We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but stuffy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #439 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Oxon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good location but stuffy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for the cricket. It is very well situated for both the oval and central London. The room was very clean and well maintained. The only real fault would be even though it wasn't particularly hot the rooms and corridors were very hot and humid. All in all good value for money in central London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank yorkie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    914
    447
    175
    133
See reviews for
408
1,005
143
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the first time we have stopped at a Travelodge an definitely won,t be the last. It was spotless, the bed really comfy and a great breakfast. Reception staff were extremely helpful. It is very basic but what more do you need when you are out sightseeing all day. The well stocked bar was lovely to relax in the evening. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor which was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tillyann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Room was tiny, not much bigger than the bed. No air con, thankfully our room had a fan but it was so dirty it wasn't effective until we took it apart and cleaned it and even then it was unbearable during the night. We arrived 20 min before check in along with other people and they made us all wait in bar until 2.30 which meant there were 15 people then waiting to be checked in at the same time - very strange! Also had to ask 3 times for travel cot even though i had rang ahead and requested one. Great location though, 10 min from tube, loads of buses and southbank just a 10min walk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L4ura_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear L4ura_W, we are sorry to learn that you were unable to get a good night sleep due to the temperature in your room. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in all of our hotels; however we do have a number of fans available from reception for our guests to request as you are aware. We are also sorry to learn of the delay that you experienced during check in, we can confirm that our check in time is 3pm. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the feedback that you have left so that they can remind staff of the importance of customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

could not fault the Travelodge at all, it was our first trip to London in a long time and we made a good choice of accommodation finding it easy to get to and easy to navigate to all the attractions we wanted to see. the breakfast was buffet style and very good the evening meals could do with a revamp and more choice but the quality and service was excellent we will use this hotel again when we go back to London

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JimmyM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked this hotel a few months before our trip and got a very good price on our 3 night stay. We'd travelled by train and it was a short walk from Waterloo station, which gave us good access to the underground. South Bank was a short walk away and there were shops nearby. Our room was at the back of the hotel, which we found to be very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. We'd arrived back late one evening, after attending a concert, so we're delighted to discover the bar was still open and takeaway Chicago Town pizzas were still being served. We'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a great hotel, six of us stayed in 3 rooms for 2 nights and from the moment we walked in nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We all had buffet breakfast each day which was very good, the rooms were clean with plenty of hot water. the location of hotel was brilliant for getting around london, which was made so much easier for us by the girl who checked us in at reception, her name was Emily, she was so helpful with buses, trains etc, she always had a smile on her face in reception as well in the dining room at breakfast. Will be staying at this hotel the next time we are in London.

Room Tip: rooms with wet rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East of England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you’re looking for a modern hotel in London, with an excellent location, friendly staff and a comfy-cosy bed to sleep in – the Travelodge at Waterloo ticks all of the boxes.

I stayed there from 11-17 August 2013, while enjoying a summer break with my mum and sister. It wasn’t our first time at the hotel and, given that we had such a pleasant stay, yet again, I can say with absolute confidence that it won’t be our last.

So what is it that makes the hotel so appealing?

Well, firstly its location on Waterloo Road is a definite plus. The hotel is no more than a ten minute walk away from London's vibrant South Bank, the London Eye and Waterloo Bridge – giving guests easy access to the Thames, including the north side of the river and all it has to offer. Even closer is The Old Vic, a famous and well loved London theatre, which is only a two minute walk away from the hotel.

If you’re planning to travel a little further afield, however, the Travelodge is also very well served by public transport. Buses frequently run up and down the road – I don’t think we waited more than two minutes for a bus during our entire stay – and stop close to the hotel. And with Waterloo Station just down the street, I can’t emphasise strongly enough how easy it is to zoom your way around London from your Travelodge base.

Before I move through its doors, it’s also worth mentioning that the Travelodge is very close to a couple of mini-markets, including a twenty-four hour Sainsbury’s store, and there are places to eat and takeaways sprinkled along Waterloo Road. This is a definite advantage, especially if you arrive back late in the evening as we did on a few occasions.

Of course, the Travelodge itself boasts a twenty-four hour bar and offers a night menu, so you can purchase refreshments at the hotel if you prefer. We sampled pizza and a panini from the hotel menu, late one evening, after a night out in the West End. The food arrived quickly and was hot, tasty and served with a smile.

The buffet breakfast was equally delicious and the staff in the breakfast room worked tirelessly to ensure tables were cleaned and food items were kept stocked up, during the busy breakfast period. I felt dizzy watching them whirring around, ensuring appetites were satisfied and thirsts were quenched!

Efficient service wasn’t confined to the breakfast room, though. We found each team member we encountered during our stay to be professional, hard working, friendly and accommodating. This included the reception, housekeeping, bar and breakfast room staff. The staff truly are a credit to the hotel and, indeed, to the Travelodge chain overall.

I think the Waterloo Travelodge has recently been refurbished. The interior of the building is well maintained and so clean it practically gleams, with modern decor and furnishings throughout. In fact, I’ve stayed in far more expensive hotels in London that have appeared dated in comparison. And, thankfully, its corridors are free of the musty odour that so often fills the air in the hallways of hotels. Instead, all areas have a fresh, crisp smell.

The bedroom I occupied was spacious with a king-size bed as its centrepiece. The bed was certainly conducive to a restful night of sleep and, after the very first night, I could see precisely why the bed is called a Dreamer. The four – yes, four – plump pillows are an added bonus.

Bedrooms also have an en suite bathroom (but remember to bring your own toiletries with you as they’re not provided), tea and coffee making facilities and a flat-screen television with several channels. There is no hair dryer, but you can always pop along to reception and they will be happy to provide you with one if necessary.

I could go on, but I won’t. Instead, I recommend you explore the hotel yourself. We’re already planning our next visit . . .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#416 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#239 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Property: Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Address: 195-203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#371 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing