We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So refreshing!”
Review of 40 Winks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
40 Winks
Ranked #5 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So refreshing!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I are Londoners, but fancied staying overnight somewhere special in our beloved capital. Some people thought we were a bit mad wanting to go to a hotel in Stepney Green, but this is a special experience wherever you happen to come from. We didn't just want a bland boutique experience, and 40 Winks provided everything in terms of otherworldliness and exquisite detail. We really enjoyed chatting with host David about art, life and everything in between, and couldn't stop staring at all the beautiful decor, ornaments and thoughtful touches about the house. I'm not going to list what things looked or felt like - go and see for yourself! And don't arrive expecting an identikit hotel experience - it's all about letting go of ordinary life, and going with the flow. Amazing.

Room Tip: There is 1 double room. Be quick to reserve it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review...

Hope to see you back here again.

All best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    21
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
116
78
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

With my love for everything eccentric this was the perfect choice. The first time staying in London outside of SW 7 was really impressing - thanks to David and his 40 Winks!!! I was travelling all by myself to visit Frieze and was very warmly welcome. The evening I had the chance to be part of the werewolves in "bedtime stories" which made my stay unforgettable. I loved it! Thank you David!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank An2nie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hi darling,

It was an absolute pleasure to have you here!!!!
Hope to see you back here in London again soon..

Lots love,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Staying at 40Winks was a very special experience; for once I did not feel lonely like Willy Loman on a business trip, and privacy was the luxury rather than flat screens and well filled mini-bars. So if you are open to a personal and unconventional experience: GO THERE!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Roland T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Roland,

Thanks so much for that...

It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at David Carter's jewel-like hotel for three nights in early October. David's house is all nondescript discretion on the outside, a Queen Anne row house on what at first seems to be a rather boring stretch of Mile End Road. But once you've knocked with the large brass lion knocker, a whole new reality opens up to you. As you pass through the nearly black entryway, you quickly realize you're about to enter a different world, if not a different century. David is an absolutely charming character: an internationally lauded interior designer, a hotelier, the creative force behind the fabulous "Bedtime Story Nights," which has been named one of the "14 most amazing things to do in the world" by the Sunday Times Travel Magazine, and he is charismatic and friendly as well. David welcomed us warmly and showed us to our room, a large, light-filled white space on the top floor of his charming house. Our entire stay there was a delight, and David was full of superb suggestions of what to do, such as visiting the Columbia Road Flower Market on Sunday, and an after theater dinner at Brasserie Zedel. David is concerned about his guests without being overbearing. He added a special something to our stay that a room at a chain hotel, no matter how chic or expensive, cannot provide. You must check out the photos of this gorgeous place to begin to understand its many, many charms. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SQB1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Stephen,

Thanks so much for the lovely review... it was a pleasure to have you and Kristine here, and do hope to see you back here again before too long!!

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A challenge it was to arrange our trip to London around the availabilities in 40winks. And worth every effort.
We felt enchanted by the breathtaking mixture of colors, textures and extraordinary decorations. Every room has its own atmosphere and feeling. I personally loved the lying in the bathtub surrounded by birds on golden wallpaper, I enjoyed the opium den wallowing in pleasure about its promising temptations.
Davids warm hospitality the short but inspiring and mind opening conversations revealed his charming character of what for me is an eccentric English gentlemen.
This magical place felt like a fairytale wonderland. Especially for my 11-year old Harry-Potter-fan daughter. In his beautiful, exquisite home David owns a wand. What more can you say?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bitzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi darling,

It was an absolute treat having you and your daughter here. Hope to see you back here again very soon, or perhaps in Vienna.

Lots of love,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having read about 40 Winks in a magazine, I decided to try the experience. What a treat! David Carter is the perfect host, giving you advice on everything from getting around and where to eat. David Carter's home is absolutely wonderful. Each room has its own feel and experience. I could easily spend hours just looking at all the beautiful things in his house. No wonder this small hotel has received so much praise. It is located in the vibrant East London with easy access to the tube station, so if you want a different and unique experience while staying in London, this is the place to visit. I sure hope to come back one day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review!! Lovely to meet you, and hope to see you back here again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I read about David's 40 Winks in a magazine over 2 years ago, and fell in love with the photos of his beautiful home. I ripped that page out and saved it, hoping to visit one day. That day finally came last weekend, as a surprise for my husband's 40th birthday. David is the most wonderful host - full of wit, warmth and wisdom. His home is like stepping into a wonderland of textures and images, and I'm so glad we got the chance to stay there. Being in such beautiful surroundings, in a little oasis of un rushed calm, the rest of the world melts away for a while. Thank you David, our stay with you was a real tonic, and inspired us in many ways. Can't wait to come back again one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hi Lucy,

Thanks so much for the lovely review, and I do hope that you will be back here again soon (we can't have you waiting another two years!!).

Have a lovely weekend.

Lots love,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Winks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Winks

Property: 40 Winks
Address: 109 Mile End Road | Stepney Green, London E1 4UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 40 Winks 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 Winks is a legendary hotel based in hip and trendy East London. Despite our bijou size, we have achieved an almost mythical status since we opened our doors in 2009, somewhat cheekily describing ourselves as the world's first 'micro boutique hotel'. From the beginning, our mission was always a very simple one - to offer an antidote to the bland uniformity of most hotel chains by creating something that is deliriously seductive, memorable and enchanting. Staying here is about much more than having a comfortable bed to sleep in or a place to dump your luggage, it is an immersive experience, an invitation to lose yourself in another more fabulous, more magical world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
40 Winks Hotel London
40 Winks London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing