We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too hot, not 100% clean, some surly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #441 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too hot, not 100% clean, some surly staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here after a last minute change of hotels...

I can cope with basic - but not the following:

- A SHOWER TRAY THAT ISN'T CLEAN
- A SHOW THAT DOESN'T DRAIN SO YOU CAN ONLY USE IT FOR A FEW SECONDS BEFORE IT OVERFLOWS
- STAFF OPENLY COMPLAINING ABOUT THE HOTEL WHILE SITTING IN A SIDE ROOM FROM THE BREAKFAST AREA
- STAFF SITTING ON A TABLE TEXTING ON THEIR PHONE

Also, the hotel had no air con and the room only opened an inch in the bedroom - there was a fan in the room to push the warm air around. Walking into the room from the hotel corridor was oppressive.

... the only plus for this hotel is that it's close to Waterloo Station

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRH482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear JRH482 we’re really sorry to hear about the issues you had at our hotel. Our rooms should be cleaned to a specific high standard and we also expect our staff to be professional and helpful at all times. The service you have received has fallen below the standards we would expect and we wish to investigate the concerns you have raised. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    941
    456
    179
    137
See reviews for
426
1,034
145
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A satisfactory 2 night stay in this very handy location. Everything we needed was within walking distance - we were booked on a Thames trip and the Shard also dinner at the Horseguards hotel at Charing Cross and a trip around Buck House- all within easy reach or a £10 cab. The hotel is surprisingly quiet and free from traffic noice, the rooms are smallish and the staff are friendly. Our only gripe was one bath towel between us and no toiletries - most of these budget hotels supply a soap dispenser at least. None of this worried us as we were only there to sleep and the bed was comfortable enough. The area is busy/safe and the hotel is a 3 minute walk from Waterloo station.

Room Tip: The hotel seems to be end-on to the main road so there is very little traffic noise, we stayed in 31...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripkit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive review Tripkit5. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As standard we do not provide toiletries in any of our hotels although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations. Our rooms should be set up with the correct amount of towels and we apologise for the error on this occasion. All customer feedback is provided to the hotel directly which helps improve the service they offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Newly refurbished double room spacious and clean, breakfast was excellent with plenty to eat and staff were friendly, great location for tube and walking distance to many famous attractions, overall would definately stay here agian


Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey220165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, Ca
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Look at the pictures in the online write-up. The rooms are barren, two narrow beds one desk ,one chair one clothes rack. No place to put luggage or anything else. Desk personnel seemed surprised
i even asked about this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 4Th0mas_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is a Travelodge and its pricing does not include extra's unless you pay for them. As a Travelodge it provides good value for money, the room was clean and not as small as we expected. The bed was very comfortable, much better than I would have expected. A good place to stop it is 3 minutes walk from the tube and has plenty of buses outside. We had the breakfast that was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seddon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Usual travelodge, basic but usually i would say comfortable, however the rooms were so hot even though we had a fan, we had to wet the towels and cover ourselves with them to keep cool - it was actually cooler to go outside and England was in the grip of a heatwave!! If this happens ask for more fans to keep cool. Apart from this the rooms were spacious and more than adequte for our needs, also very nice to stay in South London and a very good location near the Thames, Waterloo Station and Underground and near the fascinating bohemian and arty Little Marsh Street, I would go back , but take a fan with you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperatures in your room Simon H, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenfell, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this Travelodge for 3 nights. As this was our first ever visit to the UK the Travelodge was very close to the station and all the places we wanted to see. If you enjoy walking, We walked to Westminster Abbey,Big Ben,Bucingham Palace,The Mall,St James Park,Wellington Arch,Trafalgar Square,and then back to the Hotel. The evening we walked to St Pauls, and the Tower Bridge all along the Themes River. The next day we walked to all the major shopping streets plus Soho. The Hotel is very close to all the take away restaurants, The reception people were very friendly and the barman Matt were always ready to serve us and give us advice of places we wanted to see. We will recommend the Hotel to anyone who ever wants to visit London.Thanks once again for your warm welcome reception as this was our first of our 3 week holiday in the UK.

Russell and Elsa
Cape Town
South Africa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#412 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Property: Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Address: 195-203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#371 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing