 yards almost to the end of Turnham Green Terrace. We are on the left hand side. That's it.
Description: Charlotte’s Bistro is an independently owned informal neighbourhood bar & restaurant. More daughter than sister to the longstanding Charlotte’s Place restaurant on Ealing Common, we first opened in 2010 on a mission to offer inventive drinks as well as the award winning food we were already famous for. We take great pride in sourcing high quality local produce and handle it with great care. From bread, stocks and ice creams in the kitchen, to purées, cordials and infusions on the bar, naturally we make them all. Working with only seasonal ingredients, about a third of our menu changes every month. PLEASE NOTE: Charlotte's Group is now an entirely cashless business. We accept payment by debit card, credit card, AMEX and Apple Pay.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Poor cocktails”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I've charted the decline of charlottes for drinks over the last few years. Reached rock bottom now. Cocktail list now 1 page (was whole booklet) of wierd strange cocktails. I didn't like the look of a single one. Tried to order off menu and was told this was not possible. Not happy. Will not be back for drinks. Food is good here. Real shame as I used to come here a lot for cocktails and was happy to spend a lot of money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiswickTurnhamGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    126
    39
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Have eaten at Charlotte's Bistro 3 times, and it never disappoints. You won't be blown away with the best meal you've ever had, but you can guarantee consistently high levels of quality food. Good choice with emphasis on simplicity and freshness- no fuss, just refreshingly reliable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomsk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A 'Hidden' Gem”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was more aware of the sister (mother?) restaurant in Ealing, but when walking through Chiswick on a day off, I realised that it was on Turnham Green Terrace. It's a lovely little spot: It seems disingenuous to say that it's off the beaten track when you can hear the Chiswick High Road as soon as you're out of the door, but peaceful place to have a weekday lunch. Excellent service - friendly, attentive but unobtrusive: perfect.

Very good value: the plaice, razor clam and samphire was a delightfully-cooked dish: flavoursome but simple - good example of seasonal British cooking. The dessert was a little more 'typical', but I've had plenty of bad chocolate tarts: this was definitely not one of those bad ones. All in all, a good lunch and change from a £20.

Definitely worth a follow-up dinner visit if you're keen on your gin!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexOL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Superb nibbles awesome service”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Both me and my wife wanted to have a 'pit stop' whilst shooting through Chiswick and were delighted by the selection of Nibbles / Small plates available. We also chose to have a carafe of Picpoul to accompany and was presented with do much care and attention. The service is simply professional and diligent and the meet and greet from the front of house caring. Without doubt this is definitely one of those splendid finds that comes hugely recommended to anyone coming to Chiswick.

Helpful?
Thank Aniljain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really very nice”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here with their early dinner deal. Great food and good value with three courses and any drink of your choice for £27 (ish, I think).

We also had some more wine, port, cheese and coffee which brought it up to just under £100 for the two of us.

Great food. Great service.

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlotte's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Charlotte's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing