We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #442 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night on business.

Staff at reception, in the bar and in the restaurant for breakfast were polite, welcoming and professional.

The room was surprisingly good and the bed was incredibly comfortable. I was in London when it was extremely warm so was worried about the lack of air con but this ended up not bothering me and I had an excellent nights sleep.

The breakfast was of reasonable quality and value plus the location is good so I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsogier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    943
    457
    179
    137
See reviews for
428
1,035
145
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I knew my stay will be a bake house experience...visiting London in a hottest period of the summer. I know any hotel upstairs will be a sauna.
As I have stayed in a 8th floor before and it was quite warm in winter ( lovely!) I had a fear it may be a sauna this time if I got a room high up.

I rang up in morning to ask them to allocate me a cooler room and thay did it! They reserved me a ground floor room...
Although it was still too hot for me to fall asleep, as window open only a inch... but it must have been so better than upstairs.

You can always try to see if they can hear your little wish....!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank wisteriagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've stayed in plenty of Travelodges, and what you get is pretty standard and dependable.
This one is possibly the best I have stayed in however.
I seem to remember reading the place had recently been refurbished, and you can tell. The beds are excellent quality, and the bar area is comfortable and spacious, much more so than many others.
This meant that despite the breakfast area being quite busy when I ate, there was no problem getting what you wanted - although the serving area was slightly cramped at times.
I would return both with work, and for a leisure trip.
The staff were also excellent, the best set I have encountered in a Travelodge to date.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great hotel for a quick London getaway Super location just 5 min walk from the station and access to the tube Reception happy to look after your bags before and after check in/out Recently refurbed with comfy beds just a shame they forgot the air-con!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

stayed here for one night, i would suggest not using this hotel on the rare occassions we get heat in UK.. the rooms have no aircon and it was stupidly hot, being unable to open the window more than an inch or so, the fan they supplied in the room just blew the hot air around really. but to be fair, the room was fine other than that, the bed was comfy, clean and we had a view of the shard (we were in room 813).. so i would certainly recommend staying here (other than in the summer).. didnt try the breakfast so can't comment.. did attempt the 'speedy' check in machine, which processed us quickly but then we had to que up with our ticket to get the room key anyway so it wasnt at all speedy.. but no prob, wasnt in a rush..
i've marked 'Average' based on the sauna room we slept in, but this could easily go to 'very good' if we'd have stayed on a cooler night..

Room Tip: room 813 had a view of the shard..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on Saturday night. Managed to get a very good rate for B & B. The room we were allocated had been refurbished. Yes the rooms are hot, and there is no aircon. That said there was a standing fan and the windows did open. We were at front and yes it was noisy but any hotel on main road will be. I am sure if we had asked to move to rear it would have been a bit more quiet. Breakfast was excellent freshly cooked plenty to eat. A good stay in Central London!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJDSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The renovation of the building is almost complete and you get the same standard Travelodge room as you do anywhere else. While its nice and clean it sadly lacks any air conditioning in the rooms, there was a free standing fan in my room and the window is limited to 2 inches opening. This was noisy and due to the position of the only electrical outlet there was only place where I could place the fan that means that it blocks the space at the end of the bed.
Make sure you get a room not facing the sun

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank graham_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear graham_ward, we’re really sorry to hear about the issues you had at our hotel. We do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible. Unfortunately this hotel doesn’t offer air conditioning and windows are tethered for safety reasons. We do offer fans to borrow from reception on a first come, first serve basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#412 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Property: Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Address: 195-203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#371 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing