We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tasting Menu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gauthier Soho

Gauthier Soho
Reserve with OpenTable
Gauthier Soho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $154
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Soho
Transit: Piccadily Circus & Leicester Square Tube Stations.
Description: Having earned a star within a year of opening Gauthier Soho, Alexis Gauthier is described by Zagat guide as "...one of the Best New French food destinations in London...". With an emphasis on vegetables in all dishes, Alexis provides a seasonal tasting menu with the best possible ingredients (British where possible) for omnivores and a vegetable option, as well as an A la Carte and lunch/pre-theatre option. All served in a chic Soho Townhouse where the staff really make you feel special. There are also five private dining rooms for parties of all sizes.
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

A magnificent Tasting Menu flawless in every mouthful. Each dish was better than the next and the service was professional and nu fussy. The restaurant is one of the best I have ever eaten in and great value for money

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drg1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    164
    63
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellente second visit !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was my second visit to Gauthier Soho and I was very excited about it.
What is nice about Gauthier is from the moment you walk throughout he door, it is like you are being greeted by an old friend. I don't know how they do it, but they remembered my name and even things about my previous visit, like what I ordered and would I like something similar tonight etc.
Things like this is difficult to find these days, they seem to work very hard on keeping customers, rather than the usual 'bums on seats' mentality of so many restaurants.
We went for the tasting menu, with matched wines. It is such a luxury to be able leave all the decisions to an expert!
Standout dishes were peach and foie gras, Wild Sea trout, Lobster with lime marinated scallops, and 'Jasper's Farm' lamb.
Wine was delicious, and a really varied selection.
The attention to detail here is second to none, the staff are wonderful and the food needs no introduction. It was also nice to see Mr Gauthier darting around at the end of the evening.
Another little highlight was visiting the bathroom, who should I bump into but Pippa Middleton!
Lovely evening all round. Will be back soon! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenfield, Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Another stunning meal at Gauthier. We have eaten at several Michelin starred restaurants now and this is still our favourite for food, wine and service. We had the Summer tasting menu - eight courses of perfect food - with accompanying wine flight, and would highly recommend the experience. As wine amateurs, we really appreciate the detail into which the sommelier goes about the wine pairing before each course, far more so than any other wine flight we have taken elsewhere, and there were several particularly excellent pairings. The service all round is immaculate, with the perfect balance struck between friendly and attentive, and without any of the pomposity which sometimes comes with fine dining. We would not hesitate to recommend Gauthier and will be returning as soon as we are able.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
375 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Quiet elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Definetly a place not to go if you want to avoid seeing certain people as if any of them happen to be there they will certainly be on top of you such is the quiet smallness and of this place. However wonderful French food and sophistication.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 977mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A return to Gauthier's green world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our third visit to Gauthier Soho. When we first visited it hadn’t been open all that long, and the difference from now to then is clear. The food is just as amazing as it always has been, but now the restaurant seems to have found its identity and personality, and has really settled into its own particular style.

The menu is split into a la carte or Tasting Menu (there is a pre-theatre menu too, but we were there a bit later this time). The Tasting Menu is 7 courses for £70 with optional wine flight or accompanying teas. The a la carte is 3 (£40), 4 (£50) or 5 (£60) courses and although they are split into different sections this is really only a suggestion since you can pick whatever you want from whichever section. As our waiter said “you can have 5 desserts if you like”. Tempting as that was, we had 5 courses and all were flawless. I really couldn’t think of another restaurant where you would be able to get food quite like this. Light, fresh, interesting and above all delicious.

Alexis’ vision of the green world of vegetables is clear to see, but my favourite thing to eat here will always be the scallops. Another real highlight for me was Jasper’s Farm Lamb. And of course, you can’t miss the chocolate and praline heaven of the Louis XV.

In summary the service was quietly efficient but more friendly and approachable than it has been in the past, and the standard of the food will make this one restaurant that we will continue to make a special trip to for many years to come.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauthier Soho also viewed

 

Been to Gauthier Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing