We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful, spiritual and theatrical”
Review of 40 Winks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
40 Winks
Ranked #5 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well...wow! What an experience :-)...from start to finish great fun and will not be forgotten.

40 winks really is something special and to be experienced - be prepared to be welcomed by David.

The double room was very comfortable, relaxing and spacious (though a little noisy with traffic).

Good location for restaurants and markets and David has a lot of local knowledge to help if needed. Very close to tube.

All in all - great fun! Go with an open mind...
Happy adventures
Paul and Kerry :-)

Room Tip: Double room recommended
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hi Kerry and Paul,

Thank you so much for the lovely review... very glad you enjoyed your time here, and hope to see you back here again.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 290 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Prepared to be transported to another dimension - this experience is utterly magical!! Just go!! The house is stunning (a work of art really), the atmosphere is amazing - it really is a one of a kind experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelOption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review!!!!

All best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had the honnor to fly all the way from Brazil to stay for one week at 40 winks! The place is amezing, I can't decribe who magical it is! What I can really say is that worth it very minute of the 11 hours that I had to spend on a plane to get there. The staff is sweet and always happy to help. Since there is only two rooms, you feel like a guest of David's, and it is impossiable to live 40 winks without loving to know him.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hi Paula,

It was an absolute treat to have you here last week!! Thank you for the lovely review and hope to see you back here again later in the year.

Have a marvellous weekend.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is simply a wonderful place to stay. The interior is beyond words, So special.

David is a natural host, He takes a genuine interest in his guests and has a very kind nature. When you stay here, you will count it as one of the highlights of your life's travelling experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xcross-Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Gosh.... What a lovely and kind review!!!!

Thank you so much.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The house is a piece of art, the landlord a very polite and interesting man, very british.
We had three very happy days in London and felt at home at 40winks.
A true authentic experience.
For people who have problems sleeping with noise from the street, the double room is quite noisy, well we get used to it after two nights and a bottle of red wine:-).
Breakfast is: toast, jam, honey, tea or coffee and cereals with milk , and orange juice and
good tips for the day and night out in London from the landlord.
3 min walking and you are at the tube station Stepney Green, very comfortable.

If you are looking for something authentic and british and interesting,
40winks is a good idea for you to stay.

We had a very good time at 40winks!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilsandTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Entering 40 winks is like stepping through the looking glass backwards, encountering something or someone like the brainchild of J.K.Huysmans and Charles Dodgson; or if you prefer, the lovechild of Björk and Matthew Barney. However, perhaps child is not quite the designation I'm after. As my exhausted feet are embraced by the lush carpeting, and my eyes slowly adjust to the dimness and the expanse of rooms upon rooms with exquisite tableauxs.., it occurs to me that this house is more like a compassionate yet quirky and secretly controlling when not playful mother, -than a child in need of protection and nurture. Like Björk's once so pillowy voice beckoning me to come to her bosom, the house seems to whisper: i'll take care of you. protect you. come, calm down. you're exhausted. come back down, you don't have to explain, I understand.

As an establishment, 40 winks may be closer to an art-installation than a hotel. The owner, Mr. David Carter more of a performance artist than a professional hotelier. The concept most definitely relational; that branch of the art-world concerned with relations between people rather than the fetishistic acquisition of material objects, or?
When entering the peculiar domestic universe, which is Mr. Carter's stage set, be prepared to be confronted with your own reflection, or lack thereof. You fit in, or you don't. Either / Or. In this doll's house, it's not necessarily about how you look, but about whether or not you have that particular innate ability of keeping cool in the candy store. If you're one of those sitting in a theater hoping that the performance for heaven's sake does not involve any audience participation, this might not be the place for you. If however, you recognise that a work of art (read: the whole experience of being at 40 winks) needs the participation from the audience in order to be complete, then you just might have found your home away from home.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank elisabeth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Such a beautifully written review!!!! Is it going to be possible for anyone to improve upon this?

Thank yo so much! Have a lovely weekend, and hope to see you back here soon.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A very special place run by a very special man. A true british dandy, David Carter will give you inspiration that will last you for a long time, even after your trip. The beautiful and quirky interior is both comforting and inspirational. If you are looking for something special this is your choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hege H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Hi darling,

Thank you so much for your kind words!! You were an inspiring example of Hollywood glamour throughout your stay.

Have a fabulous Christmas, and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Mr Carter
xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,838 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#110 of 1,076 in London
3,278 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Winks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Winks

Address: 109 Mile End Road | Stepney Green, London E1 4UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $125 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 40 Winks 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 Winks is a legendary hotel based in hip and trendy East London. Despite our bijou size, we have achieved an almost mythical status since we opened our doors in 2009, somewhat cheekily describing ourselves as the world's first 'micro boutique hotel'. From the beginning, our mission was always a very simple one - to offer an antidote to the bland uniformity of most hotel chains by creating something that is deliriously seductive, memorable and enchanting. Staying here is about much more than having a comfortable bed to sleep in or a place to dump your luggage, it is an immersive experience, an invitation to lose yourself in another more fabulous, more magical world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
40 Winks Hotel London
40 Winks London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing