We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would visit again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Ranked #65 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would visit again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked hotel last minute for a very reasonable price ten minute journey into covent garden from tower hill or aldgate tube station.

On arrival reception staff very friendly but was very difficult to understand as very limited English. They first asked us for a 50 pre authorisation deposit but our card declined for some reason and this went up to 200 pound! When asked why they said because the card had declined so they needed 200 pound instead which they assured me I would get back at the end of our stay.(am yet to check our finances if there are problems I will be putting another review!)

We stayed just one night on the first floor

Bad points
Tv didn't work
Noisy room sounded like a fan or generator
Wifi incredibly slow (but it was free)
Difficult to understand reception staff

Good points
Free gym pass to virgin active which was two mins walk
Complimentary mini bar with free drinks and snacks
iPod dock
Very modern rooms
Comfortable bed
Free morning newspaper

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Matt B.,

Thank you for a very balanced review of our hotel and the services offered during your stay. your comments will be referred to ensure an even greater service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    308
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
90
636
71
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I loved this hotel. Was there 2011,so it probably is even better. Was upgraded to another room with a luxury tube, poster bed, slippers, robes, top end coffee machine, and artwork. Needless I say its the type of room that makes you want to stay indoor. The break was short and just perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P5aula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear P5aula,

Our business is to make your stay as comfortable and as pleasant as possible. it's nice to hear that we were able to make you stay so comfortable to want to stay indoor. improving for the better is a way of life with us. thank you very much for the appreciation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

There's very little that stands between giving this hotel a 4 or a 5 star.

Upon arrival, we were given the chance for an upgrade for £15 pr night. For this price we would get the top floor with a view, a king size bed and a suite. When we chose not to, this was accepted at once, avoiding any awkward continious sales attempt. We were asked to pay another £100 all of a sudden, without any further explaination at first. It took some time and misunderstandings before we were explained that this were some sort of deposit, and that we would most likely get it back when we left, which was fine.

The room was small, but very pretty. There was a large bed, but space on both sides and good enough space for two luggages. There were plenty of space in the closet, including a hairdryer, a minibar (in which everything was free of charge), and a safe which one could use as one pleased. The bathroom was tiny, and the door almost touched the sink when opened. But everything worked perfectly, it was pretty, very clean and up to date, so no real troubles there, really. Generally the room was looking very new and fresh with colourful art, an ipod docking station and a very good climate system. Our view was limited (but we had after all been offered a better room, so no real complaints there).

We had breakfast two days there. I would reccomend the City-edition over the Continential.

When we were to leave, we asked the night before if the hotel could order us a cab. This was no problem, and when we asked for the price the reseptionist told us this was no problem either. When we came down to take the taxi, it turned out they had ordered us a car, to the cost of £14 from the hotel to the Tower Bridge Station. We thought this was too much, and besides we had asked for a taxi, so the cost was quickly cut down to £10, but the driver was annoyed and unpleasant, and walked briskly inside the hotel to have a word with the reseptionist, who was distraught by the whole issue. In the end we cancelled the car, walked for a few minutes and hailed a taxi that took us there for less than £8.

Aside from this - the hotell was gorgeous, reasonably priced, the staff was service-minded, the hotell was very clean, the location was superb. Would definitively go back.

Room Tip: Our room was towards the street with the entrance to the hotel below us. Our view was at a big build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Normire,

Your comments are well appreciated. were glad that despite a few inconveniences, you found your stay in the hotel worth it while and will definitely come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We received a friendly and helpfu welcome and were offered, and accepted, an upgrade to an executive room for a few pounds more. The hotel is well located about 3 minutes walk from Aldgate, 5 minutes from Tower Gateway and 10 minutes from Tower Bridge.
The decor is boutique trendy andall the fixtures and fittings look new and of good quality. There is the trademark Indigo mini fridge wih free soft drinks and snacks and good quality Aveda toiletries. The air con warms or cools quickly and although we found the pillows too thin/soft they were replaced immediately upon asking for firmer ones. One oddity was the toilet roll hoder which was on the wall to the left of the loo but well out of reach unless you have very long arms!
Our room was on the corner overlooking Minories. One point to note is that on a Friday night it gets very noisy out there as lots of pub/club goers hang out so if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back, numbers 01,02 or 03.
There is a restaurant/bar although we only ever saw staff on breaks in there so it was a bit flat and lacking in atmosphere. Perhaps it's diffeent midweek. Also worth remembering that the proximity to the city means the restaurants immediately around the hotel are closed on Saturdays and Sundays but there's a range on offer in St Katherine Dock and over theriver in the Wharf area.
My only irritaion was hefact hat we simply couldn't log in to the free wifi. It totally refused to cooperate and that applied to two phones on two separate operating platforms. They tried to help but to no avail which was annoying. If you suffer the same fate, go to the Perkin Reveller under the bridge for breakfast as they have really quick wifi for free or wander over to St Katherine Dock where we picked up Bt Openzone connections.
All in all, excellent value in a great area to explore if you haven't visited the Tower or the bridge museum for a while.

Room Tip: If the pubs outside are open, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Hotel Harry,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review. I appreciate the compliments on the level of service provided by our hotel staff. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the internet service and not being at par with your expectations. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for monitoring and improvement.

I greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This must be my favourite hotel for short business trips to London. Only 4 stops away from the Eurostar in St Pancras, close to City Airport. Efficient staff, nice rooms with excellent comfort level. I had an issue with noise on this stay and the hotel was full so I couldn't change rooms. It was handled very professionally by the night manager. I could have moved to a nearby Hilton but I was so tired that I just stayed. The next morning the dayshift was fully aware of my issue, moved me to a new room and adequately compensated me for the inconvenience. Well done Indigo. I'll come again !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SniggyBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to know that we gained your approval despite the unfortunate incident during the first night. Please come and visit us again. We would love to have you with us while you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We chose this hotel for a romantic city break following a great experience at Hotel Indigo in Glasgow. Proved to be an excellent choice. This is a reasonably priced boutique hotel in London - a rare find! We spent three nights here and had a fabulous time. The staff were friendly and helpful and the executive room we stayed in was stylish and clean. We were offered an upgrade to a superior room and were tempted as the bed looked on the small side (it was a double and we are used to kingsize) but on testing it was fine. The location is great, just five minutes walk to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London, 10 mins walk to Brick Lane and 15-20mins to Spitalfields or Borough Market. The nearest tube stop is Aldgate is 2 mins away and goes direct to Kings Cross. One thing to bear in mind is that as it's the financial district no restaurants or cafes are open on a Sat or Sun. There is a Sainsbury's Local across the road but everything else is closed. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aconeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are very happy to know that we helped make your stay in London perfect. We aim for nothing less when it comes to our clients. We would love to have you again when you come and visit London. Looking forward for that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Just had a one night stay at this super hotel. Reception staff were first class, very welcoming, friendly & helpful. We stayed on the 6th floor & had a good view of Tower Bridge. Gorgeous room with nice extras such as an iPod docking station, fridge stocked with complimentary soft drinks & chocolates, & one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in! Highly recommend & would definitely visit again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomlinson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigoteam, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
What a great review! We are happy that you loved the view in the 6th floor. The tower Bridge can be quite a sight indeed! Thank you for your recommendation. We hope to see you again when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#80 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,118 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#41 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,581 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#151 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#47 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,782 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill

Property: Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Address: 142 Minories, London EC3N 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Luxury Hotel in London
#66 Business Hotel in London
#70 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located near Tower Bridge and the Tower of London, Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill is just a stone's throw away from all of London's transportation links and so eminently suitable to both leisure visitors and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing